We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basaga Holiday Residences
Ranked #1 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Basaga was definitely the best place where we've stayed during our 1-month trip in Malaysia. Rooms are very nice, clean and beds are great (choice between king or queensize). We choose for the (a bit) smaller room at the back as these rooms have their own private courtyard, including shower. Great idea!

Social public space is also very nice, situated above a small pond with fishes and offering lounge couches from which you can order great food from the restaurant. Furthermore, there is a small but nice swimming pool to relax.

But the best thing about Basaga is probably the helpfullness & friendliness of the staff and the owners. They will give you a bit the feeling of being at home.

To get to the centre, you either need a 25min walk or a 10RM teksi. For us, being outside of the city centre was not an issue.

We would definitely recommend this place to anybody, even over any 5 star hotel, thanks to its typical character & friendliness!

Thanks a lot Basaga

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aronwierts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Basaga Holiday Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Basaga with our two young girls (4 and 6). A complimentary airport pick up takes the stress out of arrival. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The pool was so nice it was used by a wedding magazine whilst we were there. We often had it to ourselves. Free internet access was a big plus. Breakfast was tasty. We liked the seating area and restaurant food was also good. Even though it is not walking distance to the waterfront we liked the area (there is a superb temple opposite) and a convenient shopping area with lots of local cafes (we ate at one and when we tried to tip the waiter he acutally gave it back to us!) There is even a pub where you can have a beer while you are fishing - see it for yourself! After a night in Bako (which is also a must do) it was luxury to come back here. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macsat130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

From start to finish Brendan, Muriel and their staff could not do enough to ensure that we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. The staff were always cheerful, nothing was too much trouble. Muriel insisted we changed to a kingsize room at no extra cost despite us saying we were more than happy with a poolside room. From being picked up from the airport to being dropped off again Brendan was on hand to offer advise, helpful tips on everything from where to go, what price to pay for a taxi, sampling local foods, arranging an excellent guide at Bako to taking my husband for a tattoo.
The food in the hotel was excellent offering both local and western food.
We would love to go back and stay there again and would recommend the Basga to anyone wanting a special place to stay in Kuching.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenPickerint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We went to Kuching for InterHash late June/early July. With over 4,000 Hashers arriving in Kuching rooms were hard to find. We had requested a room at Basaga but they were full. They said they would let us know if there was a cancellation. There was and we were in. No deposit required, and they picked us up at the airport. Brandon and his lovely wife were so helpful and friendly. The price was right. The bar was great and so was the food.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KojakandLollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I stayed at Basaga for five days earlier this month. Basaga opened about a year ago. This is a wonderful place to stay. Rooms are terrific. I stayed in a verandah room which features a TV, air con, two big beds, and an en suite bathroom. The staff was great. I felt like I was staying with family. Basaga offers free airport transfers. They will pick you up at the airport upon arrival and drop you off there as well. Breakfast buffet in the morning is good. They also have a bar and a restaurant that offers lunch and dinner. Laundry service also available. The only negative is the location. It's about a five to ten minute taxi ride to central Kuching where most of the hotels and bars are located. But that wasn't a problem for me. This is suitable for the solo traveler, couples, or families. All of these traveler types were present while I was there, and all had a wonderful experience.
I've traveled all over the world and I can tell you that this place is a real gem!
I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Kuching!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Just got back from a lovely trip to Sarawak and had the pleasure of staying at Basaga for a few nights. We were picked up at the airport by manager Brandon and whisked to the hotel around twenty minutes away. The hotel is really boutique, lovely and relaxed, with a cool pool and beautiful bar under a vine-covered veranda.

We were staying in a courtyard room with a bathroom inside and shower outside - it's so nice to shower outside in your own private courtyard in the sunshine.

Kuching is a 25 minute walk away or a 5 minute taxi, and quite often Brandon will drop you off in town himself. There's lots of museums to see in Kuching, and the waterfront is great to stroll along at night but I'm really pleased I stayed at Basaga - I finished my holiday completely relaxed and recharged - especially after coming back to Basaga after trekking in Bako National Park! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, and Brandon couldn't do enough for us, even putting us in touch with some amazing people who made the holiday especially memorable. Enjoy this place!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkly_Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

An excellent place to stay. Beautiful, clean rooms. Pool. Great staff who were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suewhoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,611 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
606 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: Lot 69-70 Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: £27 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing