We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here 12 nights total from the end of August into September. Pickup from the airport was flawless but note that the cost for each person is the same as the cost of a taxi so not a great deal if you are not travelling alone. The hotel is in a convenient location with lots of wonderful eateries nearby. It is about 10 minutes to walk to the waterfront or to the Top Spot eatery. (highly recommend!!)

What struck us from the moment we checked in was the friendly and professional attitude of the staff. These folks really understand customer service and what it takes to have guests feel welcome and tended to.

We stayed in both the Deluxe and the Executive Suite rooms and found it is really worth it to upgrade to the suite,lots more room, bath tub and fridge in suite, nice river view. The pillows and mattresses are very comfortable. Request a higher floor as the hotel is situated on an intersection and the noise can be loud at times due to traffic. The room has a kettle with tea and coffee which, along with 2 bottles of water, get replenished daily.

The rooftop patio has a retractable roof and is a great spot to watch thunder storms. Be sure to enjoy your complimentary lime drink for great views from the top. The bar regularly offers various meal and drink specials including giveaways of small electronics like portable USB chargers.

Breakfast is great. There is the usual selection of western foods like eggs, toast, beans, pastries etc along with some asian dishes including the very delicious Laksa which we made sure to eat every morning. Oh how we miss it!

The hotel felt very safe and overall was clean. There were a few times when housekeeping was spotty, as an example finding shaving hairs in the sink when we checked in to one room,and smeared toothpaste on the counter of another (which remained there the entire time we stayed). At times, we didn't receive a new toilet paper roll or replenished toiletries. Housekeeping also follows the unfortunate and common practice of just sink washing your mugs and glasses. We had the same chipped mug the entire time and the housekeeping trolleys never had new mugs on them so it was evident they were just being wiped down in the room. As the sink temperature is only set at lukewarm, I question the sanitary effectiveness of this and so washed our glasses and mugs myself each day after housekeeping left using water boiled in the kettle.

Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    447
    95
    11
    2
See reviews for
145
457
99
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Rooms are small & basic but comfortable & tastefully done. No proper wardrobe though.
Buffet breakfast spread was fairly good. Cafe is rather small, so it gets crowded
during breakfast.
There is free wi-fi & three PCs for guests' use in the lobby.Wi-fi speed is rather slow.
The roof top lounge has a good view of the city.
The hotel's location is fairly convenient & easy to walk to the city center.
The street parrallel to Abell Road has many eateries. The restaurant,"Hong Kong Noodles House" sewrves fairly good Chinese cuisine & the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 201 is abit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The Lime Tree Hotel in Kuching is great. It's extremely difficult to find a simple midrange hotel in South East Asia, The Lime tree ticks all the boxes and the amazing service is an extra unexpected bonus (Serinah Julaihi the Front Office Manager will help you with everything from good local eateries to arranging pick ups and excursions to see Borneo). It is not brand new, but its a modern non smoking hotel and clean. The bathroom (arguably the most important factor) is well equipped. It is located real close to kuching centre and waterfront, with free wifi, a decent restaurant and a relaxing rooftop bar. One of the best hotels I've seen in Malaysia and South East Asia so far.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PolishTraveller_blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over the Kuching Regatta weekend event which attracted drones of visitors to the Waterfront area, some 15 minutes walking from this hotel. That kept this hotel away from the regatta madness but yet close enough for one to take a nice walk to take it all in. The room was clean, albeit slightly small. The breakfast is one of the best that I had for a hotel at this price. Good fresh breakfast variety and a surprising afternoon tea selection of banana fritters with coffee, which was a nice touch. The lime juice is unique, made available by this hotel as a welcome drink and available during breakfast. I would certainly stay here again

Room Tip: ask for river facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We just stayed in the hotel for one night, but we loved it. It's real value for money, good location, excellent service and very nice staff. Rooms are small but very nice and extremely clean, and the highlight for me was the breakfast, that is included in the price and was good quality and has some variety which was nice coming from hotels were the only breakfast you could get was some mouldy bread and rancid butter. Other thing I liked is that, unlike other hotels, you know from the moment you're booking that it is a estrictly non smoking hotel, with other hotels in Malaysia it happened that we booked through the same booking website but they do not warn you. Once you get there you have 2 nice spaces for smokers, there are signs indicating that and they also let you know when you're checking in.
So, all in al, great stay and nice hotel, I would definetely recommend it to my friends!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay in this hotel because was full when i was in kuching, but i had the possibility to test their customer service.
Julia saved our trip to kuching! She was very kind and helpful even if we were not their customers.
We were in kuching during the holidays following the end of ramadam and every shop was closed, including rental car Offices and turist Offices. The turist desk in our hotel was useless, we wanted to make the mangrovia tour and renting a car.... And they were not able to arrange that!
So we ended up to go to lime hotel because of the review I've read about their service. We went to the reception and we expained to Julia our problem, that we wanted to rent a car, everything in the City was closed and the turist desk in our hotel was not able to find a car for us.
So she helped us to arrange the car renting .... Even with a very good price. Their customer service is outstanding.
Regarding the hotel itself, for what I've seen, it's very clean and modern, not very close to the center and the river, but closer than what i expected.
I regret i didn't find a room for staying in this hotel because i think it was the best hotel in kuching.
Thanks again Julia for helping us!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosellinarossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed 5 nights. They were so very helpful in setting up my excursions. They saved me a lot of money. The breakfast had a great variety and they were constantly refilling and picking up dirty plates. The suite had so much storage and the bathroom so wonderful

Room Tip: I definitely agree with the other recommendation to up grade your room. I ended up with a suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing