We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Great place to stay in.... In the middle of the town... Restaurants, shopping malls and ATMs are just in a walking distant.... Those who wish to chill at night, there are a few bars available nearby... Friendly staffs, comfortable and clean room.... Breakfast is fine with varieties of food... Those who are vegetarians would be happy to know that the hotel provides vegetarian foods for breakfast.... Satisfied with the service... able to sleep soundly and comfortably after an adventurous day outside.... 20 minutes drive to the airport and transportation is available till late night, there are taxis on standby in front of the hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shashaonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear shashaonthego

Season's greetings and thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are glad that you and your friends have had a satisfying stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know and send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We choose your hotel as our honeymoons place.1st place we meet each other when this hotel still under Holiday Inn Hotel 23 years ago.Feel excited and happy to come back after 19 years im resign from MAS.Frm what I see your hotel location is good.Arrive and checking in room just next to the lift 3rd floor.Room very noisy cant sleep at all.Children run everywhere and housekeeping trolley push out from the lift also very loud can hear from the room.Music pipe also very loud but its okay.After call to reception asking to change room, we was given room at the corner.Wow its peaceful and nice evening sunset can see from our room.Joining an evening cocktail at Club Lounge chit chat with staff named Ms Rebecca was nice person talk to.We talk until finish cocktail hours.She give us a tips if we want to go for shopping and recommend us which place popular of Mi Kolok & Sarawak Laksa.Finally yessss we found that place and really enjoy the environment. Thank you because making our honeymoons more memorable. Will come back next year with our children and of course we will stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariagohabdullah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear mariagohabdullah

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are happy that you and your husband have had a memorable honeymoon while staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We arrived very late at night and were quickly checked in - but then left on our own to take our own bags to our room. It seemed that the room had not been completed in terms of cleaning as there was a dirty towel in the bathroom, a dirty bottle near the bed and the pillow cases were not clean. Next morning, breakfast was very good, with great service - but we were given a survey to fill out and of course the breakfast scored well. Not so for the rest of our stay, during which the breakfast service was really lacking and I always seemed to be last served at the egg counter - locals seemingly served before me. Our room safe was locked when we arrived and it took 3 phone calls and 2 visits to reception before someone came to our room. We booked a cab through the travel counter for our early morning flight - cab didn't show.
All this was disappointing as we have stayed in 2012 and the hotel was very good then. The location is great, the pool is great, just didn't quite get the service this time.
The location is fantastic,

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEB0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear DEB0077

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We would like to apologise for a disappointing stay - rooms, egg station, room safe - and we'll make it up to you the next time around.

Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the team for service improvement.

We hope that you will stay with us again and to ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Location
20 minutes from the airport
Located in the central of attraction in Kuching
Surrounded by major hotels and shopping malls.
By the waterfront.
Easy access from all over kuching.
Restaurants can be found within walking distance which open till late night. In fact, there are 24 hours KFC, McDs and also 7eleven 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Facilities
Sufficient for a good rest and holiday in Kuching.
Swimming pool at the lobby/ Ground floor. So not that privacy but most suitable for kids.
Breakfast taste was not to my liking but was okay.
Travel agency at the lobby.
Taxis are on standby in front of the hotel till late night.

Service
Check in & out process was reasonably fast

Room
Basic room amenities but without toothbrush
Minimum tv channels
Bed was not that soft, not to my liking.
Working desk, sofa available.

Sleeping Quality
Not optimal but was okay.

Overall experience
Satisfying

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear nazzerooney

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a comfortable and satisfying stay with us while on business and have shared your invaluable feedback with the team.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Checked in last week, the bell counter staffs not very friendly, not even a single smiling face, it seen like we own them a millions dollars or had a bad mood.
I felt embarrassed recommended to my friend from UK. However, the receptionist are very friendly and helpful.
The room very good and clean (because brand new, after renovation)
Breakfast extremely busy, but the staffs are helpful and friendly not like the bell counter staffs, every morning or day never greeting the guest.
Next to the river easy access to the river side and walk along the riverfront.

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas9620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Lucas9620

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. We apologise for the unfriendliness experienced at the bell counter and have shared your feedback with the team for improvement.

We hope that you and your friend will stay with us again. To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist and we'll make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Margherita for 7 nights in November as part of a great deal with Air Asia. For us the accommodation was perfect. The hotel is on the waterfront (we asked for a water view room) and convenient to many of the inner city places of interest plus very close to some of the best eating places in Kuching, Top Spot and Chong Choon. River taxis and road taxes take you to the door.

Sure our room was a little tired, but it was clean and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the pool at the end of most days, usually had breakfast there (included in the rates for us) and used the gym as well. We arranged tours at the in house booking service. The foyer and reception are lovely.

No doubt I would consider staying there again if I ever returned to Kuching.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Some of the more expensive rooms may have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieAl_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear aussieAl_61

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are most honored to be able to provide a great base for you and your family in exploring Kuching.

We have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for service and product improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Having frequently stayed in this hotel when it was then the Holiday Inn, I decided to give this place a try on my recent vacation to Kuching. But sad to say, nothing seemed reminiscent of the Holiday Inn days and one could tell even at the point of stepping into the lobby.

The Front Office could do better starting from check-in courtesies and to basic customer service. It was rather shocking to be asked to pay RM25 for internet use (available only at the Business Centre) when all I wanted was to check on some flight details (which wouldn't have taken more than five minutes). The contention was free wi-fi being available in all rooms, but lest we forget, not all guests travel with laptops . If smaller hotels are able to cater to this, why can't some kind of facility be provided for guest convenience at some corner of the lobby?

Breakfast was quite an unpleasant affair with haphazard food arrangement. Imagine picking your cheese next to the juice station and having to walk across to the other end of the room for bread and pastries. Coffee/tea dispensers are behind counters making self service very inconvenient. Western section had limited choices, while Asian choices seem scattered all over. The second day at breakfast was total chaos having to contend with a tour group and their noise level. Food may be plenty, but quality and taste, on the whole, need to be further improved upon.

The first night in a room facing the river (a view supposed to be a bonus) turned out to be a sleepless one due to some pump or compressor whirring away throughout the night from somewhere below the window. And this room, in the old wing, definitely needs a lot of work to ensure guest comfort. The second night, following a change to a room in the new wing, was an improvement.

The plus to this hotel is its location of being directly at the water front and situated in the midst of shops and malls.

Will I ever return to this hotel again? That is something to be thought about!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TkLim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear TkLim07

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can improve. A Tourist Information Kiosk is provided in the corner of our Lobby for guests to surf the internet and plan their holidays for free. You need not have to pay the RM 25 and we apologise for not listening to your needs and offering an effective solution. We will arrange for full reimbursement of the RM25. Kindly email us your stay details at pr@centraloffice.my

We have shared your invaluable feedback with the team for service improvement. As for the old wing, it is our pleasure to share with you that a renovation plan is in place for 2014!

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know. Alternatively, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we would be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £28 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing