We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Margherita Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$76
US$48
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abell Hotel(Kuching)
US$52
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The LimeTree Hotel(Kuching)
US$39
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
56 Hotel(Kuching)
US$33
US$26
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$28
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
141
279
150
49
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
279
150
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverholiday innsarawak plazarenovated roomcat statuewalking distancetun jugahthe executive loungetop spotwater frontcoffee housea river view roomhotel is situatedlaksa sarawakstrategic locationnon smokingseafood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We decided to stay here for our WONCA Conference held at Borneo Kuching Convention Centre. No regrets. The staff were so helpful, warm and friendly. Shops were within walking distance. Cheap stuff. We rented a car, a Malaysian MYVI for RM100 per day. Driving is so easy in Kuching, no traffic jams and easy to park. Kuching people are really NICE.
The food was cheap, tasty and wide choices. Breakfast was excellent. Will return.

Room Tip: Choose a RIVER VIEW room, higher floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mrs Boe

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We're very happy that you and your loved one have had a great time staying with us during the WONCA Conference and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Do not hesitate to book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee when planning your next visit to Kuching. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I got upgraded happily to a larger suite room as I wanted no smoking and a river view. Improtantly no smoking proved to indeed be that. If you get the river view expect the call to prayer at dawn to wake you for the first few nights.
The staff were helpful bringing pillow choice; opening the locked windows so i could have fresh air. Great firm king sized bed. Wifi worked well.
Breakfast.. the western one is not great but if you expand your horizons the noodles were lovely.
Yes the carpet was dated and is is ineed of replacing. I was in the unrenovated part - more wood and more authentic than the generic modern hotel style of the renovated section. I preferred authentic and I dont care if a carpet is worn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear KarenCan

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We're delighted that you have had a pleasant stay with us and preferred the rooms in the Sadong Wing.

Do book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and then returned three days later for a further two nights. The first room was at the front of the hotel and faced the road. The traffic noise was very noisy all night. We were woken up several times during the night. The room was a descent size and clean but the decor was very tired. On the second visit I asked for a room at the back of the hotel. This room had a great view over the river. It too was clean and appeared slightly larger than the first room. The food in the restaurant was of good a standard. The bar prices were quite high compared to other bars, restaurants in the area. Overall a nice hotel but please put double glazing in the front bedroom!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel with a river view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Graham1309

Thank you for your review and recommendation! It has been a pleasure having you and your loved one staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Do book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for a business trip with a friend. Booked a deluxe but got bumped up to executive suite due to over booking.(hmm...but hey, no complains there). Room was spacious with living room and study desk, Dining table for 3. King size beds with plenty of pillows..i especially love the choices for 'Firm' or 'soft' pillow.. really considerate i would think. Amazingly comfortable bed... and seeing how accommodating that is after a long day of conference, i want to compliment the hotel.. adequate amenities and large closet. In room iron and board..(yay!) Great scenery of the riverside and the colorful neon lights from the river cruise became an interesting site every evening...

The only complaint i have is the rather narrow shower. Can't move an elbow without brushing against the wall or curtain.. hot water was inconsistent but good flow... and there were signs of decay over ceiling and around the faucet. Perhaps management could do a little upgrading..

i also love the fact that it's location is practically walking distance away from everything u need. A mall attached to ground floor, plenty of eateries nearby with a 24H KFC and Mcd just around the corner. ATM a plenty around. A simple stroll down the riverside walkway will lead you straight into town where u can pick your knick knacks. Wanna look for those much talk-a-bout kek lapis? A mere 50 cents fee will get u a ride on the boat taking u across the river in 3 minutes to the famous kek lapis outlets or u can just get them in town...

But i enjoyed my stay.. it was a warm and elegant welcome for a good 3 nights. Very conveniently located and great hospitality. Wouldn't mind coming again the next time round...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the riverside have an excellent night view...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Karlz A

Thank you for your review and recommendation. It's good to know that we've been able to make your conference stay in Kuching relaxing and enjoyable.

When planning your next Kuching getaway, do book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Room for improvements:
The staff at the reception counter was courteous but took quite some time to check me in. My room was clean and spacious but the interior was a bit boring. Unfortunately, you cannot call the house keeping directly, but you need to call reception counter to place your request. Hence, it took awhile for me to get the prayer mat, which wasn't placed in my room in the first place.

The strengths:
They served good and delicious breakfast and the F&B staff replenished the food efficiently.
The location is very strategic and gives a nice view of Sarawak riverbank and waterfront.
The rooms have been recently refurbished.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arenaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Grand Margherita Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear arenaKu

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We're happy that you and your family have had a pleasant stay with us and we apologise for the delay in delivering the prayer mat.

Do not hesitate to book directly with us to enjoy our Best Price Guarantee when planning your next visit to Kuching. If we can be of assistance in any way, do send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my and we will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews