We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced, would come back again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Kuching Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Century Kuching Hotel
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, would come back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very near to the airport. However as with most Malaysian cities u really need a car to move around, and Kuching is no exception.

The hotel has a very decent gym, however the door can only be accessed by the concierge. Therefore you have to use the phone located next to the gym entrance to call concierge to send someone to open the door. A bit backwards really. How hard is it to implement a system where patrons can swipe their hotel cards for gym entrance...

I didn't bother with hotel breakfast, as I love local cuisines. Cross the busy road (not the one with potted plants) to the shoplots, and head straight to a coffeeshop at the far end corner where u can get great sarawak laksa, kampua and kolo noodles. Just ask around for "the busy corner kopitiam (coffeeshop)" and that will be only one.

The bed. The pillows. Oh how I miss them now that I'm home. One of the few hotels I truly had great sleeps.

Overall, I like this hotel. Do think of transportation if u wanna stay here. It's much better for business travellers than for families.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hi Austin J,

Thanks for your “Reasonably priced, would come back again” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

At Four Points, we are committed to offer great room’s at the great rates and looks like we manage to get it delivered. Not to forget your compliments on our bedding sets, The Four Points Four Comfort beds are incredible and receive great reviews from all our guests. They are exclusively made for us and are available at fourpoints.com for purchase.

Your suggestion on our GYM access, I will share with the management for their consideration and improvement after this.

Again thanks for your helpful feedback, please contact me (ivan.chai@fourpoints.com) directly so I may assist with your requirements and ensure your next stay with us another pleasant and enjoyable one.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    139
    106
    56
    40
See reviews for
97
86
57
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Had stayed here many times. The swimming pool was covered with slippery algae on all four walls. Needed cleaning badly. Pool entrance was through the restaurant, passing the buffets, as the normal entrance was closed.

A note for the unwary going to the shop lots in front of the hotel. This hotel lined its front with adjacent rows of 7' high trees in giant pots. You walk between these pots to the shop lots opposite. Within these rows is actually a two way road. So stop and poke your head out between the pots to look for traffic before crossing. Otherwise your feet or even yourself may be run over by a car. The drivers can't see you. Especially dangerous at night or for kids. C'mon, Fourpoint, put some speed bumps, lightning and zebra crossing lights for the safety of your guests.

Room Tip: Get the town side view. The other side is just the airport runway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borneotrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hi borneotrekker,

Thanks for your review and taking time share with us your view.

I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations and apologize for any discomfort or inconvenience caused especially on the Swimming Pool and pedestrian walkways. I will highlight your concerns with the Security, Housekeeping and Engineering department for their immediate action on this.

We hope that this less than satisfactory stay on this occasion will not deter you from coming back to our hotel. Should you allow us the opportunity to serve you again, please feel free to contact me (Ivan.Chai@fourpoints.com) so I may be able to assist and ensure the necessary enhancements are in place for a great stay.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The good side. The rooms are large and clean and there is a reasonable buffet breakfast. The bathroom is marble-lined with a drencher shower and a bath. Bed is comfortable and aircon works so well it needs to be turned off now and then.

The downside. The rooms are a bit tatty. Scratched here and there and past their prime. The standard of guest complementary items is low compared to other hotels of the class. Internet is not complimentary and it was far cheaper to buy a SIM card at the airport with loaded data.

While I was there the TV system had partially failed so there were no satellite channels. When I complained, the response was "it's broken" with no idea if or when it would ever be fixed.

The location is quite poor. It's miles from anywhere other than the airport and getting into town requires catching the one shuttle at 11am or paying 25 MYR for a taxi. Local facilities are limited with one mini-store and a variety of low-budget eateries and shops. Certainly no supermarket or shopping mall.

Basically add the cost of trips to and from the City to any half-day or day trip in the region as they mostly start from downtown hotels / landmarks. The Hotel concierge does offer tours but they seem to be very expensive compared to normal Kuching rates.

It's not really suitable for tourists, Possibly it's good for business use where the cost of transport is not an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryOfPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hi JerryOfPerth,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I’m sorry on the scruffy areas and shortage on our TV channels in the room. Rest assured, I will share this with our engineering teams and work hard to continuously making improvements on our product, facilities and service to enhance our guest experience and feedback such as yours definitely assists us in learning our valuable guest’s needs and requirements for future improvement.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel is near the airport but you have to book the shuttle ahead which isn't easy to estimate after an international flight. The hotel is what one would expect of a large national chain. Once inside you could be in any other city hotel. We had breakfast w which was varied and fresh. Dinner was disappointing as most of the buffet dishes were lukewarm. Apart from that it was fine.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hedgehog70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Hi SarahDE70,

Thanks for your “Convenient for Aiport” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We are very pleased to know that your overall experience at our hotel was enjoyable and your kind comments on our great facilities are most appreciated. Your concerns on our buffet dinner at our restaurants, I will share it with the culinary teams for their attention and improvement.

Again thanks for the favorable feedback and we hope we can welcome you back when you are next in Kuching.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night while passing through Kuching. A very comfortable hotel and room. Quiet with helpful staff. Great breakfast buffet. Easy airport transfers. Great views out the back towards to mountains! Good value too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hi Harriet B,

Thanks for your “Comfortable and great airport location” of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We are very pleased to know your recent stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. Your compliments on our comfortable room and good service very much appreciated and will be share it with the team. Not to forget, at Four Points we try our very best to offer Great Room & Great Rates to all our valuable guests like you.

Should your next trip bring you back to Kuching, we hope we can welcome you back to Four Points.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alor Setar, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Had the chance to stay in this hotel during my trip to Kuching recently. Check in was a breeze with the helpful reception personnel. One of the front office staff even took the trouble to immediately register me as an SPG member and issued a temporary card to me straight away.

The room was quite spacious with complete amenities, everything was clean and where you expected to find it. Most importantly the bed was cosy, so had a great nights sleep.

The hotel lobby was a bit on the dark side at night, but nothing to complain about. Nearby shops for foot reflexology and every other thing you might need, and a nearby hawker center are major plus points. It is also barely 5 minutes to Kuching International Airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeKeanhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hi LeeKeanhoe,

Thanks for your “Clean Room Cosy Beds” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We are grateful to have your kind words and appreciate your highlights on our great customer service from our Front Desk associates, strategic locations, and uncomplicated facilities. I will share your compliments with the team, for sure they will be happy with your great feedback and continue to deliver the best!

Again thanks for your favorable review and we hope we can welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Kuching.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a beautiful building with a fine restaurant, pool, gym but practically on the airport runway. It costs a fortunate to get anywhere you might want to go & the concierge will make sure you get totally ripped off by his taxi driver buddies. I even go stranded at a remote location (Bako National park boat landing) & was lucky a nice local family gave me a ride back. Was then treated rudely & told I had to pay (he actually hung up the phone on me!)

Coffee shop opened late & tried to insist that you take the expensive buffet in the main restaurant.

Will never stay at another 4-points!

Room Tip: Malaysia in general is pretty unfriendly towards solo travelers, often it cost 2-4 times for a tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titamargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hi Titamargs,

Thanks for your review and taking time to share it here. Our sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience caused that you have come across, particularly your concerns with the taxi arrangement directly through our concierge counter we will look into. Appreciate if you could provide me your room confirmation number, room number and stay date and feel free reach to me at Ivan.Chai@fourpoints.com.

Again thanks for your helpful feedback and should you consider giving us opportunity to welcome you back, please feel free reach to me if you have any concerns and require accommodation arrangement.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#8 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.3 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
3.7 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pine Garden Hotel
Pine Garden Hotel
#32 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.9 mi away
56 Hotel
56 Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Kuching Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Kuching Hotel

Property: Century Kuching Hotel
Address: Lot 3186-3187 Block 16 KCLD, Jalan Lapangan Terbang Baru, Kuching 93350, Malaysia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Kuching)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Kuching Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Where You Need to Go. Welcome to the Century Kuching Hotel in Sarawak, East Malaysia, on the amazing island of Borneo. We're located in the middle of the BDC commercial hub, near The Spring mall. We're also near Kuching International Airport (KCH). Free to Choose. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we've got you covered with outstanding event spaces and contemporary restaurants and a bar. We also offer plenty of ways to stay active - such as our 24-hour fitness centre and a great outdoor pool - and to stay connected - like our 24-hour business centre and free Wi-Fi in all public areas. You'll even get complimentary daily newspapers and bottled water. Don't worry; there are no hidden fees. Casual Comfort. Our 435 rooms and suites are designed to make you feel right at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Century Kuching Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Kuching Hotel Kuching
4 Points By Sheraton Kuching
Four Points Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing