We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is probably the best value for hotel that we have stayed in thus far in Malaysia.We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas.
The room was very clean as it should be as it is still very new. The staff were very attentive and did try very hard,however we did experience difficulty each time we called for room service it seem that there was a communication failure each time we called and would require follow up calls to sort out the delivery and timing.We have travelled a fair amount in Malaysia and we do take the time to try to ensure that we are understood with our requests for some reason this seemed to be a bit more of a challenge with the room service people.The rest of the were as one would expect.
The room is decently appointed,however it could use and alarm clock.
We did experience challenges with the wifi in the lobby as my wife and I were using iPads. It seemed that we would time out after 12 minutes quit often and have to go about re-entering the user ID and passwords repeatedly,hence some frustration. We did speak to the concierge about our difficulty.Only at that time did they inform us that the passwords issued expire after 60 minutes.So you have to get a new slip of paper every 60 minutes if you are going to use the wifi in the lobby. It would have been an idea to have this information at the first logon.This did not explain our 12 minute conectivity issues so we just resigned to that fact of making very short Christmas day phone calls on Skype.
The bar in the lobby makes incredibly delicious Mojitos!We found our way back at the end of each day for a night cap.
We had our Christmas dinner in the Chinese Resturant in the hotel and we were not dissapointed in any way with quality and quantity of the food.Fantastic....Now the breakfast buffet was a different story when we tried to have an omelettes on the first day,these were poorly executed and the following days we just had the basic Malaysian breakfast and were not disappointed.
The pool area certainly needs some character added.
We would definately stay here again as we did enjoy the staff and can overlook some of the small issues.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polar_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    768
    313
    100
    63
See reviews for
444
609
176
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Excellent 24 hour reception, near new very modern hotel with good facilities, large spacious room, very quiet, room well maintained and adequately equipped right down to bath robes and fitness equipment but minimal supplies for in room tea making. Attractive pool and fitness centre both well supervised and clean with a quiet relaxed ambience. Good free wifi in the lobby. Good views from rooms, situated on hill top, easy access to waterfront, Main Bazaar, shopping and cathedral all only an easy stroll.
Will be staying here again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
442 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

First time in Kuching and we spend 4 night here, and found everything perfect.
first class service when we entry the lobby and until we leave again after 4 night. Only little minus is only one hour free internet, why it was a holiday

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmittag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

So have listed some of my observations based on recent visit for 5 nights in December.

Good points:
- efficient service & friendly
- large swimming pool
- complimentary Wifi
- easy walking distance of main area and if you like shopping has a mall underneath

Not so good points:
- noisy as open plan and wooden bedroom floor so you hear other people in their rooms
- limited dining options
- Chinese restaurant sells shark fin soup
- watch the time of year as we had 30 children shouting and screaming in the swimming pool, not so relaxing
- impersonal office block type building

I would have preferred the Hilton but it was being refurbished while we were in Kuching.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I went to Kuching on 8-12 Dec 2011 with a total no. 14 persons ( Aged 6-69 yrs old). We stayed 2 nites @ Four Points Sherton & 2nites @ Pullman. Having stayed at both hotels, Pullman is still the best. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Alex Cox (Hope I remb the name correctly) for his excellent service provided.

As for Four Points ,I'm simply very disappointed in terms of customer service & quality. And really need to put in a lot of effort to improve their services.

I hope to stay @ Pullman for my next trip!

Cheers, Chestbee

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Pullman Kuching is always my first choice when I travel to Kuching.
I must thanks to all the staffs and management of Pullman Kuching to make it such a great place for us stay. Keep out the good works.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I've stayed for 3 nights 4 days for a business trip. Only three words- Great, Modern and Futuristic! Like the interior design so much! Lived like a celebrity. Generous modern furnitures with artistic touch.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBoys_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 23 December 2011
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching. Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,510 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing