We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Literally the worst service I've received at a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Literally the worst service I've received at a hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean, but the beds were very hard. The location was also great, central to eating, shopping and the waterfront.
However, the service we received here is the worst we have received at any hotel and we have travelled throughout Europe, Asia and Australia extensively. The staff were very unfriendly and not very helpful. We had a lot of issues getting internet access and they made no apology and were less than gracious whilst resolving the issue. If you stay here, I also suggest not including breakfast as the service and food alike was terrible. There were a lot of staff but when you needed assistance no one could be found although they were not busy. The coffee was stone cold and it took several attempts to get a hot cup delivered with no apology for the delay. Generally the hotel was good but the service was terrible, would definitely not recommend as there are cheaper hotels nearby that are equally as good with a lot better service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Gabro58,

May I begin by thanking you for your review on Tripadvisor for your visit to Pullman Kuching recently, and may I extend my sincerest apology for your the unpleasant experience during your stay.

I would bring up this matter to all our Head of Departments in order to rectify all the issues that you encountered during your stay with us. I know this does not help you, but rest assure that I am doing everything in my power to ensure that it would not be repeated.

It is feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve our quality of service.

Once again, thank you for your review and we sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again to Pullman Kuching on your future visits to Kuching, Sarawak.

Wishing you a wonderful weekend ahead.

With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    758
    309
    98
    62
See reviews for
436
600
171
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Good hotel, central. Rooms were ok, bright and spacious, bathroom was good and TV choice. The hotel breakfast was quite limited in terms of choice available, the swimming facilities were poor and dated it needs up grading as it really needs it. We probably wouldn't stay there again. Staff not really on the ball, problems checking in as credit card machine wouldn't work and only realised after trying our credit card three times and then went for breakfast and said brekkie wasn't included, which it was! Customer service people.

Would rather have stayed at the Hilton across the road, this hotel was purely for business travellers and as we weren't didn't really get any attention.

the bar was also quite dated and struggled to make cocktails. Overall experience for me would be to stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thewebb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Thewebb2014,

Thank you for your review concerning your stay at Pullman Kuching recently. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we have taken notice of the shortfall that you have encountered during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

If you could kindly find the time to send me the details of your stay to my email addres; h6332-sl9@accor.com, and I will investigate the matter personally.

We hope the experience will not alter your confidence in Pullman Kuching and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in the future.

Thank you.
With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Arrived late and was checked in smoothly. Would suggest a high floor so a get a good view of the city. The bathroom is spacious and comfortable king size bed. Near to shopping mall if you want to do some shopping and also the good seafood in Top Spot.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Poh Chang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Poh Chang C,

Thank you so much for your positive review on your previous stay at Pullman Kuching. It is through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain the quality of our service to our guests.

We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest at Pullman Kuching and we really hope that you would return to Pullman Kuching on your next visit to Kuching, Sarawak.

Have a wonderful day ahead.

With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

After a rather bad experience during our stay in June 2013, the then GM Mr. Eric Tan sent us an email to apologize and request that we drop him a mail on our next visit to Kuching so that he will be able to personally make arrangements for us and let us experience the true Pullman Service culture. Hence, we gave them another shot in Dec 2013 as we do need the spacious room that can fit 2 baby cots for our twins. We wrote to Mr Eric Tan as promised and looked forward to his "arrangements".

Upon arrival:
All the staff, ranging from receptionist to the manager at the counter were extremely attentive during our check in and appear to be a little nervous. We also saw the previous lady manager whom we commented about and she avoided us at all time and it is so obvious that she avoid having any eye contact with us during the 2 occasions when we were at the reception counter. Not that it bother us but just thought it will make a big difference on her image (and Pullman's) if she at least acknowledge us by a simple greeting. She is still very unprofessional and this should not come from a senior staff member as herself.

The Room:
This being our 3rd visit to Pullman and by far the smallest superior room that we got compare to the first 2 visits. However, it doesn't really matter since we were out most of the time but it did made us feel a little being sidelined because we complained the last time? The plus side, the babycots were ready in the room upon check in which we appreciate. We also received a complimentary plate of chocolates accompanied with a printed message from the secretary and not the man himself. A supposedly nice touch made us feel like an insult. We're like being shove with a plate of chocolate and asked to shut up. Our kids did enjoy the chocolates though, any kid will.
Our next encounter were no less shocking, one of the cot fell apart at 2am in the morning. My 2 year old was sound asleep, so he was definitely not jumping on the bed nor did he jumped on the bed before he slept. Pictures of the baby cot are attached. Our child was unharmed and this issue has been informed to the manager at the counter upon check out. He apologized and lost his word. We felt sorry for him because we can see that he tried his best to make sure everything to be in order and when this happened despite all his effort, he was dumfounded. We wrote to Mr. Eric Tan to inform him of the incident where he apologized and gave a reason that it was an isolated incident which had never happened before. Is this a good excuse? I don't think so because it SHOULD never have happened.

What trigger me to write this review is because we will be traveling to Kuching again this October and without any hesitation, Pullman is out of the list for the time being. Not until we can forget the feeling of being sidelined and the chocolate humiliation. Some staff in Pullman are friendly while some, especially those serving breakfast were really sulky and they never bother to offer coffee and tea. Overall, they are lack of style and class, this includes the friendlier staff and manager. A lot of time, it is not what you serve to customer, but rather how you serve it that makes the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear jumpingjackmah,

May i begin by thanking you you for your review on Tripadvisor on your previous stay at Pullman Kuching and please accept my sincerest apologies on the shortfall that you and your family encountered during your stay. Your comments inspire us to strive harder in servicing our guests and please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems to prevent future occurrences.

If you could kindly contact me directly via email; h6332-sl9@accor.com, with the exact details of your stay and i will attend to the matter personally.

Once again, thank you for your review and looking forward to your kind email.

With warm regards,
Borhan Bin Salleh
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Sitting proudly above its competition on a hill overlooking Kuching and the Sungai Santubong, with a shopping mall below, and only a short stroll down the hill to the river, the Pullman Kuching is a first class hotel. The rooms are large and well fitted. The gym is large and well stocked and outside pool is of generous dimensions. The executive suites offer free snacks and a happy hour. Breakfasts with western and Malaysian fare alike are sumptuous.The service is friendly and helpful, including IT.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a whole lot more with an executive room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarthurMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mr jarthurMelbourne,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback from your stay with us at Pullman Kuching. It is such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback to our friendly and helpful service staff.

We cherish and honour all feedbacks from our guests as a way to further improve our service standards for all our guests.

We hope you would choose to stay at Pullman Kuching again on your next visit to Kuching, Sarawak and once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

With warm regards,

Felix Yeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The hotel is is small to medium in size with a rather small but functional pool. The rooms and bathrooms are pretty large but not much thought has been put into its decor leaving guest rooms to look rather empty.

As with everything else in Sarawak, the hotel and its rooms are clean, the service is efficient and friendly.

I can think of 2 highlights of this hotel - (1) the very comfortable beds and pillows and (2) although the breakfast buffet selection is limited, the food is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziKiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear ziKiQoTu,

Thank you so much on your comments about Pullman Kuching, and rest assure your comments is highly important to us. My sincere aplogies if your stay with us did not meet your expectation.

We shall look into improving our bedroom decoration as well as the bathroom decoration to make our rooms more lively. We would also look into our buffet breakfast selection to give our guest more varieties and quality food.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again at Pullman Kuching on your next visit to Kuching, Sarawak.

With warm regards,

Felix Yeo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing