We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel in Kuching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel in Kuching”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed at the Grand Margherita during a family vacation to Kuching.

The hotel is central located in downtown Kuching, overlooking the riverfront. There are several restaurants and cafe's nearby, as well shops the river promenade.

Staff are friendly and helpful.The hotel has a good buffer breakfast. Their dinner buffet also offers a huge selection of items.

We stayed at the rooms in the new wing which are upto date, modern and comfortable.

The hotel has decent facilities including 2 swimming pools, a bar and an adjacent mall. They offer a shuttle service to the airport and can also organise a vehicle for day trips.

Overall I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adi-Bandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Adi-Bandi

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your family have had a comfortable stay and have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next trip back to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    248
    138
    47
    33
See reviews for
143
159
42
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Today in Kuching after a great stay at Hatten Melaka. Sarawak Regatta right in front of Grand Margherita Hotel(GMH). Regret did not booked into it this time round.
One night stay in GMH 18 June, 2013. Grand old hotel that give you a sense of nostalgia. We assume all rooms face waterfront. If true, hotel should highlight this as key selling proposition. Room of renovated will provide good value for your stay. Current condition at the price paid is ok. Toiletries are sufficient, bed and towels clean.
Restaurant food was good. Had steaks and it's ok. Entertain a family(local Sarawakians) in the same restaurant the next day.My guests was happy with it's food and services.
Only regret was responded to hotel upgrade to Executive Club Floor at a fee but staff don't seem to read your response. Also did read Hotel's PR Manager replies in your Reviews. It seems like standard replies (replicates of earlier replies). If so, disappointing.
ROSENMYYUSOP

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSENMYYUSOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear ROSENMYYUSOP

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We apologise for a less-than-perfect stay and rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, and also to secure a room during the Sarawak Regatta, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next trip back to Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Kuching. Reception counter was very slow upon check-in and the key card was not functioning so I have to come down again for Receptionist to re-do it.
Room was spacious.Basic amenities. Standing Light, Table Light not functioning.
Bathtub, furniture, room carpet stain and out dated.
It's time to upgrade.
Hotel provides Free Wi-Fi.
Location very convenient to Sarawak Plaza, Tun Jugah Mall and famous Top Spot Food Court.
Few minutes walk to Waterfront and long stretch of shop eateries.
Matahari Tour Counter located at Hotel Lobby provide very good service, especially young chinese lady and Mr TAN the Van Driver very helpful & friendly thanks to them very much.
Me & My family enjoy the sightseeing tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_G1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Irene_Goh

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We apologise for the inconveniences caused and rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next trip back to Kuching, perhaps for Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is strategically located in the town..all within walking distance to the waterfront, Sarawak Plaza, shopping malls, etc.
Hotel room was very comfortable yet clean & spacious.
Easy access to food, as TopSpot Seafood Food Court is 2 streets away.

The hotel also provides free Internet access.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivianlsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear vivianlsk

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are pleased that you and your travel companion have had a comfortable stay with us!

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next trip back to Kuching, perhaps for Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is our first time spending a night in this hotel. The room is spacious (river view) and we enjoy ourselves go for an evening walk at the Waterfront and we can find many types of foods along the way especially at night. Few minutes walk for shopping at Sarawak Plaza Shopping, Tun Jugah, Riverside Shopping complex that is next to the hotel. Me and my family had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyS8712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear EmilyS8712

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are pleased that you and your family had a great time while staying with us!

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, or for that weekend getaway, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having spent nearly a week in Kuching, I was so pleased I chose Grand Margherita Hotel as my accommodation. It was central to everything, right by the river with direct access to the pleasant waterfront. The pool was also really pleasant after a busy day sightseeing and walking. Our room was modern, comfortable, great shower, huge bed, daily newspaper delivered to the door and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. The hotel was excellent value for money and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in a central part of Kuching. Thanks for a lovely time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear HelenLK

Thank you for your review and recommendations! We are honoured to be able to provide a super stay for your sojourn in Sarawak.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is the very strategic to be stayed, very friendly and helpfull sttafs. The hotel is very clean and easy to reach to the room. Luckly, my room opposite to the river view. Nice view at night.

Just only two miniutes from waterfront, Kuching and Sarawak Plaza beside the hotel can bring you to shopping paradise and food court just near the hotel.


Nice, wounderfull and beautifull hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltsgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear waltsgg

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are glad that you have had a nice stay with us.

Rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with the relevant departments for continuous service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching, perhaps for Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
994 reviews
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#9 of 54 in Kuching
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Property: Grand Margherita Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing