We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very business like hotel”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very large hotel with the largest lobby area I've ever seen, but doesn't have any chairs to sit on while waiting in the lobby. Rooms were excellent, best bed ever and a very nice bathroom but the office desk and chair weren't suitable for tourists. First 5 star we have stayed in in Asia and will be the last, no atmosphere at all, staff very efficient but dull and boring, view nice, but would have rather stayed on the riverfront. We have booked for 6 days but after 3 decided to leave and fly to Kuala Lumper.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fae040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,039 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redgate6286
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just returned from a weekend trip to Kuching, staying at the Pullman. Excellent hotel - a great value for money. We got the deluxe rooms which had a great view of Kuching. Rooms were huge and the bathroom is bigger than some rooms in other hotels! The bath set by the window and the rain showers were fantastic. Note thought connecting rooms are not available when you choose the deluxe rooms according to the check in staff. Still we got a room side by side which was fine for us (traveling with older children). Room service was great. Try the Oak barrel (steak) which was most enjoyable. Hotel location is great too. Located right on top of a small mall, top spot restaurant is two blocks to the right (when facing the river) on top of a car park station which had superb seafood. River is a block down the road towards Hilton, and easy walk to the main bazaar. Huge rooms, cool aircon, great food and great service. A most enjoyable weekend. Thank you Pullman Kuching.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel has the brightest lobby I have ever seen with a glass roof over a white marble floor and walls. The desk staff tries hard but they managed to screw up the rooms for half out group. The double room with the big bathroom ( shower and tub ) we finally got was twice the size of the twin room we started out in. So check your room when you arrive. The view down the hill to the river and toward the mountains was lovely. There is a coffee shop and bar in the lobby. Our meal in the Chinese dining room had an interesting variety of dishes but service was very slow. You can do better eating outside.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Like others, I chose Pullman based on TA reviews and I was really pleased with it. After 4 nights in a tree house at a rain forest resort, I needed a bit of comfort so I had booked a deluxe room on a high floor. The room was huge and beautifully furnished, with great views across the river and the city. A couple of reviewers have commented negatively on the attitude of the staff. I have to disagree here as we found everyone to be genuinely helpful and courteous.
I am a regular visitor to Malaysian Borneo and will definitely be staying at the Pullman when I next go to Kuching.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMLMTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

If you can splurge a bit, stay here. Location and cleanliness is very good. Comparing the upscale hotels, this is the best in town. Forget Hilton.
Staff attitude and behavior requires improvement. Sometimes they move and behave Like zombies. Probably lack of supervision.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alphonsus_Foo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We just spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it uninspiring. The atmosphere is not friendly. Regardless, it was clean and adequate and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakeerietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £32 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing