We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Jambu Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #79 of 608 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: US$0 - US$7
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: JAMBU is a unique boutique restaurant housed in a "Rajah Brooke" era bungalow (1930's)surrounded by lush green gardens, ambient lighting, water features and our own private car parking area.Our menu focuses on "Modern Borneo Cuisine" - the flavours of Sarawak with a European twist and feel. We also offer an enticing selection of Tapas - both Spanish and Local Borneo.
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great bar staff, great meals, and subscribed to show the Ashes on very short notice!! All staff were willing to go out of their way for customers, will definitely be back next time i'm in Malaysia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lach_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Everyone at Jambu says "HI" to you both.
Thanks for the great review - much appreciated.
Not too sure how the 3rd test will go - starting today.... i hope that "Aussie" can come back and make it a good test series for you.
All the best from Jambu and many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

Based on favorable TA reviews we visited he Jambu Restaurant and came away wholly pleased. A ten minute taxi ride took us from the hotel to the restaurant, housed in a classic villa from the 1930's. Owned and operated by a couple of Brits, Jambu's interior is rather classy, tables are decked out with table clothes, linen napkins, and the walls are decorated with art works and a collection of posters, and the whole place is spotless. Above all though, the food served was delicious and reasonably priced for what was offered, particularly when compared to in-hotel restaurants.

For us the visit at Jambu was the best and nicest dining experience we enjoyed in Kuching. Should we return to Kuching, we will only have dinner at Jambu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Hi, this is a fantastic review, thank you so much - so happy that you enjoyed Jambu, our food and our hospitality - thank you again for your welcomed review.
You will be glad to hear that we have just finished our renovation extension and our "new" dining experience is open. It is located where our old outdoor terrace used to be.
We have combined the bar and restaurant together - giving a great new atmosphere to the place. Fully air-conditioned and smoke free. We can now seat around 20 people at the bar and 40 people plus at the dining area.
By the end of 2013, we hope to have the 5 boutique guest rooms ready and also the much awaited Terrace that will house the "Wood Fired Oven Pizza's. Can't wait for it....
Happy traveling and sincere thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I dinned here twice on our recent trip to Kuching. It’s about 5 mins outside of Kuching and is set in what appears to be an old colonial building. Food was excellent and the restaurant had a informal cosy atmosphere. The bar downstairs was very welcoming and the hosts Chris and his wife were very friendly and chatty - especially when we discovered we were born within a couple of miles of each other back in the UK.

Will definitely visit again the next time we are in Kuching

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Hi and thanks for your review.
Hope it not too cold back in London..... get that central heating on full blast.
All the best and look forward to seeing you in Kuching in the future.
We may have guest rooms available towards the end of 2013 and new renovation changes for the bar and restaurant areas starting soon.
Thanks again for your kind review - much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stopped by for a quick bite and ended up staying for a couple of hours chatting with the owner, Chris and his wife, Ashfa. They were friendly and gave us some great ideas of places to go while in Kuching.

The food was nice and the tapas options were a good size and very tasty. I highly recommend stopping by for a meal and some drinks while you are in the city!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Newfie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thanks for taking time to write this kind review. Hope you both had a great trip in Kuching. All the best for 2013.... Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I was visiting my cousin in Kuching and he took me to this place for a drink in the evening.

The place has a life of its own. I have to give it to them for the ambiance. I have not eaten in a more peaceful, chic and yet classy surroundings in Malaysia. The wood work and lots of greens please your eyes, just as their food does. More so, it takes you down the road to the early part of the early bars.

Very conveniently located in the heart of the city, this should not be easy to miss. I am also told that they have been serving a faithful band of customers down the years, for a long time.

They have a brilliant collection of artistic pieces and posters - something a fan of art like me would like to keep coming back for.

Here's to more of Jambu in the coming days. A thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dhillon_Hanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review, much appreciated.
Yes, we do have a good following from our regular patrons and we like to keep surprising them with new additions and flavours. We also like to ensure that our our patrons know one another and then they can pop in anytime and meet up.
Christmas and New Year's was absolutely fantastic and we all had a great time.
2013 is here and we are looking to extend the bar area and make it much larger so we then have plenty of bar top seating space - hopefully by end February......
Once again, kind regards and thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jambu Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Jambu Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing