We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but...”
Review of M Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
M Hotels
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I have bad experience when I tried to call this hotel to confirm my reservation. Due to work, I only able to check in 7-8pm. I tried to call the hotel when I reached Kuching to confirm my reservation however, I called more than 3 times, operators keep telling me reservation was engaged. This is ridiculous, how can a hotel reservation engage for most of the time? some more that is not peak season.

Overall that is a nice and new hotel.
Please do not have high expectation of breakfast.

Room Tip: Tower A is new compare to Tower B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yeejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

stay there for 1 night only. we do drive a vehicle prior checked in.
had a feeling that this hotel were lack of staff.
everything was slow , like if u need something or if u asked for something.
we had a 2 room apartment type. with kitchen and 2 bathroom.
refrigerator, microwave and even washing machine are available too.

got creepy when parking your car in the basement. cant find anyone and even other vehicle when we reach the lowest level of the basement hotel car park. maybe it was because of a dedicated parking level for hotel guest.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kartono_huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I've stayed in block A of the hotel. The room is clean and good condition, but breakfast is limited and simple. There are shopping center and supermarket at the ground floor. Decent for the price paid.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheap rate rooms as there aint windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesmondLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Overnight transit in Kuching and after reviewing all the facilities and got a good offer from agoda, decided to try it. The hotel is quite far from the airport as well as from regional bus terminal. One way trip to/from the airport or bus terminal costs MYR25. I book for an apartment type room and got a large bed room, a guest room separated from bed room and a complete kitchen with large fridge, gas stove, microwave and some utensils. The rate included complimentary breakfast and in-room cable internet. Swimming pool is on the 4th floor with nice looking view of Sarawak river. The hotel itself is attached on Hock Lee Shopping center where supermarkets, department store and restaurants available from 1st to 3rd floor. The only downside was the unavailability of room service and money changer. So if you were arriving late at night, prepare yourself to starve until breakfast :(

Room Tip: ask for room facing Sarawak river, 10th fl above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

What i like about this hotel is only one thing - the room! it is clean n nicely decorated. The bed is comfortable too. But i dont like the location. Very far from riverfront(town). There is no decent restaurant around the hotel at all! They hv in-house cafe but sadly it closes early during my stay (because of public hol) and i coundnt get my dinner. I have to take cab most of my meal time. They hv shuttle svc but unfortunately it is fully booked everytime i asked! Bad timing and they shud increase the shuttle svc. Not recommended for muslim at all! No halal restaurant around. Cab is rm13 one way to town and cost us rm26 to and fro everytime we went to get our meal at riverfront. such a waste! after counted our cab money, it is much cheaper if we stay in 5 stars hotel in front of riverfront because we can always walk anytime at all and dont cost a thing...regret that i chose this hotel...

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank Nauryns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Airport Pick-Up
The driver was so irresponsible. He was driving so fast as if he was in scene of Fast & Furious seriously disregarding the passengers' safety. Also texting and talking on the phone while driving! Then halfway beating the traffic jam he made a U-turn and went back to the airport without telling us. It left us puzzling what was going on. From the phone conversation he "left" some of the passengers at the airport. But he didn't pick up any! Took us almost an hour to reach the hotel. Waste lots of our time. Definitely didn't help to ease the 14hours flight.

Room.
Room was nice and well done. The deco was modern and clean and new. Bed was nice. Pillows were awesome. I snoozed immediately after landing my head. Toilet was wide and clean.

Buffet Breakfast.
Food was ok but not many choices. Mainly the local food.

Pool.
Clean.

Overall
Overall I'm not crazy about this hotel. The only thing is it's cheaper than the one in waterfront. But if you have transport i.e car rental you're fine but if you rely on your foot, better stay in the CBD.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MatRasul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I'm used to staying in global chains eg: Hilton, Sheraton, Marriott, Accord etc but decided to give this place a try, see-ing the 360Hotel brand is expanding very quickly.

Was very very pleased throughout my stay and the price further sweetens the deal ! Used their airport transfer which was less than a pound for the 10km journey. Driver was knowledgeable and friendly.

Check in was a breeze, and the rooms were indeed fantastic ! This is my 3rd visit to Kuching, and have to say this is by far the best compared to Hilton (old, dirty) or Pullman (new but soft bed). The 360 in comparison was comfortable and carpets were steam cleaned (delayed me going in by 15 minutes) but that was no matter since I spent the time in the connected shopping complex.

All the facilities are within 4-star standards including a 24hour gym (small, but i was there for 2 hours and nobody else came in). Noticed renovation works going on and was told a new restaurant, spa and "Sky Lounge" was being added.

I was expecting a budget hotel since I paid about 20GBP for the night. How mistaken I was ! Rooms come with free internet, satellite television, good bfast, gym facilities and a superb view of the city.

Can't recommend this hotel enough. Huge 4 star rooms, Friendly & honest staff (left my wallet in the gym, but was promptly returned), free underground parking, shopping complex and just a 2 minute taxi ride to the city / or Borneo Convention Center. Will certainly be returning and hope to try out the new wing !

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wantan7671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.0 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
1.0 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.0 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotels

Address: Jalan Datuk Abang Abdul Rahim | Hock Lee Centre Hotel Tower, Kuching 93450, Malaysia (Formerly 360 Hotel Urban Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £23 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — M Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M Hotels Hock Lee Center located within 5 minutes distance from Kuching's Central Business District and offer the choice Two Towers namely Tower A and Tower B. The Tower A comprises 178 hotel rooms and suites while the Tower B offers 95 rooms and apartments and both tower offering the business and leisure traveler's sheer comfort while visiting the Capital city of Sarawak. Hotel facilities in the hotel include an expanded coffeehouse ( Horizon Cafe), 3 Mid size seminar rooms with seating capacity of 50 to 100 persons and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your M Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing