We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy and disgusting - DO NOT GO HERE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Filthy and disgusting - DO NOT GO HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We were in Kuching for the rainforest music festival and ended up with Tune Hotel as part of a package deal with air Asia. I will try to be as objective as possible, but the bad memories linger.

The toilet was disgusting. Pee on the toilet bowl, the bath mat was black and yellow. There was hair from the nether regions on the sink! Ugh. Disgusting. We had to ask them to send someone to clean the toilet. We ended up always running to the Hilton hotel across the street to use their toilets. Fungus all over the walls. Floor was Dirty and basically the whole toilet looked like it need a thorough clean. Nightmare one. Except for the bed which looked made, everything else was dirty and filthy.

Nightmare two: the sheets. The sheets were not changed for three nights...and how do I know this? There was a stain on the sheets, that was there every single night. They never changed the sheets even after we specifically put the "please change our sheets" card on the bed. And did not keep to their promise of apparently changing the sheets every other day. A thought ran through our mind, what if they didn't even change the sheets after the last occupant left? Yikes, we shuddered and decided it is best not to think about that.

The staff were friendly enough. This is a budget hotel, yes we know that. But not having any luxury does NOT mean that cleanliness and hygiene are not necessary.

Never staying at this filthy hotel again. I have never written such a scathing report. We were a few Malaysian girls who just wanted clean place to lay our heads.

Despite how horrible this hotel was, Kuching was great! The food and the people.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

We comprehend the inconveniences you had experience when poor housekeeping habits resulted in unsanitary conditions

We have taken your feedback seriously and all relevant parties have been notified.

Thanks for letting us know and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    215
    110
    32
    24
See reviews for
96
128
88
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Everything is alright as what we pay for it. The room was basic and small which were ok for us but it was not well cleaned especially for the bathroom! we still can see some dirt stain! Besides, i would think that it should have free wifi for backpackers like us to look for any information easily without charges.
Anyway, the location is strategic, you can go to Jln Padungan, Carpenter street and Main Bazaar, waterfront with walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review

Our room rates vary; based on demand and availability, Rates are cheaper when you book early.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.


We are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

One of the things I hate most is to pay for the wifi. We are in the 21st century, wifi is free everywhere! I had free wifi in Laos in the middle of the jungle. Also on an island in Malaysia not for tourists. It's ridiculous that this place wants money for a worldwide service that is everywhere, most talking about Malaysia.

We arrived to the desk and they started to give us extra charges for everything. AC, towels, tv, the wifi (of course)... What's next, the door? The air I breathe?

Don't go there, Kuching is plenty of nice places with everything included, as the "normal hotels" do.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review

We adopt a demand based pricing mechanism. Room rates fluctuate based on demand and room availability. You are more likely to find more promo room rates during off peak periods than during peak periods (public holidays, weekends, etc).

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Our hotel has successfully pioneered a branded value hotel brand with the concept of pay-as-you-use that has become hugely popular amongst travellers from across the world.

We hope you give us the opportunity to once again welcome you onboard and provide you the positive Tune Hotel experience you have come to expect from us.


Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Two of us stayed here during the Rainforest Music Festival which meant we were out most of the time, which is the only reason that we did not leave and check into another hotel. We expected basic, but the poor hygiene levels were unacceptable. The bathroom was a horror show and had obviously not been cleaned after the previous occupant vacated. Our stained bed linen was not changed throughout our 3-night stay despite our leaving the indicative leaf-shaped card on the bed. The only positives of this hotel are the courteous staff and location. Am sure there are many other options with both though. Will never stay in any Tune hotel ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

We comprehend the inconveniences you had experience when poor housekeeping habits resulted in unsanitary conditions

We have taken your feedback seriously and all relevant parties have been notified.

Thanks for letting us know and glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

You get what you pay for with Tune - literally. Having stayed in one before, I knew roughly what to expect, but the big problem I encountered was that their website was having issues when I booked so I was up for early check-in, towel, air-conditioning and Wi-Fi upon arrival.

The room was small but not well cleaned - there was used soap still in the dispenser and the bathroom smelt like urine. Also, the safe was broken, so I ran the risk of carrying my passport around with my everywhere.

That being said, the location was fantastic - could not have asked to be placed in a better spot. Also, the staff were pretty good - regardless of the hour of the day, they were able to help and spoke very fluent English, which has been an issue in some of the Tune's I've stayed at.

Overall, it was a good stay and very good value for money - am recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

We comprehend the inconveniences you had experience when poor housekeeping habits resulted in unsanitary conditions

We have taken your feedback seriously and all relevant parties have been notified.

Thanks for letting us know and glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

as usual, nice room, clean toilet and a comfort bed is enough for me. feel like home. place is very strategic. near waterfront and convenience store.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mridzuan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We pride ourselves on the comfort, cleanliness and customer service and we are pleased to hear that we have fulfilled our promise in the case of your stay.

Going forward, we hope that you'll continue to look out for us in planning your future stays, and we in return, hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Same old same old tune hotel. Went there for the Rain Forest Music Festival 2012 I had problems finding the RM9.90 shuttle bus when i arrived at the airport. apparently it's a very small sign and there were people blocking it from my view. Taxi is RM26 so not too bad.

I got the room with no windows this time unlike 2 years ago when i had a double room with windows.

Location is perfect, right in the center of everything with Hilton right opposite.

Toilet was a little grimy at corners and edges. The towel floor mat had old stains even though it had been washed.

Other than that, the usual like all their Tune Hotel chain, good location, good for the pocket, and just a simple place to put up for the night or weekend if you don't plan on staying in the room for too long.

Room Tip: Check in as early as they allow to get the room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#15 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.3 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Property: Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels.The Waterfront Kuching hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons. The prices quoted are inclusive of the room price, applicable fees and prevailing taxes only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing