We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Margherita Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost!”
Reviewed 12 July 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Kuching town during the rainforest music festival and had the worst time ever, thanks to the horrible staff.
1.Upon checking in, we enquired if there were any riverside-view rooms available. But we were informed that they were all full. However when another couple right next to us asked another receptionist if there were any riverside-view rooms available, she said there was a room available!!!! We then told them to put us on the reservation list for such a room, but no one even bothered to call us the next day to let is know whether such a room was available or not.
2.The next day, as my cousin entered the room, a light bulb fell on her head and shattered! When I called the receptionist, they were hardly bothered as if it’s a natural occurrence. No one bothered to come up and see if my cousin was ok until I called for the duty manager and insisted that she come up to the room. The Duty Manager took the situation very lightly and didn’t even bother to offer any medical care for my cousin. All she did was assure us that such a thing would not happen again. However later another light bulb shattered. Thankfully no one was injured. So we were shifted to another similar room where this time the pipe was leaking all over the place. So we were asked to shift yet again to another room, where the Duty Manager and the staff did not even bother to help us shift and didn’t even bother calling for the porter to help with moving our things.
3.Over the next two days no one bothered to check on my cousin or even call and see if she was ok. My cousin did in fact suffer from bouts of headache the whole day. All they offered was a meal voucher for dinner for one day, which we returned to them.

I was very very disappointed with the way things were handled. Very very unprofessional indeed. A light bulb shattering on someone’s head should be considered an emergency situation as the victim could have suffered from concussions. My cousin was very very lucky that no glass pieces got into her eyes.
My advice to anyone going to Kuching is to avoid this hotel at all costs. I think you should spend more and stay at some other hotel if it means that your safety or well being is ensured.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sabyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    232
    129
    46
    33
See reviews for
135
149
37
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2006

We spent one beautiful week in the Holiday Inn Hotel Kuching. We had an excellent Junior Suite on the 9-th floor with an amazing view of the Sarawak River.
Our suite had three rooms – a very spacious living room with TV, minibar and internet access, a bedroom with a king size bed and a small quiet business room. We enjoyed all these amenities very much.
The Orchid Garden restaurant offered every morning a big choice of juices, fresh fruits, tasty bread and bread rolls, cheese, wonderful coffee and Asian food. We need really one week for trying everything! And the staff war very very friendly and helpful.

Kuching is a good base for making one day excursions to Semengoh Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre and Bako National park. It is easy to get there and nowhere else you have the possibility to watch the rare proboscis monkeys from a very short distance.
If you have more time you can spent one or two nights in the park and see other animals (green viper, bearded pig, monitor lizard, silver leaf monkey etc.)

We love the Waterfront, like to stroll there in the evening, look at the anglers and people walking by.
This was the 5-th time we have visited Kuching and we surely come back next year!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kolja55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 October 2005

After having spent nearly the month in India, staying primeraly in less than acceptable accomodation. Kucking was a refreshing change. We had not stayed in Holiday Inns before and were very impressed with the whole service and accomidation. The staff were very freindly and efficient. The food at the hotel was of a very high standard and the rooms them self were above average. there was very little that was not thought of in the preparation of the room. Its situation is very pleasing and not only do you have some incredible views of the river and surrounds but it is in close proximaty to the shops, markets , waterfront and entertainment complexes. I recomend that people take at least a couple of the tours offered as there is such diversity within the island.
I love going to Bali but the hassle free bargaining in Kuching was really refreshing. The Holiday Inn hotel offers as much to the buisness traveler as the tourist and i thoughraly reccomend them.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 August 2005

The hotel was very impressive. The lobby and the rooms are very spacious and clean and the dining facilities are excellent. Ocassionally the food could do with being a little hotter but we didn't get ill and we certainly ate well. The hotel has stunning views over the river - ask for a river view room on a high floor. There are free internet facilites, a good range of drinks and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also well situated for a lot of shops and a free tram service into town is available if you get a sticker from reception. It takes you on a good tour of the town.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2005

We have just returned from a 7 night satay at the Holiday Inn Kuching. The hotel is excellently placed for shopping, McDonalds etc but the pool is awful !!! The whole pool area is dark, dingy, dirty looking and uninviting. The pool water was murky and had bird feathers floating in it because there is a tree in the "garden" where thousands of birds bed down for the night. There are 6 sunbeds for the whole hotel !!! I couldn't believe it - but that said they were nerly always empty as the pool area was not inviting at all. We used the Crowne Plaza pool (part of the same Holiday Inn chain so it is o.k. to use) across the road - slighty inconvenient but this pool was much better and I think they had 12 sun beds. (Hilton has a nicer pool but is further away and only 7 sun beds !!)

Back to the hotel everything else was o.k. - room, facilities and restuarant. Staff very helpful and free internet at reception for guest use. There is a free tram/trolley for tourists that circles Kuching - ask for stickers from the bell captain. There is also a shuttle bus to the beach hotels (10 ringits return) - both beach hotels are lovely but very remote. The cultural village is good and would recommend this in the morning and then the beach hotel for the afternoon and catch the 5.15 p.m. shuttle back (55 ringits p.p. from the bell captain) - this gets you back to the city arond 6 p.m. Hire a taxi to visit the orang-utans (approx 80 ringits there/back/waiting time) - this is the best place to view them as you can get very close and it is much more natural than Sepilok - and only 3 ringits entrance (Sepilok is 30 ringits but it is still good value)

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Misstq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 May 2005

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Kuching in March 2005 and it was wonderful! The room was very spacious and the beds very comfortable. Coming from South Africa, everything about the East was different but so exciting and interesting. They offer a huge variety of very tasty dishes.
I fell in love with the country, not even to mention the people. The staff at the hotel is so efficient and helpful. They arranged tours to the most fascinating places! And everything happened on time!
My mother hurt her ankle during our fabulous jungle trekking event and back at the hotel we asked to see a doctor. He arrived within 15min! This was so amazing.
Thumbs up for Holiday Inn Kuching and staff! You will be fondly remembered. This was one of my best vacations ever. Malaysia, truly Asia!

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 March 2005

A 3 star hotel, it's seen little old(open for a long time), the room is a little old and the bath room
is old.

  • Stayed June 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Margherita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Margherita Hotel

Property: Grand Margherita Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2362, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Margherita Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city's business, entertainment and shopping district, the hotel offers free WiFi and is 20 minutes drive from the Kuching International Airport. Grand Margherita Hotel is adjacent to the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. Its sister hotel, the Riverside Majestic, is located just across the road. With tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and Main Bazaar nearby, Grand Margherita Hotel certainly has the best location in the city for business or leisure. Grand Margherita Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Margherita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing