We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy surprise”

Jambu Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #64 of 567 Restaurants in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$7
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: JAMBU is a unique boutique restaurant housed in a "Rajah Brooke" era bungalow (1930's)surrounded by lush green gardens, ambient lighting, water features and our own private car parking area.Our menu focuses on "Modern Borneo Cuisine" - the flavours of Sarawak with a European twist and feel. We also offer an enticing selection of Tapas - both Spanish and Local Borneo.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Very happy surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Jambu has everything to offer. The place itself is warm and inviting, the staff are friendly and attentive, the food was amazing, and the drinks cold and cocktails delicious. Everyone in there were happy and chatting giving it a real "local" feeling. Amazing night was had by all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Sama Sama (same same to you) and it was a lovely surprise and an honour to have you as guests at Jambu.
Jambu is not only about great food, drinks, service and style....it is also about the guests and regulars that make Jambu, Jambu.
Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant and bar for all the right reasons - excellent food/cocktails and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Walking into Jambu was like entering your favourite home town restaurant or bar. Immediately restauranteurs Chris and Ash's welcome makes you feel like a local and before you know it you're chatting to really interesting people who are regulars and visitors and all are there because the food is really good - tapas menu startlingly delicious - and the service exemplary. We wanted to bottle it all and take it home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJLenahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
What a lovely review - so happy that you enjoyed Jambu. Reviews like yours makes us try even harder to provide fantastic service, quality food and an environment that people will love.
We have just installed a new Electronic POS system that will make our service and team that little bit faster and more efficient.
......And a much awaited pool table for customers to enjoy.....

Happy days from Jambu....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A wonderful team of people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

After traveling South East Asia for four months, i came across Jambu as they were showing the Ashes cricket. What I found was a really fantastic team of people who made me feel incredibly welcome. The food was excellent, the beer served in frozen glasses, and I was even invited to play football with the staff the following night. Massive thanks to Chris, Ash and their team, for making my stay in Kuching truly memorable. Wonderful people!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James_oc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review - makes our team feel so proud. All the team says Hi to you.
Hope you have a great trip traveling and maybe you find another "Jambu" on your journey.
Looking forward to the final match (Cricket Test Series) starting on Wednesday and enjoying the opening games of the EPL.
Once again, thanks so much for your kind words and you are welcome back anytime.
Happy traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great bar staff, great meals, and subscribed to show the Ashes on very short notice!! All staff were willing to go out of their way for customers, will definitely be back next time i'm in Malaysia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lach_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Everyone at Jambu says "HI" to you both.
Thanks for the great review - much appreciated.
Not too sure how the 3rd test will go - starting today.... i hope that "Aussie" can come back and make it a good test series for you.
All the best from Jambu and many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Kuching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Based on favorable TA reviews we visited he Jambu Restaurant and came away wholly pleased. A ten minute taxi ride took us from the hotel to the restaurant, housed in a classic villa from the 1930's. Owned and operated by a couple of Brits, Jambu's interior is rather classy, tables are decked out with table clothes, linen napkins, and the walls are decorated with art works and a collection of posters, and the whole place is spotless. Above all though, the food served was delicious and reasonably priced for what was offered, particularly when compared to in-hotel restaurants.

For us the visit at Jambu was the best and nicest dining experience we enjoyed in Kuching. Should we return to Kuching, we will only have dinner at Jambu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borneosarawak, Owner at Jambu Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi, this is a fantastic review, thank you so much - so happy that you enjoyed Jambu, our food and our hospitality - thank you again for your welcomed review.
You will be glad to hear that we have just finished our renovation extension and our "new" dining experience is open. It is located where our old outdoor terrace used to be.
We have combined the bar and restaurant together - giving a great new atmosphere to the place. Fully air-conditioned and smoke free. We can now seat around 20 people at the bar and 40 people plus at the dining area.
By the end of 2013, we hope to have the 5 boutique guest rooms ready and also the much awaited Terrace that will house the "Wood Fired Oven Pizza's. Can't wait for it....
Happy traveling and sincere thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jambu Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Jambu Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing