We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Location, Great breakfast, very Friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
166 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very good Location, Great breakfast, very Friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We Stayed at the lime tree Hotel for 3 Nights. Nothing to complain about. The Location is within walking distance of the City, the staff was veryhelpful and the room was in Good condition - maybe a Bit small.
Breakfast was a Big surprise for a hotel of this size. A large Selection and very tasty.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    437
    93
    11
    2
See reviews for
140
446
95
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The staff at the reception and in the restaurants was very nice. The room's furnishing wasn't the newest but it was nice and comfortable. Kettle was there, tea, instant coffee was refilled every day. The room was clean and the window was big which was very nice, especially since nobody could see through from the outside. The laundry service was not too cheap but quick and really good (they made every single piece - even boxershorts - into a small package).
Breakfast was very good with continental, british, asian/local - there was something for everybody.
We enjoyed a three-course dinner at the rooftop which was good. The table was decorated and the waiter was very nice.
The staff helped us book day trips and was always there to help.
Free computer/internet use in the lobby. The hotel is close to the centre.
We can definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there whenever we return to Kuching.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huaberseppfranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

A pleasant place to stay for my quick over night stay in Kuching. Easy walk to the very pleasant waterfront and lots of Restaurants. They gave me 2 complimentary drink vouchers for their bar which closed at 10pm - I got there at 9.45pm and they were shutting, but they made me a couple of drinks which I took to my room.
Room was fine, clean and had all the basics plus a very cool international plug socket on the wall - what a good idea!
They do have the annoying practice of wanting to debit your credit card for 50MYR or having you pay them 50MYR cash as a sort of bond - even though the room was paid for, but they did refund it back in the morning with no worries. Normally a credit card number is sufficient and I have been ripped off elsewhere. But it was all ok here.

Room Tip: Got their shuttle to the Airport for 25MYR
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiChChNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights, rooms are small but very clean. It's recommended for budget's travellers.
It is also located in a good area, which can easily short walks to the restaurants to find food and city. Well done

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottosbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The limeTree is a terrific small hotel in Kuching. Our room was very spacious with a view of the river, a desk, couch, armchair and king bed. It was very clean and we'll supplied with a fridge, safe and four bottles of water a day. It is located in an excellent are, a short walk to restaurants and the river promenade. The staff is friendly and helpful. They have a shuttle that will take you to various sights at a comparable cost of a cab (which by the way is about 12 Ringgit around town). They also have a rooftop lounge with nice views of the city. Stay there you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask for a large king room with a view. The gift shop is good and the prices are only slightly higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjrozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed 3 nights from 22nd March 2014. Arranged for pick up in advance from the airport at RM 25 for both of us. Stayed on the 4th floor, just adjacent to the lift entrance. No noise issues there. Some slight noise from the roadside traffic as our room was fronting the street but very tolerable.

Good location as food outlets and grocery stores nearby at the back street and convenient 15 mins walk to the Waterfront. The staff are very friendly. We got to know the owners, Mr and Mrs Tay and were cornered daily for a chat when we came down for breakfast :)-.

Have to get used to the overhead shower. Would have preferred a hand held one instead. Water pressure was good and very hot water delivered. Only complain by the missus was the tap at the sink as it had a knob which was difficult to rotate to get the water flowing. Hopefully management will look into this as old folks with arthritic hands and ladies may have difficulty with it. The air-con can be controlled and this was a plus point as wife does not like the temp too low
.
Breakfast spread is reasonable and one must try the Sarawak Laksa which is served daily. The lime theme is ubiquitous, from the welcome complementary lime drink to the lime soap and shower gel in the bathroom. Toothbrush and toothpaste are available on request. Better to take or buy your own as the toothpaste is very small and flavor quite bland. And yes the rooftop is a good place to have a drink or two. Will recommended this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jas1gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juno Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Very loud. We had room 315 & it sounded as if there were moto races outside of our window that went on past 1 AM.
Rooms are small but clean. Staff helpful & friendly. This is a VERY Kid-Friendly hotel. They're everywhere. Wifi is good. Breakfast was varied & plentiful.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarpie241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear sugarpie241,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at our hotel. Our team had the pleasure of serving you and we are glad to learn that our breakfast and free wi-fi internet access had met your expectations.

We would like to apologise for the discomfort experienced from the noise disturbance as mentioned; we later discovered that the window of your room was faulty, leaving a gap through which noise may pass through. We have since further enforced sound dampening for the said window and we will constantly observe this matter. I am glad to know that once our Front Desk had been notified of this issue, a room change was arranged immediately for your stay.

It is through feedback like yours that we can monitor our standards of service, discover areas to improve and understand our guests better. We thank you again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Property: The LimeTree Hotel
Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique, eco-conscious and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. Our highly motivated team are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience in Kuching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing