We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the hassle”
Review of M Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
M Hotels
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I had to travel to Kuching for the first time and chose 360 due to its relative "proximity" to the venue i was due to be at. Impressions from the internet painted a very rosy picture whereby the hotel was adjacent to a shopping centre and regular shuttles to and from the airport and the city centre.

First impression when i arrived at the hotel was that it had a decent reception area, modest but clean and modern. I had booked my stay with laterooms.com and a call prior to arrival showed that they could not find my booking, the friendly reservations officer re-booked me in. Mysteriously by the time i got to the hotel they had found my booking and off i went.

The 2 lifts that services the hotel are swipe card activated but are otherwise very old and quite scary to ride in with rickety noises not uncommon! They both also have a habit of closing quite fast on you...*warning* if you are carrying up your own bags like i did.

The room is a good size, but appears quite worn out. The bedding is clean and comfortable though so no complaints there and they have an opt-in/out system whereby you can choose not to have your linen changed on a daily basis for environmental reasons.

The toilet is small and basic. Basic amenities are provided and you can get a razor and toothbrush from housekeeping if you left yours at home.

There is free wired internet provided which serves the purpose if you have to check the odd email or two but not if you are depending on a reliable service for most of your stay.

As my stay was close to the Chinese New Year period, the hotel blared chinese new year songs throughout their PA system from about 8am in the morning til about 5pm. Not really conducive for doing work! I had an issue with the adjacent room occupants who were talking really loudly with their door open til about midnight on more than one night. A swift call to reception dispatched the security guard to quieten them down but they didn't give up until much later, probably due to thirst. I did appreciate the receptionist calling up to check that the noise level was better and even offered a change of rooms.

The shopping centre next door is very old and does not have very many facilities, i.e. did not have a money changer. It does however have a supermarket where you can get some supplies.

The neighbourhood surrounding the hotel is very quiet and dark. Not a good idea to be roaming around alone at night here. This is okay because there is nothing within reasonable walking distance to the hotel apart from the "shopping centre". Taxis are essential but tend to fleece customers for even the shortest of distances. I tried the city shuttle once but the return journey did not happen even after waiting more than half an hour at the pick-up point, no apology offered.

Overall, a very average stay at a below average to average hotel. The staff deserve a commendation though!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thesolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

We know the background of this hotel as it used to be a service apartment then turning into a hotel, that's why there are only 2 lifts. However, they're renovating the one next door into a better hotel with 4 lifts. With this thought in mind, you won't mind the lift to be that factor which would spoil your fun but you may also appreciate that this hotel offers everything which a 5-star would also offer. Restaurant, gym, swimming pool and easy access to shopping area next door are all within the benefits of this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Stayed here recently in 2 of their Family Rooms (there were 9 of us all together).
The Hotel is a 5minute drive away from the city centre but well worth it. Beautiful, clean , large rooms. ( 3 bathrooms!).
Reception staff spoke excellent English and were always helpful and friendly.
Lovely view from the breakfast restaurant.
Only complaint, the lifts were very slow!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcpearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I was there as part of a conference delegate, stayed for around a week. The hotel is a little far from the main city but it is ok as taxi charges are reasonable and I was at the conference centre most of the time. The rooms were quite enormous and well maintained, nice bedding, good sleep, flat screen tv - overall it as quite comfortable with the price that was charged. Internet is also available from the room. The only problem seemed to be use of room keys for use of lifts which did not work at times. Breakfast was also alright. Overall definitely recommended to stay for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baazi_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

A nice new hotel when we stayed there last year - it had degenerated from lack of care, discipline, and attention to quite an uncomfortable place. Not worth saving your money to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiginHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Perhaps this hotel is trying to market itself as a budget hotel for business travelers.

My partner and I had to stay here during the Rainforest Festival as most hotels were full. We had to pay more than what we had usually done during our travel around Asia.

The room and its view was worth the value. The room was very spacious, clean and the bedding extremely comfortable. We especially like the sitting area facing the full glass windows where we caught an excellent view of the city as lights come on when dusk falls. The staff were polite and pronto in fixing a leaking tap problem we had.

But it is indeed far away from town, and public transport information was not readily available.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itchytoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed at the 360 hotel having booked 15 rooms in total. After many emails we managed to get the rooms required, although we had to send copies of our credit cards via email, something that I have never encountered anywhere else and despite my protests about the risks, it was send the copies or don't book the rooms, we took the later option and took the rooms. Hotel is a little way out of the main part of town, but easily accessible by cheap cab rides and a decent walk if you were inclined, nothing to worry about, location was fine. Reception area is smallish and the 2 lifts are a little slow if it is busy, but the apartment rooms are of a decent size, quite big really and they had kitchen facilities in the rooms if required. All in all a really decent place to stay at good prices, highly recommended if traveling to Kuching.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodshevvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
265 reviews
1 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#13 of 55 in Kuching
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1 mi away
360 Xpress Citycenter Kuching
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Hotels

Address: Jalan Datuk Abang Abdul Rahim | Hock Lee Centre Hotel Tower, Kuching 93450, Malaysia (Formerly 360 Hotel Urban Resort)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £25 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — M Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 273
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M Hotels Hock Lee Center located within 5 minutes distance from Kuching's Central Business District and offer the choice Two Towers namely Tower A and Tower B. The Tower A comprises 178 hotel rooms and suites while the Tower B offers 95 rooms and apartments and both tower offering the business and leisure traveler's sheer comfort while visiting the Capital city of Sarawak. Hotel facilities in the hotel include an expanded coffeehouse ( Horizon Cafe), 3 Mid size seminar rooms with seating capacity of 50 to 100 persons and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your M Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing