We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, good location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights.. Cheap hotel in 5 star location.. Easy to find nice food and near to exciting waterfront.. The staffs there were very friendly and helpful.. The only thing that make me give 4 stars instead of 5 stars is the toilet is a bit dirty..

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Zulhazman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

Our hotel is clean,central and affordable. We are happy to find that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is not a 5-star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. But it calls itself 5-star beds at 1-star prices, and there is no doubt of this. The location in Kuching is also 5 star. I have stayed at Tune in 5 cities now, and the Kuching property is the best in every aspect. The staff here is very good. Again, the location is superb, the Hilton is across the street and the Hilton Corporation doesn't invest in bad property locations. For those of you who haven't stayed at Tune before, they invest in two things - good beds and good showers, the rest is a la carte which usually keeps prices down. Bit of a hassle getting here from the airport, but easy to book a shuttle back to the airport. Not far from the bus station to get to many of the area's tourist attractions. Right across the street from the Sarawak River which is active every night with food and entertainment. I loved it here, plan to come back and stay at Tune.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTWtraveler213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 4 nights. It was affordable, but we had to pay extra for the air-conditioner. It's RM16 for 12 hours, and RM22 for 24 hours. The first night I was given a room on the second floor, room number 249. The room was horrible! The bed was super sandy, and the air conditioner made noises. I asked for a different room the next nights and was given a room on the first floor, room 115. It was okay and is near to the lift. The room isn't so spacious, but it was just nice. I love the power shower. I asked for a room that was facing Hilton Hotel because it has better view. The staffs are friendly and helpful except for one, who was quite rude, but that's okay, maybe she was just having a bad day. I hated their cafe because there weren't many choices on the food. Thank goodness the hotel is located strategically, near to the waterfront and other malls, I could go out and find food outside of the hotel. I will probably make second thought on to or not to stay in Tune Hotel whenever I come to Kuching. The hotel is okay, that it is quite comfortable but I just don't think that it will be a satisfaction.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ilonalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

Our hotel is clean,central and affordable. We are happy to find that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fantastic location, Good Price, Comfortable.
The Best Hotel in Kuching City with fare price.
Just opposite the five stars Hilton Hotel.
For group staying its recommended to arrange through travel agent.

Room Tip: You may ask for windows unit for better air ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights. Agreed with their tag line 'five-star bed with a one-star price' but I think the air con filter needs some cleaning as well as a fresh layer of paint on the wall. Basic facilities were provided, very ergonomic. It was strategically located with the waterfront across the road. I went to the Star Cineplex Kuching, which is located within walking distance of less than 5 minutes. I purchased a 24-hour air conditioning package but at the end of my 2 nights stay, I still have almost 10 hours of air conditioning left. Which means a 24-hour package is more than adequate if you are spending most of your time outdoor. Underground parking is available and it's operated by an independent private company; each entry to the underground car park costs RM2.50, overnight parking is RM5 - very cheap. But to get that rate, make sure you obtain a voucher from the hotel counter because this is a special rate for hotel guests only. To access to the underground parking, you need to drive to the back of the building and turn in to a small lane with the tall 'LHDN' building on your right. Otherwise if you park at the public parking lot, ensure that you have displayed the city council parking coupons during the stipulated hours.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank cksheng74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the positive review.

Our hotel is suitable for budget conscious travelers and many find our concept great-value for money.

We are delighted to hear likewise from you and hope you'll stay with us next time around.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location was just perfect for those who are on a budget and wish to travel around by foot. It's about 3-4 mins to the waterfront and is located strategically to most of the popular eating spots. I was allowed to check in early since the room was available and the process was relatively hassle free. Will stay again if I'm in Kuching again.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel if you prefer a very spacious room. And turn off your A/C if you're not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danieliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

cheap accommodation next to the Hilton right in front to the waterfront. Very small rooms with no wardrobes, good beds, very nice shower with good water pressure. No need to book the TV, the channels which are offered are not worth it. Housekeeping was not very impressive, as the toilet was not properly cleaned for days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSilvaTunehotels, Manager at Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We are happy to find that you had a good stay with us. You have also pointed out about the housekeeping failing your standards.

I would like to obtain more details about your stay, so please send me complete details of your stay to sharon.desilva@tunehotels.com so that I could address this issue appropriately.

Thank you very much for this feedback and I hope to hear from you further.

Regards,
Sharon De Silva-Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
263 reviews
2.2 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#16 of 55 in Kuching
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Supreme Hotel
Grand Supreme Hotel
#29 of 55 in Kuching
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak

Address: Off Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Jalan Borneo, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Family Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £12 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get a 5-star sleeping experience at a 1-star price with Tune Hotels branded select-service hotels. Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching located 50 meters radius from the Kuching Waterfront, local eateries and places of interest within the town. The hotel features 135 private rooms with en-suite bathrooms. The prices quoted are all inclusive facilities and amenities of the room price, applicable fees & prevailing taxes. NO MORE ADD-ONs as you use. All are taken care. Pre-packed breakfast is included however guest may opt for room price without breakfast. Decent cafes are just a minute walking distance, carving for foods & beverages will not be a problem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels .Com Waterfront Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing