We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in town with fare price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Sibu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in town with fare price”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fantastic location, Good Price, Comfortable.
The Best Hotel in Kuching City with fare price.
Just opposite the five stars Hilton Hotel.
For group staying its recommended to arrange through travel agent.

Room Tip: You may ask for windows unit for better air ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    221
    115
    35
    26
See reviews for
99
134
91
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights. Agreed with their tag line 'five-star bed with a one-star price' but I think the air con filter needs some cleaning as well as a fresh layer of paint on the wall. Basic facilities were provided, very ergonomic. It was strategically located with the waterfront across the road. I went to the Star Cineplex Kuching, which is located within walking distance of less than 5 minutes. I purchased a 24-hour air conditioning package but at the end of my 2 nights stay, I still have almost 10 hours of air conditioning left. Which means a 24-hour package is more than adequate if you are spending most of your time outdoor. Underground parking is available and it's operated by an independent private company; each entry to the underground car park costs RM2.50, overnight parking is RM5 - very cheap. But to get that rate, make sure you obtain a voucher from the hotel counter because this is a special rate for hotel guests only. To access to the underground parking, you need to drive to the back of the building and turn in to a small lane with the tall 'LHDN' building on your right. Otherwise if you park at the public parking lot, ensure that you have displayed the city council parking coupons during the stipulated hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cksheng74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the positive review.

Our hotel is suitable for budget conscious travelers and many find our concept great-value for money.

We are delighted to hear likewise from you and hope you'll stay with us next time around.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location was just perfect for those who are on a budget and wish to travel around by foot. It's about 3-4 mins to the waterfront and is located strategically to most of the popular eating spots. I was allowed to check in early since the room was available and the process was relatively hassle free. Will stay again if I'm in Kuching again.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel if you prefer a very spacious room. And turn off your A/C if you're not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danieliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

cheap accommodation next to the Hilton right in front to the waterfront. Very small rooms with no wardrobes, good beds, very nice shower with good water pressure. No need to book the TV, the channels which are offered are not worth it. Housekeeping was not very impressive, as the toilet was not properly cleaned for days.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are happy to find that you had a good stay with us. You have also pointed out about the housekeeping failing your standards.

I would like to obtain more details about your stay, so please send me complete details of your stay to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com so that I could address this issue appropriately.

Thank you very much for this feedback and I hope to hear from you further.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly placed at rock bottom price, but it's clean you get a/c,TV,safe,clean sheets every second day.It's not the kind of place where you will want to stay in too much, but the beds are good, five star beds at one star prices is their claim, and it's true.
The Ryanair of hotels,the staff are pleasant though.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the appraisal on our hotel and staff.

It's rewarding to have guests return with great feedback like yours, and we are happy to have made your stay and a warmly memorable experience.

Once again, thanks for this review, It's a pleasure to welcome you always.

Warm Regards,
Sharon De Silva- Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was on a short holiday in Kuching during the holidays during the March holidays.We stayed at Tune Waterfront Hotel.Check -in was fast and the receptionist was friendly.The rooms were comfortable and clean.The location is central and close to the restaurant and the main bazaar.All within walking distance.I would highly recommend this hotel.Its value for money.Book early to get cheap rates.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jagdish987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the TA review.

We provide the basic for a good night sleep; clean rooms, comfortable beds and relaxing power shower for a great slumber experience. We are happy to find that you had pleasant stay with us.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
751 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Prior to staying at this Tune hotel I had stayed at one in Hat Yai which was great and one in Ipoh which was terrible. This one is similar to Ipoh hard sell at moment of arrival, I had purchased a package which included TV and Wifi I never got the TV and had to go back to the desk for the wifi code. When I logged in it latched to my tablet, so it could only be used by that, the other three devices would need their own purchased, in all about 50RM a day when wifi is free in so many places, profit above fair play for customers. To add insult to injury we decided to use the lobby WiFi, once again the system used was designed to frustrate, capped at 20 minutes with an approximate log on of 7-20 minutes it is penny pinching gone mad. We used this about six times during our stay and nearly on every occation we were given a ticket with a log in that did not work, and on nearly every occation the staff were condescending and implied we we not doing it properly, every time we had to prove them wrong, more bad customer service.
The rooms are as small (cupboards) as Ipoh and well worn, however the room attendants were great and considering the linen had holes and was well past their throw away date they made it clean and presentable.
Its location is good being a short walk to Kuching waterfront and to be fair the excessive noise is caused mainly by the guests shouting in the corridors which they have put a sign up to address. However it seems they believe that only people who read english make noise, which I can confirm as incorrect as I hear none, but I heard a great deal in non english.
I would only recommend this hotel to single people travelling who do not need wifi. To all others I would advise looking elsewhere as this is a budget hotel but it strives to charge midrange prices, many new ones opening up and many that have been there a while. Happy travels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#14 of 55 in Kuching
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 55 in Kuching
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching

Property: Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels.The Waterfront Kuching hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. We believe in letting our guests know exactly what you pay for, and offer the capability to design your stay via reasonably priced pay-as-you-use add-ons. The prices quoted are inclusive of the room price, applicable fees and prevailing taxes only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing