We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip It” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooks Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brooks Terrace
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Skip It”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Room was not cleaned when I checked in (used cotton bud, used soaps in the toilet). Bedsheet smelled bad, new one smelled bad as well. Thin cotton wall (I know it's a guesthouse but I've stayed in many guesthouses before...this is by far the worst). Saving grace is the helpful staff. I would go to Margherita Hotel or however they spell it if I were you.

Room Tip: Avoid this place totally
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Was here in 2010 with few of my friends. We were backpacking to Kuching for the first time. This place gives you great deal for backpackers, the basics are there - certainly. You can't complaint much about the place if you travel for the minimal. The place is great!

-Internet can be used for a certain amount of fee per hour.
-It's located in the central of Kuching - you can just go anywhere from here. Food choices are abundance.
-The owner was really friendly; just ask if you need any directions or tips about Kuching.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aritra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bintulu, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

friendly & helpful staff, cool ambient, reasonable price,
went there for 2 times, went down to the Shore Bistro for great taste of variances flavour of beer.
Great food, chinese, malay, indonesia, western, you name it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

After reading the reviews, decided to book this lodge. The staff are helpful and very accommodating. The location is ok and is near to the Top Spot if you are into seafood. A lot of eateries around the vicinity and the famous Chon Chong laksa is just around the corner. The only drawback is the our room does not have a window and we felt as it we were in the prison cell without knowing if is day or night. Also, the sewage smell from the bathroom. However, for RM80 per night, I think is acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with real windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yawn17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

this has new owners that are so lovely- very helpful and make you feel like you are at home. my room initially had a sliding door tp terrace that wouldn't lock and they immediately moved me with apologies. room was large - tv,air con. it us a little old and grubby, but it was fine. i am sure the new owners will make improvements very quickly. great location- i was drawn a map of eating places and tried them - excellent. the staff alone will make this place very popular. thanks guys!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonny222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

My wife and I stayed altogether 4 nights, and found the room quite adequate, although the shower room drain was full of hairs and obviously hadn't been cleaned out. Andy was incredibly helpful and delighted to give advice on travelling. We left our spare baggage with him on two occasions, when we went off visiting other places. It really felt like home from home. The room had a large flat screen TV, small fridge, and air-con, plus free coffee and tea available in the reception area at any time of day or night. Location is okay, only a few minutes walk from the riverfront. We had a room at the back, which Andy said would be quieter, but on the first morning (Thursday) we were woken very early by a garbage truck outside. Altogether, though, we thought it was very good value for RM80, and would be happy to recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here for 8 days in August 2011 during a 9 week trip around SE Asia, and this was a superb place to relax and feel at home in Kuching. We were shown a less inviting and smaller room at the rear of the hotel to start with but once advised we would be here for 8 days they were able to free up a larger room (the one next to the reception desk).

The room was massive, Warm, had a huge flat Screen TV and fantastic bathroom. It feels like a roomy New York loft apartment and on a couple of nights we picked up Pizza from Pizza Hut opposite and crashed out in front of the TV on the floor. (not very asian i know ;P)

Location is perfect, a few cool bars either side and a stone's throw from all the main shopping centres and the river. Takes max of 10 mins to walk to the market areas. Plus right opposite the bus stop which goes to Bako National park...2 RM instead of about 100 in a taxi.

You also have to pre arrange a stay here, so you don't just have people walking in off the street asking for a room, you have to be buzzed up and call in advance to discuss your needs - Well worth doing that!

The staff are really friendly and can also recommend good tours to go on. The highlight of our entire 9 week trip was probably the Mongkos Longhouse homestay which Desmond Kon (friend of the manager who had done some guide work for the bbc i believe) organised for us. Desmond drove the 2 of us in his car for a couple of hours to the longhouse and then picked us up the next day. He was also able to stop off along the way to show us wild orchids (amongst other things) and take us to local coffee shops en route we would otherwise never have thought of stopping at. The rates were very reasonable and we were literally the only 2 westerners in the entire village. We were taken around the Village by the local kids ranging from about 6 to 19 yrs old - i felt like I was in the film 'stand by me' strolling through rainforest, swimming in little rivers, and away from all the typical longhouse reommendations from the tourist guides.

The hotel also had a very cheap and quick laundry service, Wi-fi was very strong in the room and also they lent us a laptop so we could upload and save our photos to dropbox on the internet. And they provided a communal (although no one there so felt private) tea and coffee making station and free continental style breakfast everymorning, right outside our room..

Been a while since we stayed here now but i really cannot fault this place in any way. Even if money was no object I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Kuching, for all the Hiltons and Sheridans etc etc, none compare to the stay we had here and i've stayed at them all at some point - from the Gansevoort in New York to the Bellagio in Vegas.

6 Stars!!! - If you get the right room :)

Thanks for a lovely stay..

Room Tip: The one next to the reception desk - First class and massive..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halfcut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
B & B Inn
#33 of 69 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Furama Lodging House
Furama Lodging House
#47 of 82 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gibbon Guesthouse
Gibbon Guesthouse
#12 of 82 in Kuching
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
48 Room-for-Rent
48 Room-for-Rent
#41 of 82 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Radioman, Heritage Hostel
0.2 mi away
DIY Dorm
DIY Dorm
#5 of 69 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Terrace

Property: Brooks Terrace
Address: No. 291, First Floor Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing