We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good Italian food”
Review of Ristorante Beccari

Ristorante Beccari
Ranked #320 of 575 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good Italian food”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My first time to this Italian restaurant. Located at Merdeka Palace Hotel in Kuching, Sarawak Malaysia. Good ambience, romantic and has fire place. Was told the fire place is to burn bread. The last time I was eating at Italian restaurant was in Jakarta a long time ago. Chosen seafood pizza, served with garlic bread, olive oil and fried onions. The food was good and service was excellent, maybe because there were less people at the restaurant at that time. Price was reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Othman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Food”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I like the alio olio linguine.Its superb! The only real italian restaurant in Sarawak...I can't even find any alio olio whichis as god as here. Will come back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AmmarShahAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good pizzas if the right chef is on duty.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Normally go here for pizzas, which can be really good as they are done thin and crispy in a wood fired oven. Sometimes however they can't be bothered to fire up the oven if the restaurant is quiet and sometimes the chefs don't seem to care, so they are not nearly as good. The place is always very cold due to the a/c and the service bounces between non-existent and over attentive fussing round the table.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fruitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I loved the ambience and the setting. We went in a small group of 4, and ordered 2 pizzas, steak, salad, chicken and pasta, accompanied of course with a few bottles of recommended wine. Walah...What a night! After that, we went and relaxed with some rocking live band on a Friday night. If you go in on a Friday, before 9pm, the ladies need not pay a cover charge of RM$20-25.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NoOnesHome2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I will never go there again”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Seriously, such a restaurant puts Kuching to shame. The service is slow, the food served is not warm, the whole place is so dark that you can hardly see the food. Even my bill was presented to me 20 mins after I asked for it twice. They even hired a Caucasian chef to lead the local staff. Where is the quality of food here??? Overpriced food with incapable local and foreign staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alphonsus_Foo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Beccari also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Beccari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing