We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why pay for 5 stars hotels while Basaga has it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

we have checked in on 9th of May for 2 days and again on 15th of May for 1 night. the hotel is an old classic house with lots of money spent to make it look this great! dark blak oak wood every where gives it this authentic look, very very nice garden at the entrance that gives you great first impression, super fast check in and check out procedures, lovely staff at the reception that they go out of the way to help you every time you approch them, we checked in at room No. 18 which is very specious and very comfortable, all rooms are air conditioned and very clean, you can tell they have heaviley invested in the furniture of the room, the wood, the flat Sharp wall mount 32 inch TV, I would recomend that you request for verendar room as it gives you more privecy than the other rooms, if possible try to have one of the corner rooms for more privecy (room 18 recommended). the breakfast is not always a buffett and lacks variaty, but quality is good. the resturant is very nice and you should try to dine there at least once, do not miss the cheese mussles, the prawn rice and most importantly the boneless chicken, the taste is very good and I have aslo been told by one of the locals that it is one of the prefferred choice for locals for fine dining in kouching. the hotel is not very well located, somewhat far from the city center and you will not be able to walk the distance, transportation options are limited as you can rarely find a taxi passing by and you will have to book once through the reception which is not very cheap option, alternatively you can walk out side the hotel to the right till the first intersection and then take left, from there wait at the bus stop and take bus No 8, it will cost you only 1 MYR per person to get to the center but you will have to wait for too long (could be up to 30 min) for the bus. other option that you can hier from the hotel a bicyle or motor bike at a very competitve price. they can even arrange for car rental and your tours (take a long house stay it is rewarding, 2 nights should be perfect), you can also book through them to see the fairly caves and windy caves however it will be way cheaper to do it on your own.
very quite and romantic place with great value for money. on the down side all rooms are non smoking (no choice for smokers but to smoke out side, however it helps you reduce your smoking), very limited number of channels on the TV but we have been told that it is due to some repair they are doing, no Tel in the room, the reception is not 24 hours, their shift ends at midnight, service at the resturant is a bit slow and staff are not always freindly. swimming pool is somewhat small but a great option, water is cool and nice and you should try it. all rooms has free fast wifi and you can use the computer at the lobby if you do not have your laptop on you.

they were so kind to keep our luggate @ the storing area while we went for 4 days stay at a long house in Batang Ai, they have accpeted our very late check out at 6 pm as we had a late evening flight (without any charges) and the hotel manager her self(who is a very proffesional, educated and lovely person) escorted us to our cab and stayed there waiving us goodby till we were gone, we were touched!

We have traveled more than 20 countires so far, and stayed at various range hotels from fancy resorts to home stays, motels and guest houses, and this is beyond any doubt one of the best! we loved it and felt like home although we have been there for a very short stay. we recommend it highly!

Room Tip: recomend that you request for verendar room.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Basaga Holiday Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 366 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at the Basaga Holiday Residences for 2 nights at the beginning of our Borneo Holiday. Although it is a fair way out from the city centre it is a great place to stay, clean, with a swimming pool, good air conditioning with a decent restaurant & bar. A taxi into town is really cheap yet you feel like you are in your own tropical paradise The Roti Canai for breakfast was awesome. Great value for money, good service, nice big rooms. There were 5 of us so reception had to order us a van taxi, we then hired the driver for a half day to take us to a wildlife park and it was really cheap.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank bonniem747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We have just returned from our trip around Borneo and highly recommend this place.It is so clean,has friendly staff,comfortable beds witha/c,good room service and a great restaurant frequented by locals not to mention a swimming pool and all at a good price.We felt the 20 min walk/5 min taxi journey as a bonus allowing us to refresh after the hustle and bustle of the city.The reception staff are great at calling taxis,recommending tour guides etc and can advise on costings beforehand .I would advise having their full address and a phone number to hand as some taxi drivers at the airport are unsure of where they are located.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We had great trip over in Kuching and around Borneo. Kuching is a wonderful Town with interesting history.

We stayed in Basaga Residences which is only 2Km away from the heart of the town. It is wonderful place to stay accepting there are some lack of coordination among hotel management. People are lovely but I doubt whether they ever worked in any hotel or restaurant. They need a good professional supervisor who will pull up everything in proper standard and make service a bit better. Rooms are quite OK but you may find something is not working like lights, broken towel rails and so on. They need a good house keeping person who will check everything and make sure everything is available and nothing is broken or missing. In the restaruant, if you sit with family, you order food and than food does not appear than you have to remind them because by time time they reach kitchen they forget to place the order. They really need few good people and good manager with experiance of hotel management.

In general People are very nice & polite and also helpful but possibly staff are bit direction less. I still recommend this hotel because it is a old building with history behind.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We called Basaga at the elevent hour; the night before flying off to Kuching. A staff by the name Sylvia was kind enough to help us with the bookings. There were no itiial payment requested and all they need was our name and dates of stay. The hotel was only 10 minutes drive from the Airport. You can take the cab from the airport which cost RM26 (for 4 passengers) if you have more than 4 passengers, you can upgrade to the Executive Cab which cost another RM17 extra. If you wish to drive around Kuching, you can rent a car at the airport itself which will cost approximately RM135 per day with the deposit of RM500 (returnable upon car delivery) We got ourselves an adjoining family room (A room by the courtyard and another in front of the pool) The rooms are clean and for the courtyard room, there's an outdoor shower. We were allowed to check in at 9 in the morning itself. Another staff by the name of Zian was kind enough to help us with our luggages and she even took the time to explain to us which places of interest suits us best. Basaga is only a walking distant to the Waterfront - 20 mins walk. The hotel is quite happening during the evenings as they have a bar and restaurant. The food are good and doesn't cost that much. They have Western dish as well as local favourites. We stayed in Basaga for 3 nights and would definitely recommend to our friends and stay in the same hotel for our next visit. Thanks to Sylvia, Zian and Mildred for making the stay at the hotel a memorable one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharmine8507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My husband and I and another couple stayed here during our 5-day visit to Kuching. In planning the trip we had excellent help and advice from Mildred via email. From being met at the airport, to help with restaurants, taxis, etc. everyone was most gracious. We spent two nights at Basaga, went to a longhouse one night, Bako National Park the next night, then returned to Basaga. Not only were we able to store our luggage during our excursions, but we were supplied a room at no charge in which to freshen up between excursions!

We had the rooms with the outdoor showers which were pleasant and spacious and away from any bar/restaurant noise. Breakfasts were fine and the meal we ate in the restaurant one night was very good. The bartenders were helpful to the point of keeping our own bottle of wine chilled for us!

We truly enjoyed Kuching, wandering the waterfront, visiting mosque and temples, exploring neighborhoods. Everybody was friendly and accommodating. We loved seeing the orangutans at Semmengoh, hiking through the jungle and getting a taste of longhouse life at Annah Rais, and watching families of monkeys at Bako National Park.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandering5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The service of the hotel was nothing fantastic, it was what was to be expected of a hotel although I do commend Brandon who was the airport pick-up service. Bathrooms and rooms are clean, but don't expect too much in the bath - it's all very basic. The rooms are simply furnished, clean and airy. What I didn't like were the wooden floors even on the outside corridors. Now if you're a light sleeper, you're not going to be very happy with the sounds of heels or track-boots, especially in the wee-hours of the morning.

I don't know about now but when I was there (actually in December 2009 - only manage to do this review now) - the breakfast offered was very basic and disappointing. Even if Basaga is near the shops, it would be great if a hearty breakfast is offered in case the guest doesn't feel too good and want to eat in for breakfast.

I have to commend the selection of dinner dishes - and the place comes alive at dinner time. Other than that, the location requires that you call a taxi every time you want to go out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerlily5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing