We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was not expecting much when I booked my accommodation but I was plesantly surprised. The rooms were modern. The bed was new and nice. The bathroom was very clean and nice and had a rain shower head, which was a pleasant surprise. It was basic but it was top-notch.

It is also centrally located so getting anywhere around the central Kuching is a breeze. The staff were also great. Very friendly and always willing to help.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schzaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

a nice hotel with a budget price. With this price i can get a 5 star quality bed. truly a value of money. It The service staff also very friendly and provide a good service towards me. As i only stay for a night, and dis not required any completed facilities. Just a good and comfortable bed is sufficient for me already

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frederickcws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review .I am happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly.

Compliments are always wonderful; it makes us motivated to be acknowledged while we take great effort in seeing into each and every need of our guests

We hope to continuously 'wow" your expectations in future.

Have a pleasant day.

Rgds,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed 3d2n in this hotel. This is a budget hotel, suitable for short stays. The hotel location is just perfect for either travelers or for business trip. In fact, it is close to major attractions downtown Kuching all within walking distances. And most importantly you could get your foods and daily amenities just by its' surrounding area.

Kuching is lack of public transport services, if you would like to get further than downtown, you might need to catch a Taxi there. The Taxis in Kuching isn't mobility, it is hard to get a taxi roadside; they usually gather in some hot spots to get passenger instead, ie: Hotels or Tourist Hot- Spots. Tune Hotel is one of their "gather point" as it is just opposite with Hilton Hotel. Hence you won't get any trouble in travelling.

Overall the worthiness of your stay is value by how much you paid. Every single things they will cost you extra, even for TV Programs, yes! TV. Nonetheless, I would still visit this hotel due to its' convenience location, and its' reasonable price compare to other in town.

Room Tip: If you travel solo, get a double bed room. It's cost same with single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EEOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Clean, comfortable and great value has always been our primary aim since inception and we are glad to have met your requirements perfectly,

Once again, thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
Sharon- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This place is really not nice. The rooms are not particularly clean or comfortable but the real problem with this place is that they rip you off for extras at every opportunity. They advertise in room wifi but what they actually mean is that they will give you 24 hours access to one device. I am travelling with my husband and we are both working so have more than one device and they charge an extra 12 ringgit for another device. We were here for 4 nights and after 2 days left the room to be cleaned and as standard when you want clean towels put them on the floor, when we returned they had picked up the dirty towels off the floor and stuffed them in the towel rail, all bunched up, dirty and of course damp so by the time we returned to our room they stank. Apparantly they don't change your towels no matter how long you stay, but also don't clean your room, take care of your belongings or repeat basic personal hygiene - that was just rude, offensive, lazy and highly inappropriate. We did raise all this with the reception and they said these were all to offer savings on the room. But the room was no cheaper than any other hotel that actually offered basic standard services like room cleaning or towel changes, it was more expensive than many, it advertised free in room wifi without detailing that this was time and device limited and was just a really low rent, nasty budget option. I would avoid this place and all others in the chain and go somewhere else...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dizzle-Bizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

Our hotel operates on a limited service concept, parallel to a “pay as you use concept”
We do not provide items such as wardrobe, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, extra pillows, extra beds, room service, etc. Air-conditioning, Television, and Wi-Fi are chargeable add-ons and towels are on rental basis only.

Facilities you find at regular hotels are packaged as add-ons to offer options. The WIFI is charged per device and that is clearly indicate on our wesbite.

We are committed in delivering great service and value for money; and every feedback tell us how we fare.

We hope that you future stays would be a better one
Thank you

Regards,
Sharon-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small, with nowhere to store bags and no flat surfaces to put things on. Relatively clean, but I left my towels on the bathroom floor and instead of changing them the cleaner put them on the toilet. It turned out that you have to take your towels to reception if you want them changed, and when you check out...

Tune makes outthy they have a unique business model and approach to hotelanagement that makes them good value. What this actually means is they charge the same as everyone else, and then charge extra for basic amenities - like air con, wifi and towels -that other hotels throw in for free. If you book on Agoda you get a pillow, air con and wifi for as part of the deal. Despite this I still ended up having to argue with the receptionist when I wanted a second wifi password (they expire after 24hours), and had to take our soggy used towels down to swap them for clean ones. Personally, having stayed here, I would just book a proper hotel for the same price. Nobody saves money through this type of 'optional extra' service except Tune...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpyTravelerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Near to Top Spot where we could take the nice seafood with reasonable price.
Parkson shopping mall just next to the hotel. Walking distance to town center,
famous kolo mee shop and food court. We enjoyed the evening cruise to
view sunset with 50% discount as the Tune Hotel guest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minensia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

Our location is normally a strong positive for our guests. As a limited-service hotel brand we focus on high quality basics, a 5-star bed and hot showers, housed within a clean and secure environment, always located centrally, all at extremely affordable prices.

Happy to know how we have met your requirements perfectly. Thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
De Silva- Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel location is at hotspot where I can go to at a distance only. New design of the room which is very much different from others. Easy to book taxi. Walk alley to the room is bright, room clean, look very tidy eventhough it is small with everything I need consume and hidden.

Room Tip: A special and cheap room rate for family pack and also a special promotion prices during school holi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehlai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuneh0tels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

It's wonderful to have fulfilled your expectations this time around, and hope we continuously do so at all times.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

Regards,
De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,738 reviews
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#21 of 55 in Kuching
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £11 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching located 50 meters radius from the Kuching Waterfront, local eateries and places of interest within the town. The hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. The prices quoted are all inclusive facilities and amenities of the room price, applicable fees & prevailing taxes. NO MORE ADD-ONs as you use. All are taken care. Pre-packed breakfast is included however guest may opt for room price without breakfast. Decent cafes are just a minute walking distance, carving for foods & beverages will not be a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing