We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Kebun= OUR BORNEO HIGHLGHT!!”
Review of The Kebun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kebun
Evans Head, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Kebun= OUR BORNEO HIGHLGHT!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

WOW- we loved the Kebun!!
We stayed for a total of 6 nights in Olivias bungalow- April this year. We are an Australian family of 4- kids ages 10 and 12 yrs.

The bungalows- The Kebun offers 2 beautiful bungalows nestled away amoungst beautiful surroundings, there is also a longhouse that Adrian has built himself, which would be fun to stay in if you had extra family or friends. Olivias bungalow was very spacious with 2 separate b/rooms, kitchen, lounge room, bathroom/toilet and 2 veranda front and back. The back veranda overlooks a lovely creek. We found the airconditioning an extra bonus. There is a tv with plently of videos to watch as well, although we found ourselves at night reminscing over the great times we had had dueing our days (great family time). there is a washing machine for your use, were you can wash your own clothes or get them washed for you. We would always come home after big days out to have our clothes neatly folded ready to be put away THANKYOU :)

Around the farm- Each morning we were spoilt to the best fresh farm eggs we had ever eaten! and Adrians honey from his own bees on freshly baked bread (delivered to your bungalow each day). our bungalow also had a tank of fresh cooled water. In the evenings we were delivered beautiful meals to our bungalow, cooked from Olivias famous kichen! Adrian has a very well run farm with goats, ducks, geese, turkeys, (just to name a few). We were very impressed by how spotlessly clean everything was, a lot of work is put into this farm, it was very nice to just roam around and have a look at.

Our days- Well you can do as much or as little as you like while staying at the Kebun. We are a very active family and wanted to do sooo much! Adrian helped us organise the best days ever! Adrian organised a driver called "Raffie" who drove us wherever we wanted to go for that day. Raffie was a highlight of our 3 weeks in Borneo, our family still reminisce and laugh over the great days spent with Raffie. Raffie was our personal local tour guide- pointing out things of interest along the way. We learnt a lot about Raffies culture- he took us to his local fishing village where he grew up - he called himself the "village Boss" everyone stopped to talk to him, we felt like celebrities next to him! his favourite saying being "don't worry be happy" WE MISS YOU RAFFIE :)

Adrian and Olivia were fantastic hosts- making us feel part of there family. We went out to the most amazing place for dinner one evening- places you would not go to on your own (as you would not even know they exisited). Adrian is a local so knows lots of contacts. He is freinds with local rangers and was able to organise a tour to see the amazing rafflesia flower. It also worked out much much cheaper to to day trips from the Kebun to palces like the culture village and oragutangs as you are not paying extra to go through tour companies. Adrian goes out of his way to make the most out of your time at the Kebun. Adrian was helpful even before we arrived to Borneo- helping me organise accomadation at Bako np, suggestions on what to pack ect- THANKYOU ADRIAN. :)

Our homestay at the Kebun was the highlight of our trip. WE WILL RETURN! We will be telling all our freinds and family to stay here. Kuching is a beautiful place to visit, with the freindliest people you will ever come across.

Thankyou "The Kebun" for fantastic memories :)

Room Tip: We enjoyed olivias bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mckinnonx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here with our 2 boys, aged 10 and 13, for 5 nights in August 2011. All of it was wonderful - Adrian had lots of suggestions for things to do and still allowed us time to just relax. Loved the day trip to the island on the boat (and the lovely satay lunch cooked for us on the beach), the evening trip to the frog pond, the trip to the border market (complete with crocodile penises for sale) and bat caves. Highlights were the dogs, Eddie's cooking, snakes at sunset and use of the boat to go crocodile spotting in the mangrove swamps (one spotted at great distance!). We stayed in Adrian's bungalow and particularly enjoyed sitting outside just listening to the jungle. This is an experience that allows you a glimpse of farmstead life and the jungle so be prepared for heat (the fans are fine), biting insects and jungle noises at night. We would all love to return. Thank you again Adrian. The Malin family

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 669JoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in Olivia's bungalow with grandparents and 2 small children. As others here have noted, the hospitality on the farm is first class.

Food is lovely and Adrian and his family accommodate all your requests. Adrian's daughter spent a lot of time just giving us lifts to nearby places, and for trips further out Adrian organised a car & driver who turned out to be a knowledgeable guide.

Traveling with young kids the drive to Semenggoh and Cultural village were a bit much, but definitely worth the trip.

As farm stays go, the Kebun is up there with the best.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolarBear00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Olivia's bunkhouse for 2 nights in April this year. After reading so many positive descriptions about Kebun. I honestly expected people had been exaggerating, however was amazed to discover not only was it true some aspects were even better. Hosts like Adrian and his family really understand what hospitality is all about. Whilst staying at Kebun we were able to enjoy some brilliant bush walks in national parks and swims in waterfalls which we would not have known about without their inside knowledge. Adrian really helps you stretch your travel dollar further with some great tours and stopping at local eateries where his wisdom in ordering meant we enjoyed many foods we would otherwise not have tried. The river cruise he recommended was brilliant! Irrawaddy dolphins, fireflies, crocodiles, proboscis monkeys and a guide who was happy to answer our many questions. We were also very fortunate in being able to see a rafflesia flower (the largest flower in the world - only flowers for 7 days and takes 9 months to bloom) whilst there. Again this opportunity may not have presented itself without Adrian's inside knowledge. If your looking for a great place to stay and hosts who will feed you well whilst ensuring you get the most out of this brilliant area in the world then Kebun is for you. I can't guarantee you'll see a Rafflesia , however, I can say you will take away very cherished memories. Thanks again Adrian and all the staff at Kebun. We hope our paths cross again someday. PS forgot to mention Adrian's excellent sense of humour! He really put a smile on our faces.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenny Kingsclif... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed in Adrian's bungalow for 4 nights with a friend and then stayed on after she went home.
Adrian and his family are generous, good humoured and friendly hosts. They went out of their way to make sure we got the best out of Kuching without having to go through the tour companies. Being guided by locals with inside knowledge (and foodie tips) was so much better than a one size fits all package deal and a lot less damaging to my bank balance. Staying 40 mins drive out of town was not an issue as there was always somebody needing to go somewhere and it was easy to just jump in the car and go along for the ride. Perhaps to see Orangutans, or Proboscis monkeys at Bako or just to wander around town.
This is a working farm homestay and not a resort so come with realistic expectations and you will have a fantastic time in Kuching.
The bungalow was regularly cleaned and serviced, with food restocked and clothes collected for washing as often as needed. Adrian's bungalow is open to the insects. Mosquito nets and coils are provided. There is no air conditioning but the fans were perfectly adequate.
Meals were either delivered to the bungalow set down by the river or at the main table with the family +/- other guests. There was a selection of popular books, dvd's and a comfy hammock on the deck for taking it easy. Plenty of time was spent here just unwinding as my holiday drew to a close, while other days were packed wth activities.
Don't expect a quiet night of sleep though. This is a working farm with turkeys, roosters, geese, etc.
The longhouse is charmingly fitted out and I was fortunate enough to be there for a blessing ceremony.
The other guests who came through were all social and it was great to meet people with similar interests from different backgrounds, especially when I reverted to a solo guest.
It is worth visiting the orangutans on multiple days as each day is different.

Room Tip: Choose Adrian's for seclusion, Olivia's for air conditioning and less insects, or the long h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eatingtravellingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My son and I spent 3 nights at the Kebun in one of the longhouse rooms and loved it. It was just how you imagine a Longhouse would be with loads of authentic artifacts,a relaxing hammock and a log fire which was lit each evening to deter the bugs and smoke the heads hanging above it! Our room was clean and comfortable with mosquito nets over the beds and a small washbasin. The shared showers and toilets, again kept very clean, were just a few steps away. Breakfast was served every morning at low tables on the veranda whilst lunch and dinner were taken at a large communal table near the main house. The food was delicious with generous portions and plenty of choice. Adrian, Olivia and their daughter were charming hosts who made us most welcome. Adrian has an amazing store of anecdotes and stories which he is happy to share. He personally picked us up from Bako, dropped us at the airport and also took us to the hot springs (slightly disappointing, the creek at the Kebun is just as nice) and Annah Rais longhouse, he also arranged a driver to take us the Orang Utans nearby, the cost of which we able to share with other guests. There is plenty to do in the area but do check on the driving times/distances as some attractions would be better visited from Kuching.

Room Tip: Go for the longhouse if you enjoy glamping, if you need more facilities check out the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzie_goes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in february and looved the quiet and homely setting. Adrian really got out of his way to make sure we had a good time, the food was fresh and awesome (we still dream of the pickles). We figuered we stayed in the bungalow of the movie "the sleeping dictionary" and thought the longhouse on the premises is better than any in the nearby cultural village. Borrowed their motorcylcle and cruised around. Just great, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiccOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekebun, Owner at The Kebun, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Hello NicoleA,

Your compliment on our longhouse brought smiles as with the compliments on our meals. It was such a breeze histing such easy going guests and your preference to explore the area on motorcycles made hosting you even easier.

Thank you NicoleA for taking time to write your review.

Cheers, Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
14.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#18 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
14.9 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
14.8 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
13.3 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#5 of 80 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kebun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kebun

Property: The Kebun
Address: 20 - 25 Jalan Kampungtabuan Melayu | Jalan Hidupan Liar, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kebun was started 12 years ago as our plan for a retirement home in Sarawak, East Malaysia. Adrian’s Bungalow was put up after being disassembled from the movie set of The Sleeping Dictionery. Olivia’s was only put up only two years later when it was taken out of storage which was also disassembled from the same movie set. The farmstay side of the business only started in April 2010 after much encouragement from friends.The Kebun is not just accommodation, it is an experience. If you would like to get a taste for the basics of a simple lifestyle in a beautiful tropical setting, which is of fresh gardens of organic herbs & vegetables, picking your own tropical fruits, dining on fresh farm raised livestock, fishing for your own freshwater fish & simple accommodation with little impact to the environment, or even to help out with feeding all of the animals at the end of the day’s activities and again in the morning, then your are up for a unique Sarawakian adventure at The Kebun. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing