We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Speedy check in and check out. Friendly staffs. Room was huge with clean bathroom and adequate toiletries. Breakfast had good selection. Walking distance to popular Choon Choon Cafe for local food. They're famous for their Sarawak laksa and also three layer tea (not for those who don't like sweetness). There's also a seafood restaurant in front of the hotel. The hotel have a bar on the highest floor. View ain't great but still great place to have a drink and enjoy the breeze at night. Great location to explore the older part of Kuching. Will definitely recommend this hotel as well as stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for The LimeTree Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed four nights at The LimeTree hotel and were very satisfied with our stay. The hotel is very well located, within walking distance of many restaurants, sites and hawker centers. Our room was quite large and very clean, good AC and a refrigerator with four bottles of water restocked daily. A very abundant breakfast was included. There is a nice bar on the rooftop; visit it if you're in Kuching. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some reviews said that the rooms were a bit small, ours was large. It seems that you should request...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The Lime Tree hotel is ideally placed. it is within walking distance of the city and river front, just around the corner from some great food courts and restaurants and has a fabulous roof top terrace to retire to and relax with a cool drink later in the evening. They also served food.
Having spent the last month travelling around Malaysia we decided that the staff in the Lime Tree hotel could teach some much bigger and 'grander' hotels the meaning of service. They were impeccable, always there to assist and nothing was too much trouble. The little breakfast room served a really good buffet breakfast spread and it was great to see the chef constantly out checking that there was sufficient of everything for the customers.
Our room which was called an executive deluxe was large, comfortable and the bathroom had a great shower . Lime is a theme which runs right through the hotel right down to the shampoo and shower gels. The hotel airport shuttle was inexpensive and really efficient. It was lovely to come into arrivals and find them waiting for us with a name card.
Any minus's - well, we would have liked to see the room safe bolted down and there was more road noise than we would have liked but the hotel is on a quite busy junction so unvoidable without better insulation. We would definately stay again and recommend to anyone visiting Kuching.

Room Tip: We were in room 108 which was nice and large with an enormous bed and a great shower. It was however...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased - our room was small but clean and comfortable with thoughtful additions such as a universal plug socket. You have to swipe your room card to access your floor in the lift. There is free Wi-Fi too. There was a little traffic noise, due to the convenient location close to the old centre of the town.

Can't accuse them of not sticking to the theme - lime green decor, lime shower gel, fresh limes for sale, and complimentary lime juice drink on arrival!

Breakfast was a tasty and varied buffet, and the restaurant meals were nice. We went on the Bako tour booked through the hotel and were very pleased.

Above all, the staff were excellent - without exception they were always polite and eager to help.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank starmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We Stayed at the lime tree Hotel for 3 Nights. Nothing to complain about. The Location is within walking distance of the City, the staff was veryhelpful and the room was in Good condition - maybe a Bit small.
Breakfast was a Big surprise for a hotel of this size. A large Selection and very tasty.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The staff at the reception and in the restaurants was very nice. The room's furnishing wasn't the newest but it was nice and comfortable. Kettle was there, tea, instant coffee was refilled every day. The room was clean and the window was big which was very nice, especially since nobody could see through from the outside. The laundry service was not too cheap but quick and really good (they made every single piece - even boxershorts - into a small package).
Breakfast was very good with continental, british, asian/local - there was something for everybody.
We enjoyed a three-course dinner at the rooftop which was good. The table was decorated and the waiter was very nice.
The staff helped us book day trips and was always there to help.
Free computer/internet use in the lobby. The hotel is close to the centre.
We can definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there whenever we return to Kuching.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huaberseppfranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A pleasant place to stay for my quick over night stay in Kuching. Easy walk to the very pleasant waterfront and lots of Restaurants. They gave me 2 complimentary drink vouchers for their bar which closed at 10pm - I got there at 9.45pm and they were shutting, but they made me a couple of drinks which I took to my room.
Room was fine, clean and had all the basics plus a very cool international plug socket on the wall - what a good idea!
They do have the annoying practice of wanting to debit your credit card for 50MYR or having you pay them 50MYR cash as a sort of bond - even though the room was paid for, but they did refund it back in the morning with no worries. Normally a credit card number is sufficient and I have been ripped off elsewhere. But it was all ok here.

Room Tip: Got their shuttle to the Airport for 25MYR
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiChChNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in city centre of Kuching and adjacent to the charming new Chinatown Padungan area, this mid-range boutique hotel offers 42 rooms and 8 suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary hearty breakfast buffet, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. The property has only non-smoking rooms and provides designated smoking areas. As an independent, family-owned establishment, this is a unique, eco-conscious hotel with a passion for limes. It offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. Its LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails and refreshing drinks over stunning views of the Kuching city and river. Their dynamic and highly motivated staff and management are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience, and to "have the lime of their lives" in Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing