We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different point of view”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
JB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different point of view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were at Pullman Kuching attending a wedding dinner, hence decided to stay for a few nights. We were greeted by friendly staff at the reception counter which made checking-in a breeze, the room was fine with a pretty good, unobstructed view. As the times we stayed there were peak period for the hotel (crossing over New Year's Day), problems started the next day. First it was the key card, during our stay, we had to change our key cards 5 times, imagine a successful access to the lift, only to find yourself stuck in front of your room unable to get in, we even encountered a queue at the reception, all in need for new key cards. We were only told at the 5th times that their key cards are super sensitive & cannot be placed near any mobile phones. As this is a family event, our other family members & relatives started arriving at the hotel, two were stucked at the reception for over an hour as their names could not be found. We gave the duty manager the name & contact numbers of the travel agents where reservations were made & paid for from overseas, yet we faced repeated questionings on where, how & when were reservations made. She should have taken the initiatives to contact the overseas agents for further clarifications but instead, wasted times asking for our verifications over & over again. Thirdly, another relative checked in the hotel only to find the room reeked heavily of cigarettes smell (smoking floor), the hotel promised another room in an hour yet it took repeated calls after two hours to finally get it. Our observations showed us that the hotel has problem handling large crowds and there are a lacking of manpower during super peak periods, e.g. the plates were pilling up on the guests' tables during breakfast times, we empathized with the servers as they were scrambling to clean the tables while the front desk kept sending in guests for breakfast when tables aren't even ready. I hope the management team will do something about the above, including the key card system, instead of having your team of staff apologizing repeatedly to the guests everyday. This is a lovely hotel with good strategic location, we really hope our next experience at the Pullman will be a different one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparks009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Sparks009,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Kuching. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    758
    309
    98
    62
See reviews for
436
600
171
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

On the various occasions I have stayed at the Kuching Pullman, I can not fault the quality of service, food and rooms. They are consistent in ensuring you are a welcomed guest and are attentive to your needs. The rooms themselves are great value for money with most of them having spectacular views over Kuching city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sue442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Sue442014,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've been traveling to Kuching for the past 20 years and this was my first stay at the Pullman, just for a change. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The location is close to everything and views from hotel are wonderful. Breakfast was great with a good selection of Asian and Western dishes to choose from and waiter staff very attentive.
Overall I found the Pullman a modern luxurious hotel with first class service at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Matthew B,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
865 reviews
475 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a really large and really nice hotel, and it seems like half the Western tourists visiting Kuching stay here. This is undoubtedly because they need to fill their rooms, and they offer prices that even a backpacker might be able to afford.

As a platinum member in the Accor hotel loyalty program, I was upgraded to a suite and given lounge access. The lounge is very pleasant, and there is free food and alcohol in the evening. We were given the choice of eating breakfast in either the lounge or the main restaurant, and chose the restaurant. A good choice, as the offerings were extensive and tasty. Alas, like all nice hotels in Malaysia, they keep their restaurants halal, which prohibits many of the breakfast foods that Westerners like to eat (like bacon!).

Rooms in this hotel are at least 4-star quality; they claim to be a 5-star hotel, and get pretty close. The location is also good, about a 5 minute walk to the waterfront. There's some good tourist-oriented shopping nearby, as well as several attractions to see.

Given what we paid and the good service we received, I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Kuching.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Dave's_reviews,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Pullman is a luxury hotel 10 minutes walk from the river and the shopping centres. The room was wonderful with a king size bed, huge bathroom with a bath and full length windows to enjoy the view of the city. Breakfast was wonderful with so many Asian or western choices. There were about 15 Asians dishes, juices, cereals, fruits for on top of cereals, fresh fruits, eggs on request, different breads for toast, croissants and pastries, at least half a dozen different doughnuts or muffins etc etc. We loved it. We also loved the trip to Semenggoh Rehabilitation Centre and saw a mum orang utan and her baby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear jenny d,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Really happy with Pullman, they tend to be pretty consistent anyway. Nice big, clean rooms, good service, good location and reasonably priced, would highly recommend!
Probably one of the nicest hotels in Kuching I imagine, wish we'd stayed longer!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audette08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Audette08,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I find Pullman Kuching, Sarawak is a very good hotel, breakfast are quite decent. Room is very comfortable and had a good sleep. I would recommend Pullman to my friends. Beside this, its located in a most strategic area, within walking distance to Harbour Point and many restauran, pub and Top Spot seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenagaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Thenagaran,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pullman Kuching.

At Pullman, we strive hard to ensure the satisfaction of every guest and your review is very important to us.

We sincerely hope you would come back to stay with us again and looking forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing