We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE <3”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“LOVE <3”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed in Basaga for 5 days during a recent trip with friends and it was in itself one of the highlights of our trip. From the moment Brandon picked us up at the airport, we knew we were in the right hands. The place is beautiful, the rooms were beautiful, the food is amazing but more importantly the STAFF ARE AMAZING, especially Brandon. Brandon on his own made our stay in Kuching memorable and helped us plan our activities (we rented scooters, went kayaking, orangutan sanctuary, massages, amazing seafood dinners etc.). He gave us all the inside info and help we needed to truly experience Kuching.

And even though we had to move rooms a few times because of unavailability, I would still NEVER consider staying anywhere else in Kuching. WORTH IT. Love this place.

Thanks for making our trip so memorable!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms overlooking the pool were our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    159
    37
    9
    2
See reviews for
98
175
74
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in kuching. We found it exceptional value for money with a lovely menu. Taxis are very cheep and the staff are happy to call one to take you where you want to go. They also have good infomation in their reception about activities and staff are willing to help. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwifamilyunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed here for three separate nights as part of an organised tour and couldn’t be happier.
A 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and a 5 minute ride from the main section of waterfront in Kuching, the Basaga is a peaceful break from town.
Staff are friendly and the manager and his team go out of their way to ensure you have a good stay and take providing good customer service seriously. Bear in mind however you are in Malaysia, so sometimes the wait time at the bar can be a bit slower than at home but that’s just how it is. No one means any offence by it and if you’re on holiday then just relax and enjoy the wait!
There is a small pool with a handful of comfy sun loungers to relax on and a large covered outdoor bar/restaurant area to relax over a cocktail or cool beer. There is also a restaurant on site serving a mixture of Asian and Western foods. I ate dinner here once and it was lovely. Breakfast each day has a choice of eggs, French toast or pancakes served with massive baked beans and amazing potato wedges. A great start to the day!
There is wifi in the hotel but depending where your room is will depend if you get signal. I had it in one of the three rooms I stayed in but if I was desperate to check an email I only had to go and sit in the bar, or use one of the 2 computers in reception. The rooms are basic but clean with a range of twins, double and family rooms. Some open up onto the pool area with others on the first floor. We had three good night’s sleep with no noise disturbing us from other guests. There is also air con to keep you cool if you need it, a bottle of water put in the room each day, and a fridge to keep it all in.
If you are looking for a relaxing, friendly place to stay then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We loved our stay it is such a welcoming place to stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful. It felt like a home from the minute we arrived. There is a free shuttle from the hotel which is great and you can plan all your tours with them. Brandon helped us plan our tours at a good price, his English is great so it is easy to communicate. Our room (looked out on the pool) was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The Restaurant is great and a nice place to sit and relax on an evening.
Thank you Brandon for making our holiday such a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jankk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This small hotel is set in beautiful peaceful surroundings yet close to the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. I particularly loved my room which had its own private courtyard. It was clean and comfortable. Food is excellent and don't leave without trying Brandon's Special Cocktail ;) I will always stay here whenever I visit Kuching.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junglejenny2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here before and after a two week long volunteer and trekking project and found it amazing in every way. Rooms clean and comfortable / staff friendly and efficient / food good / trips available and well organised - what more can I say. Would recommend it to anyone spending time in Kuching or needing a base to travel to and from. If I visit Borneo again I will definitely stay at Basaga. Thanks to all the staff and especially Brandon - who organised transfers, trips and even has a cocktail named after him - which was very nice too!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms very nice as straight onto pool!!!! Verandah rooms also had three beds so something t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby8464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We, 2 families with 2 younger kids each, spend 2 nights at Basaga Holiday Residence.
We had a family room each, which accomodates 4 pax easily in two rooms with a door, that you can shut. Rooms were nice and clean with enough space.
We also enjoyed
- the clean pool to cool down
- the complimentary breakfast with enough choices
- the yummy drinks
- the lovely food which we had for lunch and dinner
- and the orang-utan and crocodile tour with Brandon, who is a very enganged and helpful guide.
Basaga is a bit outside of the city center, but they have a free shuttle bus to town twice a day.
All staff were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and can definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine-for-four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
1.0 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Property: Basaga Holiday Residences
Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing