We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Deal in Kuching!”
Review of The Kebun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kebun
Reviewed 30 April 2014

If we had known the Kebun was going to be so awesome, we would have stayed there the entire time we were in Kuching. My husband and I stayed in Olivia's Bungalow and the villa itself was a really good size and very nicely kept. In addition to a car, GPS, and cell phone, we were given a fresh loaf of bread every night along with our dinner, and lunch was always an option if we were going to be around. The fridge was also stocked with different fruit, eggs, butter, and anything you might want for breakfast. We found a bottle of their homemade rice wine in the fridge and it was delicious! Way better than store bought varieties. You truly will not find a better deal than this anywhere else near Kuching. We also got to see the giant Rafflesia flower while we were there. Adrian, the owner told us it was blooming and that we absolutely must go see it. It was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

just spent 3 n nights at beautiful kebun. we had booked the headmans longhouse with a king and two single beds. the ensuite room with hot shower was rustic yet very comfortable. the lounge area of the longhouses are beautifully decorated with beautiful antics from ethnic groups. the owners adrian and olivia picked us up from our hotel in kuching and took us for some delicious lunch before heading to the kebun. it was about a 45 min. drive. after passing the gate you will enter a green lush paradise with very welcoming and very friendly staff! after getting out of the car there was delicious fresh lemon mint juice offered by their fab cook laila.every morning they would bake fresh bread and leave it in the kitchen for us. the fridge is full with delicious stuff, there is milk,juices,butter,eggs,sausages,cheese,fruits,kaya,peanatbutter and plenty of it!!! coffee and tea,water.....whatever you could possibly would want for breakfast!the next days we took the complimentary car to sarawak cultural village and bako nat.park. adrian,the generous and thoughtful owner,had everything prepared! a booklet full with great info. a gps with all the directions one would need and a mobile phone with important numbers. the car had aircon and several cd´s.----oh,my gosh!that car was so so so convenient and saved us so much hassle and also so much money! was very easy to drive to the places and even driving in kuching was no problem at all!!! on one occasion we lost one of the wheel caps and offered adrian to pay for it. he insisted that it was no problem at all and didnt want to charge us for it!!!! the other great thing was the food!the food is just amazing!!! the owners are so attentive that olivia even remembered what we had liked on the lunch in kuching and told her cook laila to prepare it for us! each dinner was a feast!!!!on top of it you have very charming and very generous owners who will go above and beyond to help you!!!!oh,and they love kids and let my girl feed the animals and play with their puppies!!! they have the cutes and kindes dogs ever!!!!the only regret we have is that we didnt find out about this paradise earlier and wasted three nights in kuching! i can absolutely recommend you to come directly to the kebun and do your excursions from here rather than kuching! this is the best place to be around kuching!!!! and that car is the cherry on the cake!!!!of course as generous hosts adrian and olivia gave us a lift to the airport as well! what a fantastic place with beautiful people!!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in headmans longhouse and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We loved our stay at The Kebun. Like they say "this is not a hotel or resort" - in reality it is a small piece of heaven! You are in the jungle so there will be bugs and weak internet connection, however, the mosquito coils work wonders and it is the perfect escape from the chaos of life.

The entire staff is *amazing*!!! I miss the daily chats with Janet. Wonderful homemade bread delivered in the morning, tasty lunches and dinners if you are onsite. The cars each have their own personality and the GPS and cell phone provided helps so much when navagating to all the wonderful destinations around Kuching...with destinations already programmed into the GPS.

My only wish is that we would have had more time at The Kebun. The land is beautiful - gardens are plentiful. Miss it there dearly and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Headhunter Lodge - wonderful large room with in room bathroom. The open air kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubavagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights at "The Kebun" I really wish we could've stayed much longer. Such a wonderful staff. With rental car included in price made exploring the local areas very easy! Staff was very accommodating and prepared excellent meals for us! Centrally located between all the major attractions in Kuching.

Room Tip: The longhouse is perfect for families with children as it has two bedrooms and its own bathroom/show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SadsIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is not a hotel or a resort. The place is great for what it is; pure and honest. For me this place was like a warm blanket, so homely. The owners are wonderful people. Thanks again for the birthday cake! Janet is a great host! Thanks Janet for the crocodile hunting! We planned 7 but stayed 11 nights. Dinner is simple, but healthy. Lunch is noodles or fried rice or so. Breakfast is the best for us European with homemade bread and all the things provided in the fridge like sausage,milk, eggs and cheese. With the provided car you can explore the area. Most activities are within 1 hour driving. Be aware that the Internet signal is very weak, mosquitoes are there but no malaria. Thanks, all of you at the Kebun!

Room Tip: In the longhouse you have most contact with other travellers. That can be very good or not at all. F...
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Miekecamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We booked initially for 4 nights at "The Kebun" and ended up staying 10. This alone should be evidence enough that we loved this place. It is ideally situated for all the trips suggested in the booklet provided by Adrian. We would advice you read this well when you arrive as it proves to be extremely helpful. Adrian, his wife Olivia and all the staff are extremely helpful and if there is anything you need they will help you straight away. We suggested it might be a good idea to have more 3 pin plugs (was not that important) yet the next day they appeared out of nowhere. If you like nature, fantastic service, good food, enjoy a car for exploring and want to meet other travellers...this is the place to go. We are definitely going back to "The Kebun"
The gardeners are doing a great job too and the grounds including the fish ponds are in an immaculate condition and is really inviting for strolling around or try your hand at some fishing. There are many things provided complimentary which other places might charge for: Special Soaps, home made Rice wine, free post cards, fishing rods and a packed lunch if you go on a day trip. The cooking classes can be arranged and proved a real success. All in all:
Thanks to everybody at the Kebun for making this one of our nicest trips so far in S-E Asia.
Hope to see you guys in our home in Langkawi soon. PS.: Lime trees have survived

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank www2expatscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Upon our arrival, we were so shocked to see the wonderful farm because it is even more beautiful than on the website. Me and my kids, stayed over Olivia's bungalow for 5 nights and the last night we stayed at Kebun Residences because we had an early flight the next day. This was so convenient for us because the the place is only around 10-15 minutes away from the airport.

In the Kebun, the staff there were so nice and friendly. Unexpectedly for a farm, it was maintained very well.This probably explains why there weren't a lot of mosquitoes around our area as well. We were recommended by Adrian to go for the mangrove cruise which me and my boys had so much fun doing! We were even lucky to see some dolphins and the beautiful fireflies at night. It was the peak of our whole experience especially for my boys. Some places I really recommend to visit is the Bako national park and the Semenggoh wildlife centre, it was such an amazing experience for me and my boys to see an orang utan up close in front of us. We also visited the Chinese temple that is very nearby Bako national park and had one of the best seafood I've tasted! And honestly, I was quite nervous navigating around Kuching for the first time but it was all good because the car was wired with a Garmin and also comfortable plus easy to drive with.

Now that we're back home, my boys could not stop talking about the amazing food and especially the goreng pisang that one of the staff, Lela, made for us everyday during the evening time. The boys really enjoyed the BBQ night that we had, they had a chance to BBQ their own chicken wings and it was all good fun.

Thank you so much Adrian, Lela and the other staffs for making our stay comfortable and memorable, we will definitely recommend you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yanti_Diandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
14.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Kuching
721 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
14.3 mi away
The Marian Boutique Lodging House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
14.8 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#10 of 55 in Kuching
489 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#5 of 82 in Kuching
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kebun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kebun

Address: 20 - 25 Jalan Kampungtabuan Melayu | Jalan Hidupan Liar, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: £23 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kebun was started 12 years ago as our plan for a retirement home in Sarawak, East Malaysia. Adrian’s Bungalow was put up after being disassembled from the movie set of The Sleeping Dictionery. Olivia’s was only put up only two years later when it was taken out of storage which was also disassembled from the same movie set. The farmstay side of the business only started in April 2010 after much encouragement from friends.The Kebun is not just accommodation, it is an experience. If you would like to get a taste for the basics of a simple lifestyle in a beautiful tropical setting, which is of fresh gardens of organic herbs & vegetables, picking your own tropical fruits, dining on fresh farm raised livestock, fishing for your own freshwater fish & simple accommodation with little impact to the environment, or even to help out with feeding all of the animals at the end of the day’s activities and again in the morning, then your are up for a unique Sarawakian adventure at The Kebun. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing