We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basaga Holiday Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We loved our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We loved our stay it is such a welcoming place to stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It felt like a home from the minute we arrived. There is a free shuttle from the hotel which is great and you can plan all your tours with them. Brandon helped us plan our tours at a good price, his English is great so it is easy to communicate. Our room (looked out on the pool) was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The Restaurant is great and a nice place to sit and relax on an evening.
Thank you Brandon for making our holiday such a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    158
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
97
172
73
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This small hotel is set in beautiful peaceful surroundings yet close to the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. I particularly loved my room which had its own private courtyard. It was clean and comfortable. Food is excellent and don't leave without trying Brandon's Special Cocktail ;) I will always stay here whenever I visit Kuching.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglejenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here before and after a two week long volunteer and trekking project and found it amazing in every way. Rooms clean and comfortable / staff friendly and efficient / food good / trips available and well organised - what more can I say. Would recommend it to anyone spending time in Kuching or needing a base to travel to and from. If I visit Borneo again I will definitely stay at Basaga. Thanks to all the staff and especially Brandon - who organised transfers, trips and even has a cocktail named after him - which was very nice too!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms very nice as straight onto pool!!!! Verandah rooms also had three beds so something t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby8464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
199 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We, 2 families with 2 younger kids each, spend 2 nights at Basaga Holiday Residence.
We had a family room each, which accomodates 4 pax easily in two rooms with a door, that you can shut. Rooms were nice and clean with enough space.
We also enjoyed
- the clean pool to cool down
- the complimentary breakfast with enough choices
- the yummy drinks
- the lovely food which we had for lunch and dinner
- and the orang-utan and crocodile tour with Brandon, who is a very enganged and helpful guide.
Basaga is a bit outside of the city center, but they have a free shuttle bus to town twice a day.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and can definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine-for-four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart Town, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed there for four nights and we felt like we had our own slice of paradise. First floor verandah room overlooking the pool, just the spot in the afternoon breeze. Excellent cocktails and drinks, food superb especially the buttered prawns= ate there nearly night. The rooms are great and the complimentary breakfast was tasty and a top way to start the day. The Manager Brendon Lim was the best host and could not do enough for us, organising things to do and getting us there and a more personable man you could not find. His staff maintained a clean, well run accomodation and we would highly recommend this place to any future visitors to Kuching.

Room Tip: Provided a few stairs are not an issue book a First floor room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and was our favourite hotel of our whole trip. Very helpful, friendly staff constantly cleaning! Simple but nice rooms. The best part was the lovely restaurant and relaxing outdoor seating. Although not far from busy road, felt like a small oasis away from everything. Great value and the tours were informative and very easy to book. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Really good spot - easy walk into town just beware of crazy dogs though - beds very comfortable - breakfast simple but good - rooms clean - pool area great! One downside pipe noise when they clean pool area in morning but think it was just our room and theu stopped it soon as we raised the problem - stay here :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah Jade F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Property: Basaga Holiday Residences
Address: lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing