We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deep rooted customer care at The Lime Tree Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deep rooted customer care at The Lime Tree Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Here is our experience of our three nights, four day stay at The Lime Tree Hotel. We stayed there 7th April through to 11th April 2013, Room 108 Deluxe room, city view, breakfast included; booked through agoda.

Email exchanges with the hotel were dealt with promptly and concisely being very customer focused throughout.

On arrival at the airport (we‘d requested they meet and collect us; very straight forward to arrange) we were met by one of the hotel’s smiling drivers who welcomed us to Kuching and soon had us safely loaded into the very clean, modern minibus. A short journey later we reached the Lime Tree Hotel. Check in was a seamless and pleasant experience during which various bits of essential information were communicated to us in a helpful and concise manner. We made our way to our room and our luggage arrived a few minutes later.

Our room was as exactly described on the internet and we were very pleased; very clean and spacious. Plenty of hot water on demand and we appreciated the very large shower head and the drenching effect given. Room 108 had a comfy bed and was, during our stay, a quiet room.

Wi-Fi is free. During our stay the Wi-Fi was a little erratic in function but there were notices up explaining some local external difficulties which was currently impacting on the internet. That said we managed to connect as much as we personally needed to, overall.

Air-con in our room perfect, could not have been better – quiet and effective.

Breakfasts consistently good and for ourselves provided ample choice all being very tasty and filling. Every morning Mr Soh (the hotel manager) was on hand checking all was well and was seen repeatedly helping to clear tables whilst chatting with guests in an interested (but not intrusive) way about guests plans for the day ahead.

Mr Soh really does care very deeply about his hotel and the guest experience therein – an outstanding guy who sets the standard and seems to be on duty 24/7. Took very good care of us personally and his staff unfailingly followed his lead: thank you Mr Soh!

We made good use of the various shuttle services at the hotel and highly recommend others to check this out themselves; we found the rates and destinations most cost effective and well thought out. Each driver (we experienced three different drivers) were professional and always punctual, a really great team!

In conclusion: The Lime Tree Hotel, its manager, its staff can be extremely proud of the work they are doing for they provided, in our experience, truly excellent all round hospitality and this, vitally, at very competitive rates. Well done Lime Tree!

We absolutely recommend and will not hesitate enjoying a return visit very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insightphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    442
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
143
450
95
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hubby and I recently spent 3 nights at the Lime Tree. We chose a normal room which was fine for our purposes (booked via booking.com - circa £35 pn incl breakfast). Check in was smooth and we also booked a trip to see the Orangutans via reception for the following morning which was very good. The room was smallish but cosy and the bathroom was fine. All very clean, good TV with a few English channels (including movies). Shower was good and overall the room was clean. The bed was very comfy which was good. Lots of choice at breakfast including local foods, Asian foods and European foods. Nice fruit and juice and breads too. Hubby liked the banana fritters! The hotel is well located and is a 10 minute walk to the main promenade. It's just by china town so lots of restaurants to eat in. Roof top bar was nice to sit and have a bucket of Tiger beers and sit and unwind of an evening. Beers are circa 10 rm per bottle which is about standard for Malaysian hotels. There's a good laundry about 100 meters round the corner on the main china town street which was cheap and quick. Aircon worked fine. Overall, this was a nice, inexpensive, good value hotel which we liked. It also felt very safe too with the lift being key-fob operated. No mini fridge in the room but they can deliver one to you if you wish.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at the Limetree hotel and had an amazing time !... We had originally booked an executive deluxe room, but got upgraded to a suite on arrival.
The room was clean, with large window overlooking the city and the river. Although right on the street, the room was quiet, with a little sitting area and a nice bathroom. Nothing fancy but practical and clean.
The staff was really nice. Would it be for check-in, at the rooftop lounge, or at the restaurant for breakfast, they are always ready to help, in a perfect English.
The breakfast buffet offered a good selection of food (try the banana fritters !) and the dishes were re-filled regularly with fresh food. The Laksa was very nice.
We had one lunch at the rooftop lounge. I had the island burger (with pineapple) and hubby had the fish and chips: nice portions and tasty food.
We had booked an arrival transfer through the hotel and decided to book the ldeparture transfer through the hotel as well. Everything was organised smoothly and the price (RM 23) was reasonable.
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room with a "real" window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinandJacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

First of all, I really love the lime/green concept of the Hotel and they really are true to their word.
The hotel is clean,service is good,despite the slight interruption of our TV channel, all was good.

The hotel was not far from the main attraction and other local shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShidahShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

The only negative about the Limetree is that the rooms are clean but not quite as clean as they appear in photos & they're showing some wear. This is negated by the incredibly friendly staff, great breakfast buffet, wifi, & spectacular help. They offer tours but we did our own, with their help renting a car & answering my husband's many questions. We stayed 3 nights instead of 1 & will stay an additional night before we head back to the mainland. The have safes accessed through the front desk & offer other amenities if needed. It's very close to Chinatown & several pubs, outdoor cafes, restaurants, & shops. 10-15 minute walk to the esplanade that leads to Central.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 2 nights at Lime Tree and I have to agree with positive reviews on TA (BTW this is why we chose to stay at Lime Tree) - the hotel is well located - close to the main attractions and some nice food stalls and restaurants. The room we stayed at was clean, comfortable and big. The only inconvenience was the fact that we didn't have place to store our clothes as there was no closet apart from small hanger. Breakfast was tasty and the staff really helpful. We had no problem with airport pick-up - the driver was waiting for us at the airport. The rooftop bar and restaurant are also ok - nice view from there and really good food (although you have to wait a while to be served).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Yes. This is an excellent hotel and excellent value. It is within easy walking distance from the centre or there is a hotel shuttle which is always available. The staff are exceptional and the roof top bar is a taste of the high life as we sipped cocktails and watched the sunsets. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlenaDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing