We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“totally in luv”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“totally in luv”
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Simply beautiful and cozy old mansion convert to small city resort. Can feel the hospitality touch- Im a hotelier so my expectation is higher but Basaga proved it to me!!!

Love the wooden long chair with colorful pillows...relaxing nite at the bar and the foods presentation i can tell much much better than what my resort offer. Staff is frenly but its good to get the reception girls in full of uniform.Simple swimming pool with salty water and I can swim 24/7. This is what I want...

The only thing, taxi cost us a lot...but for sure in future i will come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nengsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    159
    37
    9
    2
See reviews for
98
175
74
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Our family of four (kids ages 8 and 6) stayed here for four nights in late May/early June, and we had a blast. Basaga is an awesome place with a lot of character, beauty and tranquility, extremely friendly and competent service and convenient access to the city of Kuching, which is only 7 minutes away by taxi. We stayed in connecting rooms, which was perfect for our family. Our room had a queen bed and a small private courtyard. The kids' room had two twin beds and opened right out to the pool. This is a great place to use as a base station for exploring Kuching and the surrounding region, which has so much to offer. It's the perfect place to unwind after a busy day of touring, hiking, boating, etc. We would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank China_Guy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at the Bagasa from March 30th to April 4th 2011 at the start of our holiday, and were very happy with our choice. We were so happy that we returned to spend our final 5 days there of our 3 week trip to Borneo.Total stay of 10 nights. The staff were excellent in every way.Friendly, helpfull and cheerful all the time. The rooms were very spacious and clean.The large bed (superking) was very comfortable.(The most comfortable we had in the whole 3 weeks) The food was good and was reasonably priced. There have been previous comments regarding the distance from town. We thought it was perfect. It was approximately a 30 min stroll to the waterfront or 12 myrs by taxi. There was a bus service from the Bus station to within 100 yards which cost 3myrs(No 8 bus)From the first day to the last we were made to feel special and welcome. We cant wait to return. Thank you to all at Basaga for everything. It was truly "our home from home".

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigaljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Rooms, garden and swimming pool are great for the value.
The restaurant and bar is open til late, food (local and western) is decent and affordable.
Still I think it is a little bit far away from Kuching center.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asia_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

we have checked in on 9th of May for 2 days and again on 15th of May for 1 night. the hotel is an old classic house with lots of money spent to make it look this great! dark blak oak wood every where gives it this authentic look, very very nice garden at the entrance that gives you great first impression, super fast check in and check out procedures, lovely staff at the reception that they go out of the way to help you every time you approch them, we checked in at room No. 18 which is very specious and very comfortable, all rooms are air conditioned and very clean, you can tell they have heaviley invested in the furniture of the room, the wood, the flat Sharp wall mount 32 inch TV, I would recomend that you request for verendar room as it gives you more privecy than the other rooms, if possible try to have one of the corner rooms for more privecy (room 18 recommended). the breakfast is not always a buffett and lacks variaty, but quality is good. the resturant is very nice and you should try to dine there at least once, do not miss the cheese mussles, the prawn rice and most importantly the boneless chicken, the taste is very good and I have aslo been told by one of the locals that it is one of the prefferred choice for locals for fine dining in kouching. the hotel is not very well located, somewhat far from the city center and you will not be able to walk the distance, transportation options are limited as you can rarely find a taxi passing by and you will have to book once through the reception which is not very cheap option, alternatively you can walk out side the hotel to the right till the first intersection and then take left, from there wait at the bus stop and take bus No 8, it will cost you only 1 MYR per person to get to the center but you will have to wait for too long (could be up to 30 min) for the bus. other option that you can hier from the hotel a bicyle or motor bike at a very competitve price. they can even arrange for car rental and your tours (take a long house stay it is rewarding, 2 nights should be perfect), you can also book through them to see the fairly caves and windy caves however it will be way cheaper to do it on your own.
very quite and romantic place with great value for money. on the down side all rooms are non smoking (no choice for smokers but to smoke out side, however it helps you reduce your smoking), very limited number of channels on the TV but we have been told that it is due to some repair they are doing, no Tel in the room, the reception is not 24 hours, their shift ends at midnight, service at the resturant is a bit slow and staff are not always freindly. swimming pool is somewhat small but a great option, water is cool and nice and you should try it. all rooms has free fast wifi and you can use the computer at the lobby if you do not have your laptop on you.

they were so kind to keep our luggate @ the storing area while we went for 4 days stay at a long house in Batang Ai, they have accpeted our very late check out at 6 pm as we had a late evening flight (without any charges) and the hotel manager her self(who is a very proffesional, educated and lovely person) escorted us to our cab and stayed there waiving us goodby till we were gone, we were touched!

We have traveled more than 20 countires so far, and stayed at various range hotels from fancy resorts to home stays, motels and guest houses, and this is beyond any doubt one of the best! we loved it and felt like home although we have been there for a very short stay. we recommend it highly!

Room Tip: recomend that you request for verendar room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samoline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed at the Basaga Holiday Residences for 2 nights at the beginning of our Borneo Holiday. Although it is a fair way out from the city centre it is a great place to stay, clean, with a swimming pool, good air conditioning with a decent restaurant & bar. A taxi into town is really cheap yet you feel like you are in your own tropical paradise The Roti Canai for breakfast was awesome. Great value for money, good service, nice big rooms. There were 5 of us so reception had to order us a van taxi, we then hired the driver for a half day to take us to a wildlife park and it was really cheap.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bonniem747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We have just returned from our trip around Borneo and highly recommend this place.It is so clean,has friendly staff,comfortable beds witha/c,good room service and a great restaurant frequented by locals not to mention a swimming pool and all at a good price.We felt the 20 min walk/5 min taxi journey as a bonus allowing us to refresh after the hustle and bustle of the city.The reception staff are great at calling taxis,recommending tour guides etc and can advise on costings beforehand .I would advise having their full address and a phone number to hand as some taxi drivers at the airport are unsure of where they are located.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.0 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Property: Basaga Holiday Residences
Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing