We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay w/ Tune Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Well, I have expected all the charges required by Tune Hotel, so I was not surprise about any special charges. I would recommend this place as a transit hotel only or a place to stay for just 1 night. Because you will have to pay for the internet, TV, air con, etc.

Actually I love the place because it is strategy located! <2 mins to waterfront, <5 mins to Main Bazaar, <5mins to any eatery including McD and KFC. If you walk for about ~10mins to Carpenter Street, you will able to get good Kolo Mee, Friend/Roast Chicken Rice, Rojak, etc.

As everyone has said, the room is quite spacious and clean but not the bathroom. The shower room is quite dirty. A solution to this is to wear a sandal...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenjaminPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for review.

Cleanliness has always been a substantial part of our service culture and we regret that it did not meet the standards you have come to expect from us.

I regret to hear that issues of cleanliness marred your stay. We take note of the areas needing attention and assure you that we'll take relevant measures to beef up our level of cleanliness

Once again am sorry we missed the mark this time around.

I hope you will allow us the occasion to restore your confidence in our hotel and making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience. See you soon

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

when i come to kuching,i had choosed the most cheaper hotel.but sadly the hotel doesnt have enough facilities,dirty and not secure. then i booked tune hotel via online,i found it very convenient and the price not so expensive. we only pay the facilities that we needed and used only.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaidatul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests.

We are glad in making your stay a pleasant and warmly memorable experience.

See you soon.

Warm Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We were in Kuching for the rainforest music festival and ended up with Tune Hotel as part of a package deal with air Asia. I will try to be as objective as possible, but the bad memories linger.

The toilet was disgusting. Pee on the toilet bowl, the bath mat was black and yellow. There was hair from the nether regions on the sink! Ugh. Disgusting. We had to ask them to send someone to clean the toilet. We ended up always running to the Hilton hotel across the street to use their toilets. Fungus all over the walls. Floor was Dirty and basically the whole toilet looked like it need a thorough clean. Nightmare one. Except for the bed which looked made, everything else was dirty and filthy.

Nightmare two: the sheets. The sheets were not changed for three nights...and how do I know this? There was a stain on the sheets, that was there every single night. They never changed the sheets even after we specifically put the "please change our sheets" card on the bed. And did not keep to their promise of apparently changing the sheets every other day. A thought ran through our mind, what if they didn't even change the sheets after the last occupant left? Yikes, we shuddered and decided it is best not to think about that.

The staff were friendly enough. This is a budget hotel, yes we know that. But not having any luxury does NOT mean that cleanliness and hygiene are not necessary.

Never staying at this filthy hotel again. I have never written such a scathing report. We were a few Malaysian girls who just wanted clean place to lay our heads.

Despite how horrible this hotel was, Kuching was great! The food and the people.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimissas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

We comprehend the inconveniences you had experience when poor housekeeping habits resulted in unsanitary conditions

We have taken your feedback seriously and all relevant parties have been notified.

Thanks for letting us know and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Everything is alright as what we pay for it. The room was basic and small which were ok for us but it was not well cleaned especially for the bathroom! we still can see some dirt stain! Besides, i would think that it should have free wifi for backpackers like us to look for any information easily without charges.
Anyway, the location is strategic, you can go to Jln Padungan, Carpenter street and Main Bazaar, waterfront with walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review

Our room rates vary; based on demand and availability, Rates are cheaper when you book early.

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.


We are glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

One of the things I hate most is to pay for the wifi. We are in the 21st century, wifi is free everywhere! I had free wifi in Laos in the middle of the jungle. Also on an island in Malaysia not for tourists. It's ridiculous that this place wants money for a worldwide service that is everywhere, most talking about Malaysia.

We arrived to the desk and they started to give us extra charges for everything. AC, towels, tv, the wifi (of course)... What's next, the door? The air I breathe?

Don't go there, Kuching is plenty of nice places with everything included, as the "normal hotels" do.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review

We adopt a demand based pricing mechanism. Room rates fluctuate based on demand and room availability. You are more likely to find more promo room rates during off peak periods than during peak periods (public holidays, weekends, etc).

We have adopted a minimalistic approach throughout our hotels worldwide. Providing the basics; bed and shower, Our piece-meal concept requires extra payment for anything that is not an elemental part of a stay.

'For non-essential items such as TV, Wi-Fi, air -conditioning, toiletries and hairdryers, guests only pay if they need them. Guests not using the extra facilities won't be charged for them as part of the room price.' This typically allows our customers to assemble their stay requirements to suit their budget.

Our hotel has successfully pioneered a branded value hotel brand with the concept of pay-as-you-use that has become hugely popular amongst travellers from across the world.

We hope you give us the opportunity to once again welcome you onboard and provide you the positive Tune Hotel experience you have come to expect from us.


Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Two of us stayed here during the Rainforest Music Festival which meant we were out most of the time, which is the only reason that we did not leave and check into another hotel. We expected basic, but the poor hygiene levels were unacceptable. The bathroom was a horror show and had obviously not been cleaned after the previous occupant vacated. Our stained bed linen was not changed throughout our 3-night stay despite our leaving the indicative leaf-shaped card on the bed. The only positives of this hotel are the courteous staff and location. Am sure there are many other options with both though. Will never stay in any Tune hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaika1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

We comprehend the inconveniences you had experience when poor housekeeping habits resulted in unsanitary conditions

We have taken your feedback seriously and all relevant parties have been notified.

Thanks for letting us know and glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

You get what you pay for with Tune - literally. Having stayed in one before, I knew roughly what to expect, but the big problem I encountered was that their website was having issues when I booked so I was up for early check-in, towel, air-conditioning and Wi-Fi upon arrival.

The room was small but not well cleaned - there was used soap still in the dispenser and the bathroom smelt like urine. Also, the safe was broken, so I ran the risk of carrying my passport around with my everywhere.

That being said, the location was fantastic - could not have asked to be placed in a better spot. Also, the staff were pretty good - regardless of the hour of the day, they were able to help and spoke very fluent English, which has been an issue in some of the Tune's I've stayed at.

Overall, it was a good stay and very good value for money - am recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Cleanliness has always been one of our priorities and something we do not compromise. Reviews like yours allow us to pinpoint areas in need of improvement.

We comprehend the inconveniences you had experience when poor housekeeping habits resulted in unsanitary conditions

We have taken your feedback seriously and all relevant parties have been notified.

Thanks for letting us know and glad that you enjoyed the other parts of your stay and we truly hope for the opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Warm Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#17 of 55 in Kuching
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £12 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching located 50 meters radius from the Kuching Waterfront, local eateries and places of interest within the town. The hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. The prices quoted are all inclusive facilities and amenities of the room price, applicable fees & prevailing taxes. NO MORE ADD-ONs as you use. All are taken care. Pre-packed breakfast is included however guest may opt for room price without breakfast. Decent cafes are just a minute walking distance, carving for foods & beverages will not be a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing