We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Kuching Hotel
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The room was awesome. mattress was comfortable. air conditioning was good. check in was swift. Going up to the room need to use card to access and that was a good thing when it comes to privacy. Breakfast prepared hot and variety. i spend an hour just to eat. :D
just the location was not that strategic although it was located near to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi Isaac J,

Thanks for your “Whoa” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching.

We are pleased to know that your overall stay with us was pleasant and enjoyed variety of breakfast spreads at The Eatery Restaurants.

We hope and look forward to welcoming you back to the Four Points by Sheraton.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Was always reassured that service will improve but what a joke!

Service : Just checked in by a robotic guy named Kho that does not even know the basic courtesy of "good evening". Printed the registration card and just placed in front of us without saying anything and pointed the place to sign the registration card. Once signed, he gave us the keys and just pointed on our room number. Do not even know how to speak? Like really? Why are you in a hospitality line if you are so unfriendly and unwelcoming?

Room : As always, we do not get our welcome fruit unless we ask for it. Bedsheets has holes as always. Ants are crawling around which is unacceptable.

We are extremely disappointed and to think that this is our first night here in 1245. Well you can rest assured that next time, we will not be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JocelynHML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi JocelynHML,

Thanks for your feedback and taking the time to share with us your review. We are sorry for your disappointment and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience caused.

We appreciate your helpful comments with the related department heads for their immediate attention and action. Providing good customer engagement is certainly a huge focus, rest assured we will work hard and deliver our on-brand service.

Although you have indicated that you will not be returning to our hotel, we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and please do not hesitate to contact with me (Ivan.Chai@fourpoints.com) directly so I may assist with your accommodation arrangement.

Yours Sincerely,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

After our previous starwood stay in Kota Kinabalu, I was not sure what this one would be like but was very happy! Check in was easy and the staff friendly and helpful. The only downside is that whilst very handy to the airport, it is a long way from the city and the evening traffic is quite appalling. However, the taxis are cheap and our snail pace trip was not expensive, but it was not like we could decide just to go for a walk to explore.
We stayed 2 nights, punctuated by a night at Bako, so experienced 2 rooms. First room was on level 12, view back to the city. Light, airy, great bathroom (love the waterfall shower), excellent bed and well appointed with the usual consumables (more than average). Perfect. Second room, lower level, city view, identical, but they had forgotten to put in the consumables (did not matter to me as I was well stocked) and no hairdryer, which I discovered AFTER my shower..... and had to wait another half hour for it to arrive from housekeeping (1/2h less to explore the city) - not so perfect.....housekeeping let them down.
The restaurant is big and had generally an excellent range of dishes and foods, including quite a few local things, such as fern, on the menu (great in salad and also stir fry!). We had the buffet dinner, which was great value. Breakfast was good, but like quite a few places in Malaysia, there was no healthy cereal option (all high sugar, low fibre, poor nutritional value), and it would be great to have more of the wonderful tropical fruits that grow so well locally..... they would be well advised to have a look at Le Meridien in KL as probably the best starwood restaurant I know!)

Room Tip: city view is much better than the other side, unless you like watching the planes take off and land
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mousey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi mousey84,

Thanks for your “excellent place to stay” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We are happy to know that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and had a smooth check-in experience especially after a long trip.

On the other hand, your helpful feedbacks on our buffet breakfast lineup I will share it with our Executive Chef for his attention and improvement in future. Not to forget I sincerely apologies for the missing hair dryer and incomplete bathroom amenities during your second visit, I will highlight it with the housekeeping departments for their awareness.

Should you travel back to Kuching, we hope your nice impression will bring you back to the Four Points by Sheraton.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We returned back to the Four Points by Sheraton Kuching again.Check in was fast & smooth . Its a great choice, room is cosy and big, clean with comfortable kingsize bed .Great water pressure for shower from the Rain Shower is a plus point for us. Location of this hotel is near the airport, shopping malls and eateries . Our room faced a great mountain view and the city skyline.
Room is fully equipped with complimentary coffee/tea facilities and mineral water. Buffet breakfast has great spread of local cuisine. I will certainly recommend this hotel , be back again.

Room Tip: Choose the suite room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Hi WorldGlutton,

Thanks for your “Great Choice!!!” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

It was great able to hear from you again and welcome back to Kuching! Really appreciate and thanks taking the time to provide a encouraging review on Tripadvisor during you recent stay with us. We are very happy to know that we able to make your stay comfy again with our uncomplicated and comfort service from the heart.

Again thanks for recommending Four Points Kuching and certainly we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Despite the fact of several personal assurance by the Guest Experience Team, the hotel still fails for being the SPG hotels that pride itself for being caring and with assurance of quality stay, I just can't map such assurance with this hotel, especially the housekeeping and the room service department. I do think this is the only at Four Points, the international brand hotel in which I get only 1 hand towel or none, two face and bath towels. No bigger size toiletries for suites for paying for the premium comfort. smelling toilet floor and phone. Did inform the housekeeping to wipe the phone but the smell still persists.
The door knob is black is color and the entire corrider looked like as it only the spare lights were used during the blackout. I don't think even the hotel owner can see where the key slot area is at the door knob or anyone with the perfect 20/20 vision.
Giving a dented apple and a rotten grape is an insult for welcoming the guest, when hospitality is the key business.
I would suggest all Asean Tourism Forum 2014 staff to choose this hotel as the last choice or not to stay at this hotel at all.
Yes, ants and most likely comes out from the interior plastering of the wall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inxpekto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hi inxpekto,,

Thanks for your feedback and taking time to share your concern with us. I sincerely apologies for the service lapsed and inconvenience caused that you have encountered during you visit.

Please reach to me directly with your stay date and room numbers, I will personally look into your concerns and share it with the department head for their immediate attention on this.

Again thanks for the gift of feedback and should reconsider giving us opportunity to welcome you back please feel free reach to me at Ivan.Chai@fourpoint.com so I may assist with your accommodation arrangement.

Yours Sincerely,
Ivan Chai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We did not realize this hotel was so far from Kuching, costing us 20 Ringitt each taxi ride back and forth (hotel shuttle only runs twice a day). Canned wine costs 35 Ringitt (more than $11!!) per glass or $40 and up per very ordinary bottle. Rooms have great design but nothing works (water pressure, wifi, lighting, etc). Ants all over bedroom. Hotel design is very long and narrow requiring long walks back and forth to elevators, rooms, front desk. All in all wish we had stayed in town.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkp250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi jkp250,

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment and please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations and for any inconvenience caused particularly on the ant issues. Your helpful comments are much appreciated and I will share it with related departments for their prompt action.

We hope that despite your disappointment, we can welcome you back to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me (Ivan.Chai@fourpoints.com) so I may assist with your accommodation requirements to ensure you have a pleasant stay

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Pros:
1. Generous with space. Large rooms, large corridors, large bathrooms.
2. Staff is friendly and professional
3. Nice view of the airport. My room is on the 9th floor and has a ceiling to floor window.
4. Heavenly bed.

Cons:
1. Ants in my room. The door gift (prepared by the hotel) of a wedding that we attended in the hotel was quick to be swarmed by ants.
2. Needs better maintenance. Despite being a new hotel, carpets in the corridor are getting worn out. Room's wooden flooring now scratched.
3. It needs a vent with a fan in the toilet!
4. Toilet missing hand and facial towels.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cryzpene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSheratonKuching, Guest Experience Team at Century Kuching Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi cryzpene,

Thanks for your “Nice view Kuching airport runway” review of Four Points by Sheraton Kuching!

We are glad to know that your overall experience with us was pleasant. Glad that our associates able to provide great hand and services during your stay, not to forget our signature The Four Points Four Comfort beds are incredible and receives rave reviews from our guests and also known best in class. They are exclusively made for us and are available for purchase at fourpoints.com.

On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the ant in the room and scratched flooring. Currently our housekeeping and engineering departments is working hard to get this solve.

Again thank you for the gift of feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to Four Points when you travel back to Kuching.

Cheers,

Ivan Chai
Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
235 reviews
2.3 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
3.8 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
1 mi away
Pine Garden Hotel
Pine Garden Hotel
#16 of 55 in Kuching
25 reviews
3.7 mi away
M Hotels
M Hotels
#35 of 55 in Kuching
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Kuching Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Kuching Hotel

Address: Lot 3186-3187 Block 16 KCLD, Jalan Lapangan Terbang Baru, Kuching 93350, Malaysia (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Kuching)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £31 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Century Kuching Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Where You Need to Go. Welcome to the Century Kuching Hotel in Sarawak, East Malaysia, on the amazing island of Borneo. We're located in the middle of the BDC commercial hub, near The Spring mall. We're also near Kuching International Airport (KCH). Free to Choose. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we've got you covered with outstanding event spaces and contemporary restaurants and a bar. We also offer plenty of ways to stay active - such as our 24-hour fitness centre and a great outdoor pool - and to stay connected - like our 24-hour business centre and free Wi-Fi in all public areas. You'll even get complimentary daily newspapers and bottled water. Don't worry; there are no hidden fees. Casual Comfort. Our 435 rooms and suites are designed to make you feel right at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Century Kuching Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Kuching
Four Points By Sheraton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Four Points Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing