We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furama Lodging House
Ranked #47 of 81 Kuching B&B and Inns
Miri, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We ended up staying at Furama when the guesthouse that we had intended to go to next door was full. The rooms have had some wear and tear but were very clean and had air con and a small tv (with no English channels) We had originally only planned to stay for 2 nights but extended our stay for 5. The hotel is very close to the waterfront, mall,post office, bus station and banks and many restaurants. They also have free coffee, tea and drinking water available 24hours a day.The staff definitely made our stay. They were extremely friendly and helpful. The offered to clean our room and replace our towels every day. We asked if we could keep some food in the fridge and it wasn't a problem at all. They shared cookies with us and offered to arrange a taxi for us when we left and any tours we might need. The service alone would make me recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place with a convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 01Kelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Staff were friendly and helpful although only one of them actually knows how to speak in English. They should also let the travellers pay using credit card as not all would carry cash around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borneonikieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stresa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Rooms are simple but comfortable, everything works perfectly (air-con, hot shower), and the staff is very helpful. It is located in the centre of the city, close to everything you need (restaurants, points of interest). Good quality/price ratio. They clean rooms only if you ask.

Room Tip: "Deluxe" rooms are a little more expensive than "Normal" ones, but they worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MauroBrisino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My wife and I made a very last minute decision to go to the annual Rainforest World Music Festival not far from Kuching city centre. It was a surprise to me that we were able to find a room at all just a week before the festival.

I had expected the hotel to be run down and dilapidated but I could not be more wrong. The place is clean and the staff are very warm and friendly. What the place feels like is not of a hotel but a typical Asian family home that happen to have lots of rooms and their rates reflect it.

And if my wife was not with me I think I would have told the lady boss that she is one of the most beautiful woman I've ever met, because she is (ok give me discounts next time yea?).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macplastik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

~~ Cheap - RM90 Net (Lodging Type)!!
~~ Clean
~~ Comfortable
~~ Very good location. There are a lot of food stalls and tourism places nearby.
~~ Good Service
~~ The staffs are very kind n friendly.
~~ The rooms are big,
~~ TV got lot of channels
~~ The design is nice n classic.
~~ Opposite the Lodging house has famous bar n western restaurants.
~~ Right site of the Furama has a lot of local famous food stalls.
~~ Besides, 5 min walk can take a boat (RM1) to cross the river to have fantastic food.

Overall 9 points out of 10 *** (9/10)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank comaksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Kembangan, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The lodging hotel located just at the Kuching city centre. Surrounded by major hotel groups and attractions. Walking distance to many attractions such as the Tua Pek Gong temple, Atap street, Indian street and etc. The hotel is very simple, but well maintain. Clean, nice and comfortable (Very clean toilet !). Seemed to me like just renovated. Friendly boss and staffs who can provide you information where to visit. Local coffee shop and restaurants are nearby. Reasonable cheap rates. No breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zixue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This midclass hotel offers modern but cheap rooms. The place is quite new and caters mainly to Malaysians from the mainland that are going to Borneo for a short holiday. The hotel is also quite usable for western tourists, however!

Sandwitched between two hostels, this hotel has a different clientele then the neighboring places. The rooms (we stayed in a deluxe double) are large and equipped with tv, air-conditioning and ensuite bathrooms with loads of hot water. The rooms are cleaned daily which is quite special at this price level in Kuching. Staff was very friendly and also kind of funny (strange Chinese accent).

The hotel is quite sterile, so if you're looking for romantic lighting or something like that you'd better go elsewhere.

One downside: the hotel doesn't provide breakfast, so you have to go elsewhere for that. There are some cheap eateries just down the street.

I highly recommend this place to everyone looking for a place to stay without breaking the bank. However, backpackers might be better off next door at Nomad hostel where there are better opportunities to meet other travelers). The rooms and beds at Furama are better however!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalapogosNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Kuok Pin Hotel
#44 of 77 in Kuching
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
48 Room-for-Rent
48 Room-for-Rent
#31 of 81 in Kuching
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gibbon Guesthouse
Gibbon Guesthouse
#11 of 81 in Kuching
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backpacker's Stay
Backpacker's Stay
#19 of 77 in Kuching
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jewels of Borneo Guest House
0.2 mi away
John's Place
John's Place
#15 of 81 in Kuching
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama Lodging House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama Lodging House

Property: Furama Lodging House
Address: No. 4, Lorong Green Hill 7, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Furama Lodging House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Furama Lodging House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing