We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Supreme Hotel
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Kulai, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Budget & Comfort”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

You cannot expect more from this hotel but it is enough to give you a well and safe sleep..the room were neat & tidy..compliment to the staff that so nice & friendly..from the hotel window, you can see Kuching city..Lastly the breakfast were delicious..Thanks..:)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adie_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    21
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
18
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

- staff friendly
- good n delicious food at hotel cafe
- 10 min walking distance to waterfront and topspot seafood.
- have restaurant near hotel
- 20 min from airport
- room clean
- furniture quite old.
- small room
- good location
- can hear people walking, housekeeping talking.
- wifi signal weak
- old n small tv.
- attached with mini market

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guestloveholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hi,

A few point to note about the hotel:

1) the hotel is located around 20-30mins drive from the airport depending on the time you arrive.
2) Generally the hotel looks old and in need of refurbishment as said by previous reviewer.
3) Cleanness level of the room, not so clean, but on the other hand its just a budget hotel, so don't expect anything excellent or so good.
4) Breakfast was just average, consumable nothing special but enough to get full..
5) Abell road is within walking distance, about 10-15mins. All eateries are within reach or you can call a cab and they will take you anywhere you like. I noticed anywhere around the city if you planning to from the hotel the cab charges you RM12 one way.
6) The bed is just good to sleep, not so comfy.
7) The room has an LCD tv, not much program to watch, local tv program and a few foreign tv program.
8) There is also a cafe at the lobby area if you are looking for dinner to order, room service also available with a mere RM1 service charge.
9) Outside the hotel, at a corner attached to the hotel is a mini market for any other things you may need, such as beers....etc.

Overall it was just and average budget hotel, if you are on a budget you may consider staying here as I book this room merely to sleep and go around places. So it was ok for me. Though the staffs are friendly and helpful.

Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I am a regular visitor of Kuching city and have stayed in number of hotels. But, I found Grand Supreme Hotel best among all. I stayed here for three days and found the place perfect for business travelers. All the staff members right from the security to housekeeping people all had a nice welcoming smile. Rooms were clean, spacious and believe me you won't need to ask for anything. Staff is very efficient and Breakfast was pretty good. Overall it is a nice place and I will return back. My husband and I have just returned from our one week stay at Hotel Lancaster and we really had a great time there Food, rooms, and services - everything was fabulous!!! It all went beyond my expectations. Staff paid attention to all details and went out of their way to help us. They are really nice people. I would not hesitate to recommend this name to my friends and other family members.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

For me. This hotel is clean and spacious. The funiture quite old. Breakfast was overall ok but just a simple breakfast which you cannot expect more. I suggest this hotel to undergo refurbish as the hotel looks old and smelly. Receptionist not really friendly. Overall was OK, nice sleep but NOT for family stay.

Room Tip: I advise you to take your breakfast early to avoid inconvenience as the breakfast just prepare in so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy Poh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is an old hotel with old furnitue & features. The occupancy rate of the hotel consider high i think because of the price. Need to take 5 minutes walk to City center, surrounding are pubs and some seafood restaurant. Room stay come with simple breakfast(usually bread toast, eggs, noodles and fried rice), but the cafe is very smal and very crowded, therefore we only took breakfast on the first day, the rest of the days we skip the hotel breakfast. My room size is reasonable, fairly clean, but the bathroom wall got some stain which should be clean off. WiFi signal is terribly weak in our room, we stay at level 2. Another problem is the room sound proof problem, we can hear clearly people's walking step at the corridor, neigbour room plugging the switch, should improve the problem. The room door also has big gap at the door edge

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank popeye7814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Samut Prakan, Thailand
Level Contributor
172 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

First off, this hotel was great as far as location goes. It's only a short walk to the waterfront, and also to the many number of food stalls and restaurants in the area. There's also the Hills Shopping Mall right up the road and although the mall is not anything special, there are a number of eateries at the ground floor.
Perhaps more importantly, it's only about a fifteen minute walk to the Main Bazaar (the waterfront).
Also, one thing I try to always post about on this website, is food. From just up the road there is a small supermarket (not open on Sundays though) that is great to picking up all sorts of goodies.
From walking out of the hotel's main road, (Jalan Ban Hock), turn right heading up the hill.
You will then come to a junction with both J Ban Hock and J Tambuan. Keep heading right and now you will start to venture down the hill on the other side and along J Tambuan. Go only about five minutes and you will then see a place called 'Ting & Ting Supermarket'. This is the supermarket I went to a number of times while staying in Kuching.
It's fairly small looking from the front, but once walking in, it's a bit larger in the back. Anyways, just a helpful hint for anyone wanting to stock up on some food while in the city and most specifically, at (or even near), this hotel.

Anyways the hotel is decent though for an inexpensive kind of accommodation.
The hotel staff were very friendly and nice (except for one young Chinese looking woman with dyed light red hair and of whom was not that friendly or helpful).
There's a computer on the first floor next to the reception area and is free to use for guests. There's also a complimentary breakfast each morning from 7 to 9am. The food is just okay though and nothing too special mainly comprised of fried rice, boiled eggs, and toast (no juice is offered though).
However, their list of foods available for room service (and available from 7am to 9pm) is quite good! The Foochow and Cantonese fried noodles were very good and also have many other things like omelets and chicken dishes.
The hotel also has tours available to all of the main hot spots like the Semenggoh Nature Reserve, Bako National Park, Sarawak Cultural Village, and, most excitingly, both the Fairy and Wind Caves.
I used their tour services for my last two days while visiting the Semenggoh Reserve and the caves. It was not too expensive and a guide will come to the hotel and pick you up and bring you back from the day's excursion.
It was cool though and the guy they sent was about my age and thus, we got along well for both of the days' tours.
There was also a 'Secret Recipe' restaurant just around the corner and up the street on Jalan Song Thian Cheok. Just walk out of the hotel and go right, and then around the corner of the main junction.
Where to get money? ATMs can also be found on this road and are only a five minute walk from the hotel.
Walk just a few minutes further up the road and you will see Secret Recipe on the same side as the Hong Leong Bank.
The room itself was good though (aside from a bit of noise coming from the karaoke room below). The water was always very warm, and the room was always neat and clean.
If you'd like a more inexpensive option for your stay in Kuching, I would recommend this hotel to guests.

For further information, please go to: www.grandsupreme.my
* Or for inquiries or reservations (since the booking page on their website did not work for me), you can email the hotel directly at: www.grandsupreme.my

The hotel's telephone number is +6082-255155

Room Tip: One main and VERY important thing. Try to ensure you DON'T get a room near the back around say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
2.0 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#12 of 54 in Kuching
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.1 mi away
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching
#21 of 54 in Kuching
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
1.5 mi away
Place2Stay @ Kenyalang
Place2Stay @ Kenyalang
#29 of 54 in Kuching
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petanak Lodge
Petanak Lodge
#48 of 54 in Kuching
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Supreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Supreme Hotel

Property: Grand Supreme Hotel
Address: Lot 395 Ban Hock Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Supreme Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Supreme Hotel is located in the centre of Kuching, just 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Many tourist attractions are within comfortable walking distance. We are also only minutes from local food stalls and major shopping malls. Our 94 rooms and suites come with cable TV and free Wi-Fi. The coffee house offers relaxing spaces for you to unwind after a busy day on business or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Supreme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing