We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”

Tracks Bed & Breadfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tracks Bed & Breadfast
Reviewed 24 December 2013

lovely place with lovely people,very friendly and helpful.
good location also,in the middle of town and 5 minutes walk to the famous waterfront,
and the price is cheap,plus free breakfast and free wi-fi.
the shower has hot shower and it's clean,same as the toilet.
many infos about what to do around kuching and sarawak as a whole.
very recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noreencarol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The room is reasonably cheap and comfortable.With window and air-cond,plus free breakfast and free wi-fi.The communal shower and toilets also always clean and the hot shower is a luxury after a long day of trekking.The kitchen is provided so you can cook and safe budget on food.On a lazy day,the DVD collection and the exchangeable books will make your day.Good place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jessicasimbalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Yep once you try this place you will be calling everyone baby and darling.

I see the previous reviewer did not appreciate the Zachery experience. Not for everyone I guess but he was very helpful with local transport, hiring a motorbike, finding a good local place to eat and planning our journey up to Sabah. He will tell you the actual local prices too.

The rooms were average or good for a backpackers. The bathroom was fine and the place was kept clean. Breakfast was toast and jam. There is a fridge and freezer in the kitchen and one of the only places in Malaysia so far with a burner in the kitchen that you can cook your own meals.

My only blemish on this experience was that Zachery forgot to show us to the bus stop the day we headed to Bako NP. Forgiveable I guess. Yes you Zachery.

Thanks for having us

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Possibly the worst hostel I stayed in in S E Asia, I had to check out and move to another hostel. The rooms were quite clean, the bedding smelt very nice, but the beds were uncomfortable. The bathroom was kept pretty clean, but the shower room often smelt of piss, which I think maybe came from the drains. The shower itself was extremely poor, barely more than a trickle. The kitchen was disgusting. Free breakfast is provided in the form of bread, butter and jam, but there were ants everywhere, all over the food, in the butter, in the tea, coffee and sugar. The worst thing about this place was the owner, who insists on calling everyone 'baby' and walking around in his underpants, and I just found him plain creepy. He used the word 'baby' so often that he accidentally used it in instead of normal words like 'day' and 'festival'

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess-1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family of four stayed here for four nights, kids loved the homely feel as did we. Zachary who runs it is super friendly and very helpful, even dropped us at a few places in his own car. Only downside is you need earplugs to sleep, though once they are in all is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joannecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here back in 2010 for a few nights whilst backpacking around SE Asia.

It's in a great location (just a couple of minutes walk from the river/centre of town), rooms are an ok size (our bed was really uncomfortable) and the walls were paper thin so when people are staying up late drinking and talking we couldn't sleep - BUT - it was clean and tidy and the guys that worked there were so friendly it felt like you were staying with friends.

If you are backpacking around and want a friendly place to stay with no frills this is for you - if you are on holiday and want something amazing go and stay in a 5* down the road and pay 100x more!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vbostridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

It's very rare that i write a review on TA but this place definitely deserves it. I stayed at Tracks for 3 nights in a dorm room and had a very nice stay.
The room and the hostel feels kind of new, relaxed and homey. All areas were always clean, were simply but nicely decorated. My room had a good and very silent A/C. Great and cheap restaurants are literally just around the corner, 1 minute walk, and the waterfront is just another minute away.
However, the best thing about this place is its manager Zaki. He was extremely helpful in many cases, even drove me to the bus station on his scooter, arranged accomodation in Bako national while i was already in the bus on the way there and gave lots of great advives on how to go to the places and do activities more efficient and cheaper.
The only downside for me was a loud pub accross the street on Friday night, but other 2 nights were quiet and peaceful.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,684 reviews
13.6 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
630 reviews
13.9 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#48 of 55 in Kuching
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tracks Bed & Breadfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tracks Bed & Breadfast

Address: 1st Floor,No. 5, Jalan Green Hill, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: £4 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRACKS is a new modern concept of B & B at the heart of Kuching city center, in the ‘Golden Triangle’ area near the Kuching Waterfront, within walking distance to all historical and modern landmarks of tourist attractions and a perfect place for a hub of traveling around Kuching and the whole island of Borneo itself. Clean, homely and comfortable environment at a very reasonable price, Tracks will make your stay in Kuching a memorable one. We understand the needs of travelers as we ourselves are travelers too. We are glad to help you out if you need assistance or advice, since this B & B is runs by young generation Ibans with travel knowledge and experience of local customs. Since you are on holidays, there is no curfew and no lockout time. You can move in and out freely with our 24 hour keycard security access system. LEAVE YOUR TRACKS HERE! The Management Robinson Unau ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing