We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great breakfast and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We enjoyed the position of this Kuching hotel, about 15 minutes stroll along the river from the main town centre. It is adjacent to a small shopping complex which has good-value eateries downstairs. Views of the river and parliament building are spectacular. Breakfast is particularly good! Nice swimmimg pool. Make sure you look for Nurul in the office next to the main foyer. Tell her Mark sent you and she will give you all the details for excursions etc.We particularly enjoyed the river cruise and the morning trip to see the orangutans. Taxis to and from the airport are at a fixed price and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the river in the older block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyMarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

Dear SydneyMarka

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your travel companion have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team and with Nurul.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Traveled there for a business related trip using their conference rooms.
The hotel rooms were ok (not for my client though. apparently its not properly cleaned-hairs on the bed and coffee stains on the work tables)

However their service and management of the conference event was appalling. In course of the conference (day 1 of 2 days conference), there was a strong smell of durian permeating through the room (the arrangement was to have aromatherapy throughout the conference but was not prepared when that happened. Could have negated the smell if everything was according to the arrangement).
Then there is another problem where the dinner food timing was wrong. Arrangement were to have the dinner at 6.30 PM (ie. 18.30 hours) but the kitchen team arbitrarily assumed that the dinner timing is 8.30 PM without consulting the organizer (me).
All throughout there was other minor things such as the hotel personnel's availability during the conference (such as when there is a need to have some beverage for my client, hotel staff uses the room to travel to different parts of the hotel and many others)
Did place a complaint with the sales team (they manages my booking for the conference). While they are friendly and apologetic, but all that they do was say sorry....
Overall a disappointing experience (especially since my client and stakeholder were present and experienced it as well....)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulianLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear JulianLim

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

We are aware of this unfortunate incident and corrective action has been taken, for service improvement.

We hope to have you stay with us again, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

When we arrived at this hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly staff. I've been to this hotel with my family many times and this is the first time i stay here with my husband. Cool place to stay as they have a bar at the ground floor, short walking distance to Top Spot and you can have your evening stroll at the waterfront which is just 3 minutes walking form the hotel. I always love staying here because of the location. Service is good and the room is very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: New wing which they did some renovation for the rooms are a good place to stay. My room faced the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamJebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Dear PamJebbie

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your husband have had a great stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for the year-end holidays, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The Grand Margherita Hotel was a wonderful hotel located right in the heart of Kuching. I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of september, and was extremely impressed with everything from the rooms, the location, the staff and also the facilities.

Our room was nice and spacious, and the bathroom was clean. The bed was the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in, and the pillow was soft and perfect for a good nights sleep. The view from the room was relatively nice, and the air conditioner was perfect, and cooled us down after very warm day trips around Kuching. One problem I did face at this hotel was the shower. I struggled to turn it on, but that could have just been my lack of knowledge regarding different showers in foreign countries. Overall, the rooms in the hotel were very impressive and worth every cent spent.

The breakfast at the Grand Margherita was superb. There was a very large variety of food to chose from, such as toast, muffins, fresh fruit, fried rice, noodles and some desserts. The waiters at breakfast were very friendly and we were greeted every morning with a smile and a welcome which was a lovely way to start the day.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful whenever we needed help. They catered for our needs, and always offered a smiling face and a hello when we were in the lobby, which was nice.

Finally, the location of this hotel is perfect. It is located literally steps from the riverfront, and is in close proximity to all of the sights in Kuching. This hotel was wonderful and made our stay in Kuching very memorable. I would highly recommend staying here - it will not fail to disappoint!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elceehayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear elceehayward

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your friends have had a comfortable and memorable stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps a special request for breakfast, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very filthy. Location is in the main area of the city though. Rooms are very tired and the wifi is spotty. The lobby appears clean and large although quite misleading once you see how terribly disgusting the rooms are.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGOLD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear SGOLD88

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope to have you stay with us again, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have been at the Granf Margerhita for three nights, with one left to go. We are a famly of 2 adults and two children aged 14 and 8. We have one large room with two double beds. The room is spacious and clean with a bar fridge, a kettle and tea and coffee. We get complimentary water every day. The bathroom is clean and is kept well stocked with shampoo etc. The location is fantastic. Right on the water front with a terrific view of the Sarawak River. The hotel staff are super friendly and accomodating. The breakfast (included in the price) is a fantastic buffet with western, malay, chinese food. They have a chef on hand to cook your eggs, nooodles and roti! The coffee is terrfic and the service is prompt and polite.
The pool is clean an ample size. There are lounges around the pool and you can order drinks and food from the bar.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taar411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2012

Dear TrudyArarat

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, perhaps for the coming holidays, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights in September. The front office staff when we initially arrived were not very friendly and seemed a bit confused that I had made the booking through an online booking website. The room was clean and quite comfortable, however there was quite a lot of noise throughout the night from the road at the front of the hotel. The location of the hotel is good, being close to the river. For a short stay in Kuching, this hotel would be fine, however, for longer stays it may be possible to find a better hotel in a similar class.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelTroll074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2012

Dear TravelTroll074

Thank you for your review and recommendation and for letting us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for service improvement.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again - with FREE WiFi in our rooms!

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £28 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing