We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Margherita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Central, Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Previously a Holiday Inn Kuching. From the outside, you can tell the hotel is among the earliest hotels in the city. Once you step inside, you will notice the modern design lobby. We stayed at the high rise, 8th floor. The carpet on the corridor and in the room shows the wear and tear already. Same goes to furniture. The bed was wonderful. Very comfortable.

The washroom is really in the 70s design and the toilet bowl is a bit small. Beware when you flush the toilet. The water pressure is high and the water from bidet sprinkles to the floor when flushing. This is contrast to the shower where there water pressure is low.

If you are driving, parking may be a challenge. During our stay, there were alsways something going on at the hotel, hence the parking always full. Hotel parking is very limited and not covered. For covered parking, you can park at the adjacent SEDC building - upper floor. No basement. This will cost you flat rate of RM3 per entry if you are a hotel guest - which I don't agree. It should be free for hotel guest.

Overall, good hotel to spend a night in Kuching since almost everything within walking distance - Main Bazaar, Waterfront, Food Court. McDonald;'s is just across the street and the Cat statue is also across the street. Alternatively, can also stay at its sister hotel, Riverside Majestic (previously Crowne Plaza) which is also across the street. KFC - too easy to find one :-)

Room Tip: Higher floor and personally prefer river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeenHanafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear DeenHanafi

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement.

We are pleased that you have had a comfortable stay with your friends and we look forward to having you back again, perhaps in the coming festive holidays. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    221
    127
    46
    32
See reviews for
130
139
34
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I was here for a 4 days and 3 nights stay. My days were packed and I only have my mornings and nights with the hotel. To me, the sleep quality and what I ate in the morning is important.

The breakfast were great, decent choices of food though I could use a lil bit more of variety (like full cream milk or the infamous 'mee kolo'.). There were 'laksa Sarawak', oxtail soup, pastries, bread, pancakes (a variety of them - love it!) and maple syrup, sandwiches, salami & cheese, omelettes, porridge, half-boiled eggs, salads, yogurts, cereals, milk, juices, coffee and tea. My team and I had like a few rounds. Breakfast like a king, they say. Enough to last till dinner time (seriously..).

I love the room! Mine was a connecting room - twin beds facing the river. It may be a lil bit small in term of the space (cause I brought a really big luggage), but it doesn't really matter to me. All I know, the toilet exceed my expectations (they got water pipe next to the toilet bowl. Any toilet of mine, must have a pipe. That's compulsory. I cannot live with a bidet.) and my bed was really comfortable. Fluffy fluffy pillows. I had a very good sleep.

The hotel is very strategic. It's in the central of everything; the infamous 'kek lapis' shops - just across the river, craftshops just up ahead and shopping mall above the hills. KFC and McDonalds are also nearby. Food is really not a problem here.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms - twin beds, have riverside view. Request for rooms at level 4 if you prefer to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aritra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Aritra39

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you had an decent stay while in Kuching for business, and we look forward to having you back again. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Room:
1 stayed here for 2 nights
both nights are for the executive club with king bed..
on the 1st day, we got in our room and found that it was really worn out,
the side tables are so 1990s
the bathtub and toilet bowl were so old fashioned..
so we asked for a room change to the other wing (where the rooms are newly refurbished i think)
the room was nice, the bath room was modernly designed..
but it was wayyyy smaller than the 1st room..
it's more like a standard room in some hotels..

Breakfast & Dinner
really love it here..
I ate at orchid restaurant..
they have plenty of buffet choices..
terrific!!

Room service:
the poorest room service ever!
I called to request for pillow and my laundry
but, after about 1 hour and 20 minutes
it did not arrive..
i was so turned off by this very unprofessional attitude of their staff..

but location wise..this hotel deserves 5 stars..
right in the middle of kuching town..where else can you ask?

Room Tip: for executive club rooms on the new wing (just refurbished)...the king sized bed rooms are facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear cpd29

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I really liked this hotel, but unfortunately I cannot rate it higher that this due to a number of issues.
But first, the good points:

1. Location - best place directly on the riverfront, stunning views from the window. One of the famous cat sculptures - the fountain - is right in front of the entrance. Close to everything. Easy to get to and from the airport.
2. Good value for money for a double room with wifi and breakfast included in the room rate
3. Breakfast - good with plenty of choices, though thirty or something hot dishes including bbq chicken wings seems a bit redundand to me (can look, but not eat, not for breakfast). I had a feeling they were serving leftovers of the Christmas buffet dinner from the previous night.

Now, the bad points:

1. Very humid room, even with A/C working. Probably has something to do with gaps between the glass and window frames. Was smelling of mold and old carpets.
2. Major flooding in the bathroom when taking a shower
3. Build-in bidet could be used for putting out fires - the water flow is waaaay too strong.
4. Some mold in the bathroom
5. In-room safe was broken
6. Very loud "elevator music" in the corridors - could hear the same Christmas carols over and over again even from inside the room.

Maybe executive rooms are better than this, and I am willing to try again, shall I ever stay in Kuching. However, I would probably not recommend this place to other people because I don't want to be responsible for overadvertising.

Room Tip: Definitely a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Shaarila

Happy New Year and thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Booked the Executive Room so upon arrival, been directed to level 5 and greeted by a friendly reception. Room key being handed to me once the lift door open. Extremely fast check-in. Room = above expectation. Service = 100%. Love the executive lounge, great river view and enjoy unlimited beverages throughout the day 'free'..Value for money..Excellent employees, especially all the receptionist at level 5 and 2 bellman which are being extremely helpful. Thank you and this is the only hotel i'll stay in if i am returning to kuching someday.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MableLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear MableLam

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your family have had an extremely enjoyable experience with us, and we look forward to having you back again. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawang,Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Clean hotel, comfortable room, and best of all, the breakfast spread was beyond one's imagination. Food was plentiful and catered to both the vegetarians and non-vegetarians.
Very classy presentation. Hotel also very strategically located in the heart of Kuching town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susila Devi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Susila Devi G

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights although we originally had planned to stay for 5. Due to a change in plans I had to shorten my reservation and I am glad that we did. The hotel certainly is trying and has plenty of staff and provides reasonably good service. However, the rooms need a lot of work. For the price we paid, 200RM for room and breakfast excluding tax, it is passable. However, I would suggest that it is worth spending a bit more to get one of the newer hotels in Kuching.

The lobby and main restaurant have been renovated in a fresh and contemporary style and give a good impression on arrival. Unfortunately the rooms are not so good.

They have updated the soft furnishings, like bed and linen, but left carpet, bathrooms, wardrobes, chairs etc untouched. I could live with old furnishings if they are clean but the room wasn't really cleaned properly. For some reason the a/c in the room didn't work very well and the corridor felt cooler than our room. On the plus side they have free wifi in all rooms.

Breakfast was ok. It was a busy period so lots of diners in the restaurant making it difficult to find a table. Service from the staff was okay on the first day but poor on the second day. The range of food was okay and included an egg station. If you know where to go for breakfast outside the hotel you could certainly do better. One thing I found amazing was that they had a new room and new colour scheme but kept the 1980s style faded floral plates.

For a couple of nights this hotel was passable. They have some good points (new public areas, free wifi) but have quite a few things to work on. I wouldn't stay here again and would try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Dear CharlesDP,

Season's Greetings and thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the relevant departments for service improvement, and we apologise for a less-than-perfect experience.

We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Kuching, and we'll make it up to you. To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Property: Grand Margherita Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing