We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pullman Kuching - A gem in Kuching”
Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 28 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kosmos-phos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Pullman is a very strategic hotel in Kuching. It is located in the heart of town with many eateries nearby. The popular seafood foodcourt Topspot is located about 10 mins walk away. There are also many eateries nearby.

Pullman earns top marks for its staff. Very friendly, personable and helpful. Frontdesk personnel were very friendly and made both check in and check out a pleasant experience for all.

Rooms were large and so were the bathrooms although the housekeeping was not as good. The shower head did not work properly and the hair dryer could not be used for more than 5 minutes before it could not be switched on. Plates placed outside the door were not collected even after 10 hours. I would rate it maybe slightly above average.

WiFi was next to impossible to use. Why offer it when it cannot be utilised? I could not send a lot of my business documents because of this. Also there was no clock in my room.

Breakfast was okay but had pretty much the same type of food everyday. Noodles labelled Udon was actually just plain flat noodles and the soup was tasteless. Pastries were not of high quality but the bread was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AcesGoPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mariam O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The pullman kuching is a very good hotel, with a spacious room and xtra kingsize bed. Large enough to sleep with 3 (our 3 yr old daughter slept between us). It has a good breakfast buffet and a nice pool, e ven a childrens pool. One major problem: very bad wifi connection. Normaly, you get a one hour a day free access in the room, and unlimited access in the lobby, but the connection is soooooo slow, that it wasnt enough to even download a simple newspaper. After complaining, the staff changed the one hour free into a free of charge flat fee (normaly 50 RM a day!!!!!), but that didnt change the fact that the connection was still too slow to access the internet. But with flat fee, it allowed me at least to download my newspaper (it easily took 3 to 4 hours for a download). This is inacceptable for a business hotel (luckily, we are on holiday).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Hotel stay is pleasant. Service of front desk staff is satisfactory. My friends and I were pleasantly surprised and pleased with the room service. We liked our rooms. They are clean, cosy and comfortable. Their accommodation fee is a little high ...paying about S$300 for 3 night stay and no breakfast is provided.
On a positive note, there are quite a number of nice eateries nearby. We had satisfying local breakfast ....Sarawak laksa and Special 3 Layer Teh C at Chong Choon Cafe, Kolo Mee and Big Pao at Fock Hai Coffee Shop etc...
The staff from CatCity Holiday serving land tours at the Hotel is not so warm. In the end, we explored nearby tour agency who provided excellent service and made our stay pleasant and memorable.
One thing which I was disappointed with is the Spa at the hotel. The prices are exorbitantly high. R$220 for a 1h foot massage and R$171 for only body scrub.
I might consider staying at Pullman again if they are able to provide reasonably priced spa packages.
Overall, I like Kuching. I will definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanceKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We love the room, the modern design and comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious & also one of the best design that i had seen. Very convenient as the hotel is in adjacent to the shopping mall and a walking distance away from the TopSpot, one of the famous seafood outlets.

The breakfast was just ok, the hotel tried to present local delicacies but some of the food had no taste, tourist that unfamiliar with local delicacies could just jump into a conclusion that our local food were awful.

When we tried to book for a spa, the girl said the spa was fully booked for the entire day although we went very early and i saw that the spa was very spacious and empty. The hotel should add more staff for the spa then.

A little pricey though, convenient for business traveller but not for those who are looking for resort type of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NURY888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Laurie468
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing