We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
North Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Central”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We have stayed several times here because its location on Main Bazar cannot be beaten.
Everything in Kuching is easily accessible from here. All of the staff are very wellcoming and helpful. One morning while preparing to go out, they asked us where we are going. We said we like to explore the new location of the weekend market. The reply was, you can always go there another time, why not see the Kuching Festival Fair, which is an annual event. So we went for a long walk there, there where a lot of different foodstalls with some exotic dishes like "Fried Fresh Milk", Durian Puffs etc..Then we heard Chinese music drifting there from the Hockey Stadium, which is just across the road. We walked over and in the stadium was a large group of smartly dressed People doing a martial arts style of Tai Chi. While I took photos from the grandstand, a lady from the organizing committee told me to follow her. We then ended up, sitting next to the mayor of South Kuching plus Dignitaries from the Sarawak State Government. We were given food-parcels and treated like VIPs. The mayoress and her husband asked us many questions and at the end of the performance we had to shake hands with many of the participants. Finally we ended up with a badge in Chinese that said Kuching 2013 Kung Fu Tai Chi. It was a great experience and will stay with us forever.
The rooms at Waterfront Lodge could do with some minor, but necessary repairs. It would not cost much to fix the broken hooks in the bath, there is nowhere to keep clothes dry when showering. Another thing; perhaps they could replace the awful Margarine at breakfast with Butter. I noticed some deterioration of things from our last visit. There was no Hot water available on the floor as claimed, and as we numerous times came back from an exhausting trip, staying overnight elsewhere but still paying for the Waterfont, we had no opportunity to make us a cup of coffee or tea.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    69
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
51
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 days 2 nights. Being young and carefree, i don't mind the backpacking sort of place. At least the room is clean. However, i traveled with my mom and dad. My mom used to hotels with big rooms, room service and big spread of breakfast buffet. If you expect something like that, this place doesnt have them. My mom was a bit dissapointed coz they gave us a room at the back of the lodge overseeing the parking space. She wanted a room overlooking the waterfront but the front desk lady told us that the other rooms were fully occupied.

Apart from what the title mentioned and free wifi (limited to the hotel lobby only), nothing too special about this place.The front desk lady was kind enough to assist my dad when we decided to rent a car but the car is really beat up (LOL). Most of the guests staying here are tourists and I think we are the only locals.

All in all, I would recommend this place to couples or singles and not families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairyFarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I choose the Waterfront Lodge after walking past and picking up a flyer. It seemed an authentic old building and when I stayed there it lived up to expectations. right across the road from the river in Kuching, this place was walking distance to everything .. restaurants, activities, museums, river trips, India Street, temples and mosques .. what more could a traveler to this delightful city want .. clean rooms, good security, and helpful staff

Room Tip: Some who had riverside rooms found it a little noisy in the am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestkiwitravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a no frill, basic budget hotel located right in front of the Sarawak River of the city of Kuching. The decor of this lodge is very Sarawakian, and it is located at the oldest part of the city. It is surrounded by beautiful old colonial style shops. The river front has beautiful matured trees. You don't need a gym or fitness center as the nice promenade across the hotel can give you plenty of walking exercise. You don't need a restaurant in the lodge as there are plenty local and international eateries. The local restaurants are very good and cheap. The hotel staff is very helpful and cheerful. My son and I stayed there for 3 nights and I highly recommend this nice little place.

Room Tip: We had the second floor room with twin bed overlooking the atrium or you can have the double room ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We wanted somewhere central, with character, clean, safe (we were travelling with our 7yo), not a chain and at a reasonable cost.

Kuching Waterfront Lodge is exactly that! It has several different size rooms as well as dorms and lots of communal areas and free wifi.

We needed to sit somewhere other than in our room when our son was sleeping, so that we could talk etc, the various communal areas enabled us to do that without any problem.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and we used the Lodge as a base for the various excursions we had planned.

We would recommend Kuching Waterfront Lodge to anyone travelling to Kuching and will definitely visit again when back in Kuching.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenwootton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Spent 3 nights at the the KuchingWaterfront Lodge. It is budget accommodation, but we were happy with a clean room, basic but functional bathroom( more like a wet room, as there is not a designated /enclosed shower cubicle), room serviced daily, friendly staff, a/c and our pre-arranged booking went smoothly on arrival. As mentioned in other reviews wifi available only in foyer area and the breakfast is merely a help yourself to white bread/ toast,butter and jam arrangement with basic tea or coffee. That said the location is great, right on the waterfront in the old bazaar area within a few minutes walk to the museums and other eating choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1never2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Very good location and friendly staff. Is worth for what you are paying. The staff was kind to give us the room facing the river, unfortunately I have problem sleeping when is too bright and the curtain is far too thin. Couldn't sleep cause the room is too bright at night, hope then can change the curtain. Wifi free at ground floor only, however network is very bad, I think is tm net problem.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bubutoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.0 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 55 in Kuching
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuching Waterfront Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuching Waterfront Lodge

Property: Kuching Waterfront Lodge
Address: No. 15 Main, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kuching Waterfront Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kuching Waterfront Lodge, refurbished with Colonial, Nyonya & Baba decor. Kuching Waterfront Lodge is located at Main Bazaar, one of the oldest & busiest streets in Kuching, where trading took place since a long time ago in the era of James Brooke (The White Rajah). Today, the Main Bazaar is still buzzing with people, entertainment & business activities, with traditional spices, antiques, jewelries shops and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kuching Waterfront Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuching Waterfront Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing