We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A greate stay - Great value, spotlessly clean, fantastic staff”
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I can only agree with the previous reviews - the Lime Tree offers really good value. The rooms are quite small but spotlessly clean, comfy and quiet. We had a standard room and an executive room - the main difference is the latter is slightly larger and has a bar fridge. I would suggest getting a room that has a window though because there are some located in the core of the building that don't have windows.


The staff were very helpful and friendly - they arranged taxis for us, gave us advice and directions and even arranged to get my friend's hiking shoe repaired! The staff offered the service and assistance that you'd expect from a top end hotel. Julie also arranged our transfers to and from the airport. The efficient and friendly drivers in the very new Lime Tree van were waiting for us when we arrived despite our plane being half an hour late.

The food in the cafe was lovely and fresh and the lobby and cafe were nice, cool areas to sit and relax. unfortunately, the rooftop bar is still not open.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for The LimeTree Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

836 - 842 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2009

My wife & I stayed at Lime Tree hotel for 3 nights early August 2009. We had a deluxe room at 160RMB ++. The hotel had very recently been remodelled; our room was very comfortable great king size bed ; though this did take up a large portion of the room ( room a little on the tight size though very adequate) bathroom also small ( as they are pretty much are everywhere in Asia; great shower however and no plumbing problems). Foyer area bright and breezy and breakfast included was good. Roof top bar not completed when we stayed I had a look however and it will be a very pleasant entertainment area. Just hope they dont have karoke nights. Hotel is only 10 minute walk to waterfront and Kuching centre; aroung hotel are some cheap eating & drinking spots. Staff were more thgan pleasant and helpful and free internet access available; we found this hotel good value, clean and quiet.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Buffalo530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This fresh, new hotel is wonderful - it's clean and bright with the friendliest, nicest staff in Asia. I also loved the little lime motifs everywhere and it should be even better when the bar on the top floor opens soon.

Not only was our stay wonderful but when we wanted to move hotel (just to be by the beach and cultural village for one night), Mr Boniface kindly organised it all for us, getting us a special rate and sorting out a HUGE room at really decent rate.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone - it's awesome (especially at this price) :D

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChocolateCheesecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

Was in Kuching for a short break to visit friends over the long weekend and decided to stay in a new hotel near Chinatown. I stayed at the Executive Suite, which had all the amenities of a luxurious hotel room, complete with bathrobes and slippers. It's a really good way to pamper yourself--the room was very quiet (perhaps because it wasn't peak season when I went) and I had really good sleep. The room came with complimentary breakfast, which I had a quick taste of before I was picked up by friends to go for my favourite food in Kuching--laksa! The breakfast was okay, and could do with better scrambled eggs (although most hotels I've stayed in in Malaysia don't seem to know how to make it) but nothing quite special about that. Still, it came with the room so I couldn't resist trying it.

I loved the fact that I was constantly connected to the internet (free wifi throughout the hotel) but that wasn't the only thing I liked about the hotel. From the jazzy piped music in the lobby to the tasteful decor (there are very subtle stencils of flowers and other designs on some walls), for some reason I felt an affinity with the theme of simplicity the hotel seemed to project. I think it's ideal for readers and writers, especially the latter who want to get away for a few days or weeks to work on their writing, away from the hustle and bustle of the city and every day life.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnKL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Wow.... Kuching is such a hot city. And I mean hot.... it was probably close to 40 degrees C (ok, maybe in high 30s... but it sure felt higher) when I was there with friends last month (July '09). Ok... more about the hotel.

Location is not far from the waterfront area where the Hilton hotel is and about a 4-5 minute walk to Sarawak Plaza. I would've given it a 5 for location if the sun wasn't so hot cos I had to walk the ~400meters to Sarawak Plaza a couple of times! But still, having Chinatown right behind the hotel is pretty sweet. Found a great coffee shop nearby that served some great Kolo Mee and the best part was drinking the ultra cheap beer! RM11 for 3 cans of Stella Artois, I kid you not! :)

I stayed for 3 nights in an Executive Deluxe room. The room was everything I would expect in a 4-5 star hotel except that it didn't have a bathtub. I think they only have bathtubs in the suites. Oh well. The shower was super though. 32" Flat screen TV, king bed, complimentary soft drinks in the fridge, kettle with coffee/tea, safe box, work desk and free wireless internet. The room itself was of decent size, as was the bathroom.

The lobby is surrounded by glass walls and pretty bright as a result. They play nice loungey music all day which is pretty cool (kinda reminds me of Naumi in Singapore). There is one restaurant next to the entrance (Cafe Sublime) where they serve breakfast and all other meals. Breakfast looked pretty good but I didn't really try it cos I preferred to go for the local food, which was usually the sarawak laksa at a nearby coffee shop called Chong Choon, if I'm not mistaken. Actually, they also served laksa for breakfast one of the days I was there and it turned out to be pretty yummy too. That was the only day I ate breakfast there.

I was told that there was going to be a rooftop lounge but it wasn't ready yet. What a shame as I would've loved to have a few drinks and stagger to bed just a few floors down. :)

While this place isn't a luxury boutique hotel, it sure is one of the best hotels I've stayed at in Kuching. There is that "homier" feeling that I don't get from those big branded hotels. Also, one of the best things about the hotel is that it is a non-smoking hotel! Non of that stale smoke smell anywhere. I'll definitely stay here again whenever I'm back in Kuching.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TezzMezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This bright new super clean little boutique hotel is great value for money and in close walking distance of the river esplanade and china town.

The Manager Kho and his staff were extremely obliging, friendly and helpful.

Chef Abang Abdul Rahman's signature dish 'Ikan Assam' costing $A5 is a gourmet treat.

We stayed 5 nights and would highly recommend The Lime Tree.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just return from Kuching for a 4 days working trip and stayed in this hotel for that duration. The hotel is owned by a retired civil servant. Since it is quite new so the room is clean and bright. The owner has a Lime plantation somewhere in Kuching so the theme color in the hotel obviously is green. The breakfast is so so but there again, the Kuching Laksa and Kolo mee are just round the corner. The China Town and Riverside is within short walking distance.

The owner can even give you a free ride to the airport if he happened to wants to visit his lime plantation. The couple and the daughter is always there to help you. Good place to stay if you are looking for clean, bright room with reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank encikkacang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Address: Lot 317 Jalan Abell, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £24 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in city centre of Kuching and adjacent to the charming new Chinatown Padungan area, this mid-range boutique hotel offers 42 rooms and 8 suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary hearty breakfast buffet, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. The property has only non-smoking rooms and provides designated smoking areas. As an independent, family-owned establishment, this is a unique, eco-conscious hotel with a passion for limes. It offers an exciting dining experience at its Cafe Sublime with local, international and vegetarian delights. Its LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serves signature lime cocktails and refreshing drinks over stunning views of the Kuching city and river. Their dynamic and highly motivated staff and management are eager to welcome all guests to enjoy a LimeTree experience, and to "have the lime of their lives" in Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing