We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and Nice hotel”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
A TripAdvisor Member
“New and Nice hotel”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. My children love the swimming pool and bathroom very much. It was christmas season, so hotel has done beautiful decoration. There are may eateries nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    771
    314
    102
    63
See reviews for
447
611
178
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

It's easy to see why the Pullman tops the Kuching hotels list, but be aware it has no serious competitors! Yes, it is very nice - it's still only 18 months old, so everything is clean and new-looking - but it's not perfect. To start with the good things: rooms are clean and spacious and have attractive views over the city; there's a large open-air pool; the breakfast buffet is varied and very tasty; it's a short walk to the 'centre' of town (Kuching doesn't really have one!); and it has a handy shopping mall underneath. The not quite so good things: prices at the bar are insane, even in happy hour - at least 3x the price of other high-end places in the city; service is a bit of a mixed bag - staff are friendly, but I had new clothes taken from my room and they did nothing about it; and the lunch buffet doesn't always cater that well for vegetarians (a personal gripe, obviously, that mightn't bother other people). Overall I'd still recommend staying here because for the standard of rooms and facilities the price is very reasonable, but don't expect the kind of thing you might find somewhere like Kuala Lumpur!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HalfWomanHalfShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching. Happy New Year 2012 & Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is a lovely hotel, booked through Asia Rooms so we got a reasonable price considering the standard of the accommodation. Rooms are clean and quiet, mattress was comfortable, check-in and out very professional. They have a good gym and pool area. Restaurant a little pricey, so we did not use it. Cheap meals can be had through a short walk outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching. Happy New Year & Best wishes to you! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the Pullman over Christmas this year and I wanted to start with something good. The hotel is large and feels new, the rooms are also large and well appointed as you would expect from the Pullman brand. Checking in and out was good and the lady helping us was friendly and efficient. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom nice - big bath and rain shower.

Then comes our disappointments - we arrived into the room and had internet connectivity issues with two laptops and it took a couple of calls to the front desk (challenges in getting an understanding of the issue) and coming up to the room to look into the problem. Eventually this was sorted out and the internet was no issues and fast which was good. We ordered room service for breakfast the next morning as we went to the orangutans in the morning. This was very disappointing for the price - the croissants were very stale and no condiments, the cornflakes were stale and the coffee weak. We basically did not eat any of the the breakfast. The next day we tried the food at the bakery downstairs and it was fresh and we wished we had eaten there instead. Our main issue seemed to be getting the reception staff to understand what our requests were. All of these seem a little petty, but we were looking for top level service the the amount we were paying and we did not feel that upon leaving.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascalscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Valued Customer, Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching! I thank you for your feedbacks regarding your recent stay with us. Rest assured that we will review the shortfall for future improvements. Best wishes to you & Happy New Year 2012! Regards, Eric Tan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Nice hotel but missing details like the cleaning staff for our rooms were sloppy, doesn't check for things running out or low. But very friendly and courteous staff.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We booked a Junior Suite on the 22nd floor (the hotel is 23 storeys high) and we have got a fantastic view of the whole city! Pullman Hotel is arguably one of the tallest buildings in the city, if not the tallest. The only other structure I see at eye level from our room is the OCBC building. Being occupants of a suite, we have a private dining area on the 22nd level and we had all our breakfasts there. We also had free flow of drinks at the lounge area in the evening. There is a business area but no one uses it since our rooms already come attached with a private study. Besides the private study, the private suite also have a seperate media area. Both the study and the media area are separated from the main bedroom, which comes with another TV equipped with a DVD player! The washroom is huge with plenty of space. Comparing it to the suite we stayed in Anantara, Bali, previously, the junior suite in Pullman Kuching is more luxurious and half the price!

Room Tip: Given the fantastic value for money in Kuching, it's such a waste if you don't choose the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorisyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Really good place, very new and clean.
The toilet is as big as my room at home with a huge window over viewing the city!

all the toilet amnesties u need, even a yoga mat and 2kg dumbbells, however u need call for a tooth brush as they are not provided to you by default.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,537 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
571 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing