We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 16 July 2012

You get what you pay for with Tune - literally. Having stayed in one before, I knew roughly what to expect, but the big problem I encountered was that their website was having issues when I booked so I was up for early check-in, towel, air-conditioning and Wi-Fi upon arrival.

The room was small but not well cleaned - there was used soap still in the dispenser and the bathroom smelt like urine. Also, the safe was broken, so I ran the risk of carrying my passport around with my everywhere.

That being said, the location was fantastic - could not have asked to be placed in a better spot. Also, the staff were pretty good - regardless of the hour of the day, they were able to help and spoke very fluent English, which has been an issue in some of the Tune's I've stayed at.

Overall, it was a good stay and very good value for money - am recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

We comprehend the inconveniences you had experience when poor housekeeping habits resulted in unsanitary conditions

We have taken your feedback seriously and all relevant parties have been notified.

Thanks for letting us know and glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

as usual, nice room, clean toilet and a comfort bed is enough for me. feel like home. place is very strategic. near waterfront and convenience store.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mridzuan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Going forward, we hope that you'll continue to look out for us in planning your future stays, and we in return, hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Same old same old tune hotel. Went there for the Rain Forest Music Festival 2012 I had problems finding the RM9.90 shuttle bus when i arrived at the airport. apparently it's a very small sign and there were people blocking it from my view. Taxi is RM26 so not too bad.

I got the room with no windows this time unlike 2 years ago when i had a double room with windows.

Location is perfect, right in the center of everything with Hilton right opposite.

Toilet was a little grimy at corners and edges. The towel floor mat had old stains even though it had been washed.

Other than that, the usual like all their Tune Hotel chain, good location, good for the pocket, and just a simple place to put up for the night or weekend if you don't plan on staying in the room for too long.

Room Tip: Check in as early as they allow to get the room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasmineTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Changed room 3 times in 4 days. If there were no guests I would give this place a great review but......Tune hotels target locals, which means local families, which means, screaming kids who have no respect for other guests. You can hear everything in this hotel, the noise just drove me crazy. So great hotel but just too noisy, didn't get much sleep at this place. Can I just say the staff were very helpful, and didn't mind us keep trying different rooms and for the last 2 nights we did get a reasonably quiet room. It is just luck of the draw who you get put next to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience encountered at our hotel during your recent stay.

Glad to note that our staff was able to relocate to a different room at a quieter end.

We hope to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Perfect location, best price, clean. I enjoyed my stay even for only 1 night. Will stay here again for my next trip...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcsl785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Like many budget rooms in Kuching t Tune also has rooms with NO windows - horrible! But if you score a room on 2nd or 3rd floor on Hilton side it's good, and has river views if you stand in the right place.

Bed linen is stained and grey - no reason for this as they advertise nice linen. They just don't take care. Same with bathrooms - don't think they have been scrubbed or seen cleanser in a long time. Malaysia Truly AsIa Lah.

But it's a great location and can be affordable is better value then some of the old guest houses.

MUST try Tribal Scoop restaurant under hotel. 12.50R 5 course daily special - fascinating and nourishing food and great cinnamon coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NationalHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor Review on your recent visit to our hotel.

Rooms with windows are limited. If you prefer them, please inform the Frontdesk during check-in and they would be able to allocate of if there's availability.

Cleanliness has always been a substantial part of our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us. This feedback has been channelled to the relevant team for improvements.

We hope to be perfectly equipped in making your stay a pleasant experience the next time you come by.

See you soon.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

"Strategic location that enable you connect to most of the shopping complex and most important you can walk to the old street and experience the unique of the Borneo. You can also walk along the Waterfront which is the ideal for breathtaking walk in the evening."

Room Tip: please request for the rooms with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylleLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,735 reviews
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#21 of 55 in Kuching
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £11 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching located 50 meters radius from the Kuching Waterfront, local eateries and places of interest within the town. The hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. The prices quoted are all inclusive facilities and amenities of the room price, applicable fees & prevailing taxes. NO MORE ADD-ONs as you use. All are taken care. Pre-packed breakfast is included however guest may opt for room price without breakfast. Decent cafes are just a minute walking distance, carving for foods & beverages will not be a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing