We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and busy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Checked in last week, the bell counter staffs not very friendly, not even a single smiling face, it seen like we own them a millions dollars or had a bad mood.
I felt embarrassed recommended to my friend from UK. However, the receptionist are very friendly and helpful.
The room very good and clean (because brand new, after renovation)
Breakfast extremely busy, but the staffs are helpful and friendly not like the bell counter staffs, every morning or day never greeting the guest.
Next to the river easy access to the river side and walk along the riverfront.

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Lucas9620

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We apologise for the unfriendliness experienced at the bell counter and have shared your feedback with the team for improvement.

We hope that you and your friend will stay with us again. To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist and we'll make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Margherita for 7 nights in November as part of a great deal with Air Asia. For us the accommodation was perfect. The hotel is on the waterfront (we asked for a water view room) and convenient to many of the inner city places of interest plus very close to some of the best eating places in Kuching, Top Spot and Chong Choon. River taxis and road taxes take you to the door.

Sure our room was a little tired, but it was clean and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the pool at the end of most days, usually had breakfast there (included in the rates for us) and used the gym as well. We arranged tours at the in house booking service. The foyer and reception are lovely.

No doubt I would consider staying there again if I ever returned to Kuching.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Some of the more expensive rooms may have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieAl_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear aussieAl_61

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are most honored to be able to provide a great base for you and your family in exploring Kuching.

We have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Having frequently stayed in this hotel when it was then the Holiday Inn, I decided to give this place a try on my recent vacation to Kuching. But sad to say, nothing seemed reminiscent of the Holiday Inn days and one could tell even at the point of stepping into the lobby.

The Front Office could do better starting from check-in courtesies and to basic customer service. It was rather shocking to be asked to pay RM25 for internet use (available only at the Business Centre) when all I wanted was to check on some flight details (which wouldn't have taken more than five minutes). The contention was free wi-fi being available in all rooms, but lest we forget, not all guests travel with laptops . If smaller hotels are able to cater to this, why can't some kind of facility be provided for guest convenience at some corner of the lobby?

Breakfast was quite an unpleasant affair with haphazard food arrangement. Imagine picking your cheese next to the juice station and having to walk across to the other end of the room for bread and pastries. Coffee/tea dispensers are behind counters making self service very inconvenient. Western section had limited choices, while Asian choices seem scattered all over. The second day at breakfast was total chaos having to contend with a tour group and their noise level. Food may be plenty, but quality and taste, on the whole, need to be further improved upon.

The first night in a room facing the river (a view supposed to be a bonus) turned out to be a sleepless one due to some pump or compressor whirring away throughout the night from somewhere below the window. And this room, in the old wing, definitely needs a lot of work to ensure guest comfort. The second night, following a change to a room in the new wing, was an improvement.

The plus to this hotel is its location of being directly at the water front and situated in the midst of shops and malls.

Will I ever return to this hotel again? That is something to be thought about!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TkLim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear TkLim07

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. A Tourist Information Kiosk is provided in the corner of our Lobby for guests to surf the internet and plan their holidays for free. You need not have to pay the RM 25 and we apologise for not listening to your needs and offering an effective solution. We will arrange for full reimbursement of the RM25. Kindly email us your stay details at pr@centraloffice.my

We have shared your invaluable feedback with the team for service improvement. As for the old wing, it is our pleasure to share with you that a renovation plan is in place for 2014!

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Overall the bedrooms and breakfast were good value for money. The walls, carpets and bathrooms need some serious work. Looks like they haven't been renovated for a long while. Staff were helpful with requests for late check out.

Did experience a 20 min wait for breakfast one morning - they seem understaffed in the restaurant so tables were not being cleared quickly enough for the guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and preferably facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khatiyani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Khatiyani

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. A renovation plan for our rooms has just been approved for 2014 and we are ecstatic!

It is unsettling to learn that our guests have waited 20 minutes for breakfast and we have shared your invaluable feedback with the team for service improvement. We very sorry about this.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is strategically located in town.Evrything withing walking distance to the waterfront,shopping malls even cross the river.Room was spacious,breakfast was okay (better go for asian food),room was clean,wifi was fast, staff service was so so.The thing to complaint was water pressure to bath was low ,swimming pool was small and the overpowering toilet flush~Abit of noise in the night if u take city view room ~From airport to the hotel by cab it take around 30mins with the price of 26nett from airport cab.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliencess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Mikies

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We apologise for the low water pressure in the bath and overpowering toilet flush; rest assured, we have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for product and service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

better late than never...stayed june 2013. 2 mums with 5 boys under 12, 2 rooms adjoining, think we were in 314 & 315. First leg of our 30 day trip
Booked Grand Margherita after much research and a recommendation from a friend who had previously stayed with family. Deluxe rooms (renovated) with river and pool view. first impression was that these rooms fit the bill for us with 2 dbl beds. I actually found that this was one of very few hotels that allowed 1 adult and 3 children in the same room without having to book a second room, also for 3 didn't need to pay for a rollaway bed. The email communications for booking direct with the hotel were courteous and prompt. we got a really good deal as we stayed 7 nights.
I did read reviews about the noise disturbance with adjoining rooms, didn't notice this at all - maybe because we were together and the door was often open? but even when closed didn't notice any excessive noise. Outside noise was noticeable during the night with music / karaoke from somewhere across the river maybe. We still slept quite well. The beds were rock hard the pillows soft - on first checking out the bed this did bother me but I honestly had some of the best nights' sleep I had for a long time, so I guess that worked for me! The bathroom was ordinary - big enough, not fully renovated but OK. I would say the daily housekeeping didn't do such a great job cleaning the bathroom and that would be my only gripe.
breakfast was a large spread of both Asian and western(ish) dishes. lots of Asian choices of noodles, rice curries etc on the other side, pastries, sausages, hash browns (kids fav) toast, breads, eggs - something for everyone. was often quite busy i'm thinking they get a few tour groups?
great location for us as we could walk everywhere we wanted in town, taxi stand out the front and supermarket next door! Staff were always friendly and helpful. we utilised the pool a bit, having the 5 kids and it was fine. Wasn't expecting a resort sized pool (as some have commented) I had done my research and seen the pictures! no surprises. We enjoyed cocktails by the pool much to the amusement of the pool boy and bar staff who were only too happy to oblige :-)
all in all - would I stay here again - yes. was what we expected for what we paid and suited our largish group (would probably go 'good' somewhere between average and very good)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kawoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear kawoos

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are very honored to be part of the great start to your great 30 day holiday with the family and have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel's location is good. It is in the city center facing the river and have access to waterfront. Though these were the only pros. The cons included smelly room, extremely noisy aircon (i think it requires maintenance as the sound is as if you have tractor in your room), wet bed sheets, dirty towels and dirty cups that were not washed after previous guests (it took around one hour to change both), unfriendly staff. They are also not able to cope with a number of people ateending breakfast, restaurant is full, food is not replenished and it takes ages to get coffee.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Katakmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Katakmei

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We apologise for the poor service and quality experienced and hope that this visit will not deter you from staying with us again as we'll make it up to you the next time around.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £28 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing