We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Choice in Kuching”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullman Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel Choice in Kuching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

I recently spent a two-week stay at the Pullman Hotel in Kuching and I cannot remember a more enjoyable hotel experience. My room was spacious, clean, and quiet. The staff was alert, courteous, and always eager to please. The Pullman sits atop a modern shopping center (which is quite new and therefore does not have a lot of shops yet), and is a 5 minute walk from the Riverfront and Kuching city center. The breakfast is excellent - despite the length of my stay I was still unable to try everything. I did not wish to pay the daily rate for Internet connectivity in my room, but was able to take full advantage of free wireless in the hotel coffee shop. When I return to Kuching, I definitely plan to stay at the Pullman again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldDawg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    758
    309
    98
    62
See reviews for
436
600
171
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Our first visit to Kuching and we chose this hotel after studying reviews of the main 4/5 star hotels in the city on this site. Our stay was for three nights during February.
The hotel sits on relatively high ground and is high rise so most of the rooms will enjoy views. The riverfront area is within a short walking distance as are most of the main places of interest, we managed to walk everywhere without too many problems. There are shops nearby with a brand new shopping mall right next to the hotel although many of the units are as yet unoccupied. An older Parkson is also nearby as well as smaller shops.
The hotel lobby is very impressive, all shiny tiled floors, lots of glass and very spacious, a bit like an airport concourse but very well done. We decided to book an executive room which did cost extra but the rate included breakfast which could be taken on the executive floor or the lobby restaurant , we opted for the exec floor. Also free internet and business centre use, early evening cocktalis and canapes and one or two other benefits. There appeared to be few other guests around on our floor and in fact we only saw one other guy there during our stay. The hotel generally did not appear to be too busy.
Our room was on the 21st floor and had fine views towards the river, town and far distance. The room was adequate in size but not huge with an excellent bathroom, nicely finished with walk in shower, bath etc. Bathrobes, slippers and nice toiletries were all provided. The room was well equipped with everything we needed. We thought that the room was designed primarily with the business traveller in mind. Everything was brand new of course so no sign of wear on anything.
We ate food on the Executive floor and can report it was excellent, plenty of choice for either Asian or Western style cuisine with eggs etc cooked to order. Full marks to all the staff here who provided us with excellent service throughout our stay. Regarding the other eateries we can only comment on the lobby coffee/cakes restaurant good service and good standard of food.
Went down to the pool for a swim but did not stop long as it was late afternoon and a disco sound system was blasting out loud music, not what I wanted really. There wasn't much shade either, no parasols, don't know if this is still the case.
Conclusion The hotel only opened in November with the grand opening planned for April so it is still early days for everyone here. However we did very much enjoy our stay and this was due to the efforts and service of the staff. Still some room for improvement in some areas but overall no complaints from us. Would we recommend this hotel to a friend or chose it on our next visit to Kuching.....Yes we certainly would.
Good luck to all the staff at The Pullman!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kestrel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

We booked their Deluxe King room for a night and checking-in was a breeze albeit handled by an unsmiling reception staff. The hotel's so new that we hardly saw any other people apart from the staff. Same goes for the shopping centre linked to the hotel. Two third of the shops have yet to open. The room was large and the bathroom to die for, complete with a red seat, nice weighing machine and toiletries. You can even look out at the cityscape through the window while lying inside the bathtub. I couldn't help but feel something amiss in the room and soon realised it's the swirling wall decoration as featured on their website. The customised furniture in the room looked cheap due to some chipped laminates. A very glaring design and workmanship mistake.

No buffet breakfast with our room, which was disappointing given the rate, so not able to comment on the quality. The swimming pool's alright surrounded by nice day beds. Access from the lift to the pool seems to be through a carpeted area, which could smell funky soon once more guests start coming in.

Overall, Pullman Kuching is a nice modern hotel to stay in, the very reason why we decided not to book Hilton Kuching, even though it was highly recommended. The promotion rates direct from the hotel do not guarantee you a better rate; we booked early yet saw the rates drop as our trip grew nearer. Go figure.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcadillac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

LOCATION
-walking distance to the happening of Riverside area. 10mins but going back is a bit of exercise as the hotel is in hill.
-30min from the Airport. pay no more than RM30 for the cab.
-connected to a new shopping mall. few stores are opened: Toy R Us, Marrybrown fastfood, Times Bookstore

ROOM
-comfortably chic and brand new.
-very roomy. mine was Deluxe Room.
-bathtub and power shower. even the toilet is clean & spacious.
-TV: got ESPN, Disney Channels, Msian selection.
-internet is free for an hour per day. connection is pretty good.
-the room have a cosy sofa.
-the room got everything you wanted: weighing machine, safety box, bath robe etc.
-the bed was great with fluffy pillows.
-very quiet.

HOTEL
-great pools for adult & children.
-spacious Jacuzzi
-entrance to the pool a bit inappropriate as it’s the hallway to function halls.
-big & wide lobby. wifi is available.

BREAKFAST
-big spreads with local & western menus.
-staff is super duper helpful. they help me out as I was with my little toddler. they got baby chair.
-must try the Laksa Sarawak. the sambal is delicious!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanyALGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

We visited this hotel the first week after it opened. We had earlier stayed at the Hilton across the road, which is an okay hotel, but a bit dated and drab- we wanted something fresher- and we found it. The lobby and rooms are architectually stunning- especially if you like modern- very light and well laid out. Our room was really large with a great bathroom- the bathtub sits right against a huge full length window ovelooking the city and mountains on the horizon.

Location is down town close to everything.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, and found it to be of good standard- not spectacular, but you will leave full and satisfied.

Internet is free for one hour a day, and after that gets expensive- but if you are just being a tourist, that should be enough.

As to be expected with a brand new hotel, not everything was up and running, and there were a lot of gaps in the service, but I would say that the staff were on the learning curve instead of just not caring. Once they iron the wrinkles out, I expect this will be the top hotel in Kuching. If we were to return to Kuching, this would be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RestlessTravelBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Königswinter
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

Impressively modern and cool lobby, a huge and tasteful room, a great bed and small amenities like a french press coffee maker, friendly staff - this is the way to build and manage a hotel. Sure, it is not perfect (50 MR for the internet, no balcony), but as close as you can hope for.
Having spent another day at the Kuching Hilton, I can compare these two - and the Hilton loses in any point (except the friendliness of the staff), it is just standard of the late 80´s while the Pullman (having opened 17 Nov 2009) is real state of the art - for the same price.
There are probably cheaper and other good options in Kuching but certainly no better. And for just 65€ per night you get great value for money.
Go for it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30degreesminimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Property: Pullman Kuching
Address: No. 1A Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#3 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Business Hotel in Kuching
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing tall in the heart of Kuching City on top of Mathies Hill, Pullman Kuching offers luxury 5-star comfort with contemporary features and a stunning panoramic view of the Sarawak River. An essential address for get-togethers with outstanding facilities right in the city's golden triangle, the cosmopolitan and stylish Pullman Kuching has been welcoming international guests with its astounding hospitality since its inception in 2010. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre "Hills Shopping Mall" and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing