We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Modern Hotel in Kuching”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is on a hill overlooking the city and across to the river and mountains. Fantastic views! The rooms are massive. They are modern, very clean and spacious.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
There is a choice of restaurants in the hotel. The main one offers a differently themed buffet each evening as well as A La Carte. Breakfast is an extensive and very fresh buffet. The food is all of extremely good quality.
There is a large pool and sunbathing terrace with sunbeds as well as a very modern fitness room with a good choice of exercise equipment.
The hotel also has a relaxing spa offering massages and relaxation treatments.
The Waterfront is only a few minutes walk downhill.Here you'll find plenty of shops (small family run souvenir shops as well as local shops plus a modern shopping mall). From the waterfront you can take a cruise on the river plus there are plenty of seats for just sitting and people watching.
A taxi from the airport only cost MYR26 (about 5 pounds sterling) in Nov 2013 and took about 20 minutes - good value!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenHalifaxUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear StephenHalifaxUK,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thanks a lot for your feedback on your recent stay and enjoyed with us here. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com.

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If food is important to you besides a comfortable nite stay, then this hotel is THE CHOICE! We love the breakfasts spread and its central location to all the tourists spots nearby. After breakfasts, we just took a short walk to Waterfront area to check out those handicraft items. If you want to try out local food, then there are many cafes and restaurants nearby.

I would definitely want to stay in this hotel again on my next trip,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BorneoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear (name),

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thanks a lot for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Glad to hear to you and your couple enjoyed the foods. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com.

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is centrally located, within an easy walk to the town and attractions, and the staff are extremely helpful and courteous. We had a twin room that was very spacious and clean, with its own desk and plenty of space for 2 of us to use our computers. Breakfast was well presented with lots of choices.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosscoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear rosscoSdyney,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thank you so much!! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the foods here at Sarawak, Pullman Kuching. We hope you travel to Sarawak, Malaysia again soon. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Pullman Kuching is centrally located. Walking distance to waterfront. You can walk to many places like chinatown. There are many food outlets located nearby. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Requests are immediately attended to. Rooms are very spacious and clean. It is really value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors so that you can enjoy the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FookOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Fook On N,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thanks a lot for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com

Thank you and best wishes to you.

Regards,
Eric Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Pullman was one of the newest hotel in Kuching even though it is already four years old, as I read somewhered. The first thing that strikes me as I enter the lobby for the first time was the spacious, high-glass ceilinged and walled, reception area. I walked in at around noon and can't help but feel amazed by the wonderful sensation of 'out of this world-ish' grandeur, with the bright sun shining through the ceiling and walls coupled with the cooled, smoke-free, air-conditioned interior. It is also connected to the Hills shopping mall for added convenience plus there are rows of shop houses around it. Taxis are abundant outside the lobby and the river front is also within a short walking distance. I would say that the location is ideal if you are looking to stay in Kuching city area. The room was tile-floored, spacious and clean with comfortable king-size bed and luxurious beddings. The bath room was also spacious with both shower cubicle (the largest amongst all hotels I have been to) and a bath-tub. Basic amenities like coffeee making stuffs, iron and ironing board was provided. However, it was simply too " bright, cold and hard" and too "hygienic" to my liking. In other words, it sort of made sure that you remember, you are just staying temporarily in a hotel room. It lacks that homely, warm and cosy feeling. But I love the coffee mugs, though. For me, I would prefer the other much cheaper hotel in Kuching that I stayed in two weeks ago. It is just a matter of individual preference but to be fair, the Pullman gave good facilities and service all round. The food are also good with a wide buffet choice for breakfast. One small thing, there was a fly that keeps bugging me at my table. Could it be the same one observed by a previous reviewer? Another small grouse is regarding room wi-fi. First, It was not really fast, it fact it took quite a long time for me to download a copy of the STAR e-paper on a Sunday morning. Second, you can only connect one device at a time using the room ID. So, you have to disconnect from one device in order to re-connect to another, which, I think is an unneccesary procedure. If the intention is to limit wi-fi traffic from each room, it does not really work, actually. On the other hand, it could irritate room guests, like it did to me. Nowadays you can always use 'Connectify' to share network among devices. Overall, I would say that the hotel will score well with most people. One last note regarding booking. I called the hotel number to make a reservation but nobody answered. I then called the toll free 1-800 number. It was answered and I was helped with the reservation. However, the call duration was unusually long at 16mins 24seconds, a substantial amount of time spent on spelling out my name and place of work, letter by letter. It was quite annoying for me because my name is quite common and simple in Malaysia and my employer is a very well known organisation in Malaysia. One reason could be language/cultural barrier. Probably I am asking too much because since it was a hotel in Malaysia, I expected a local staff to answer my call. I was also quoted a much higher room rate, but when I mentioned the lower rates published by the hotel website, he asked me how much??, and after a short-to-medium wait, proposed the same rate as on the internet. My advice is to check out several sources for the best room rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khairi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Khairi W,

Warmest Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you had difficulty experience in our hotel. We always to try to ensure our services in the very best and to get good hospitality service in a timely manner. I’m looking forward to welcoming you back to Pullman Kuching.

Should you need any further enquiries, do drop an email to me at Eric.TAN@accor.com.

Best wishes to you!

Regards, Eric Tan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £39 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing