We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Margherita Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$60
US$55
Pullman
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$48
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$81
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The LimeTree Hotel(Kuching)
US$39
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$48
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$28
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
141
279
150
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
279
150
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverholiday innsarawak plazarenovated roomcat statuewalking distancetun jugahthe executive loungetop spotwater frontcoffee housea river view roomhotel is situatedlaksa sarawakstrategic locationnon smokingseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Stayed in a Twin Room at Room 417 from 28 Sep to 30 Sep 11 with a colleague visiting our Kuching's branch office. Room is ok except woken up middle of sleep during the 2 nights when the temperature gets higher as the hotel's air-conditioners are temporarily switched off during the night.

Checked-out after a hearty breakfast (very good spread) after the 2nd night, unfortunately left behind my handphone charger at the bedside table in the room. Called the hotel and thankfully the housekeeping had the item with them. Had to trouble my branch colleague to pick it up for me before rushing to the airport. However, after collecting the charger, then it occurred to me that I had also left my Reader's Digest magazine on the same table! If only the housekeeping had returned it together with the charger without me having to ask for it. Maybe they thought that the magazine is to be discarded. Not even halfway through it and it's the brand new Oct issue! Sigh! Anyway, at least I got my charger back. Thanks.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicia2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Felicia2011_11

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and the breakfast spread.

The air conditioning interruption was due to our improvement efforts on the hotel's chiller unit. Rest assure that we have taken into considerations all aspects to ensure that the interruptions remains at most minimal.

We are certainly delighted that you're satisfied with our staff's hospitality. We hope to see you again next time!

Take care,

Afreeda Nawawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel from Sept 15 to Sept 18, 2011 for 3 nights, Superior Twin room with riverview.

The motto of Grand Margherita Hotel is "Try Us, You'll Love It", really, the hotel did not disappointed us!!

The hotel is situated in the heart of the city and is the only hotel located at the riverfront with great view. Adjacent to it is Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the sister hotel, Riverside Majestic Hotel is just across the road with shopping mall and cineplex.

The room is cosy, clean and comfortable. Breakfast has a great selection for Western and Asian foods. Staff are friendly and efficient too.

"Try Grand Margherita Hotel, You'll Love It"....

Love it.....we will come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for Superior room with riverview.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylittlesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear mylittlesue,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay with us.
We are delighted that you truly enjoy the mesmerizing river view from your hotel room and our breakfast selections.

May I also add that apart from Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex, there's also Tun Jugah Shopping Mall & Riverside Shopping Complex just across the road and also multiple convenience/sundry shops around.

Anyway, we are truly glad to be a part of your wonderful trip here. Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, Sarawak.

Until next time,
Afreeda Nawawi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

i have stayed for a week for business purpose. the front desk was friendly, the room is smelly so i asked to change the room. the breakfast is very much the same everyday.. location is perfect, just next to mall and near to waterfront

Room Tip: ask for room that does not connected.. no sound proof
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yaya1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Dear yaya1988,

Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with Grand Margherita.

We are glad to be the preferred hotel for your business trip to Kuching. On your comments about the room, we would usually advise guests that are sensitive to the smell of cigarette to choose a room on non-smoking floor. Do indicate this the next time you're staying with us so our reservation can allocate a non-smoking room for you.

As for the breakfast spread, changes are made on rotation on the different sections of the buffet daily. I do hope you get to try the varieties of local desserts on rotation daily apart from the ala minute dishes at the live cooking station.

We are located close to not just one but 4 shopping complexes with one just adjacent to the hotel. Apart from that, we are also within walking distance from many tourist attractions including the Kuching Waterfront, Tua Pek Kong temple as well as Main Bazaar. In fact, the Sarawak Regatta is actually ongoing as I write this review and is one of the grand events that you're able to witness right from your hotel room (river fronting rooms) and it happens annually in September.

That said, thanks again for your comments. We look forward to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, Sarawak.

Best Regards,
Eileen Chong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

First thing i would like to warn future traveller is Grand Margherita Hotel severely LACK of parking. As me & my wife driving from Miri to Kuching, we were tired already so decided to try Grand Margherita Hotel.

It took me 5 turn then can get parking. Very hassle. Second thing that us dont like is the smell of the cigarette smoke encompass the whole hotel. Im not a smoker so this really put me off. The room also left alot to be desired....ragged furniture, again the smell of smoke & so on.

At least the only thing i like about this hotel is the staff is helpful & keen on assisting the guest. The food not bad also. The last thing i can say is i HOPE margherita improve all the flaw i mention above if not the "4 Star Class" might as well become 3 instead.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Dear Sebastian C,

First and foremost, thank you for taking time to write a review about Grand Margherita.

We understand your frustration on the difficulty in locating a parking spot on the day that you checked in. It could be one of those days when we have a grand event going on at the hotel where parking spots are snatched up fast. Alternately, parking is also available at the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex just a stone's throw away.

For guest who are sensitive to the smell of cigarette smoke, we would recommend taking up a room at our non-smoking floor instead. For our lobby, to ensure a wonderful first impression, we have already installed a centralized air-freshener which periodically emits a wonderful aroma that is pleasant but not overpowering.

We are truly delighted that you had enjoyed each interactiosn that you had with our staff. it is our pleasure to be part of your trip to Kuching and we hope that for your next trip staying with us, you would have an even more enjoyable time. By the way, do ask our restaurant captain to recommend some of the chef's specialty (on your next trip). For coffee house, we are well known for some of the local delicacies such as the Hainanese Chicken Rice as well as the Oxtail Curry, etc.

Take care and see you soon

Eileen Chong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Grand Margharita was in the best location.Fabulous hotel,great views of river,breakfast was big selection of western and Asian food.Rooms modern with a good bathroom.We ate most other meals around town.The best eating spot only open at night was Top Spot the most amazing selection of fresh seafood, pick your seafood and they cook to your requirements-we were in foodie heaven paradise,and the cost of Mudcrab would make any Aussie envious.Kuching was the most Magical place so clean and the selection of shopping was fabulous.It was trulely a great holiday destination-and those mighty Orangutangs that was the sole reason for our visit to Kuching

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank otanghunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcom_office, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Dear otanghunters,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Glad you enjoyed not only the wonderful river view ( hope you managed to catch the sunset too!) but also the breakfast spread. Our Executive Chef Ricky Kong is the one to thank for continuously enhancing the selections for the breakfast and with the recent add of local 'kuih muih' (cakes & pastries), the spread just got much better. Hope you got to try the noodles and 'laksa' as well as nothing beats a piping hot soupy noodle dish on a cold morning.

As a fellow food enthusiast, I would also like to recommend that you try some of our chef's specials in the hotel the next time you're here.. Those items are so good that even us hoteliers cannot seem to get tired of having so often.

Anyway, glad you enjoyed your Kuching experience and we are truly glad to be a part of your wonderful trip here.

See you soon.

Eileen Chong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews