We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home, very far from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kebun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kebun
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home, very far from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived in Kuching with nothing but the clothes we stood in as our luggage had not come off our plane from Mumbai, feeling pretty stressed and exhausted. From the moment Adrian and his family picked us up from the airport we were amazed at how friendly and welcoming everyone at The Kebun were. We stayed in "The Little Cabin", which had everything we needed and was surprisingly comfortable for something that apparently is a converted chicken shed! You can see just from walking around the farm how hard the staff work to make the place what it is and so I must say to anyone that is looking for a luxurious, everything on hand hotel break that this may not be the place for you. Make sure you read the website fully and understand what the place is, it would be really unfair after all the hard work these guys put in to get people complaining because it's not a 4 star hotel. Adrian even went and got our luggage for us when it finally arrived and Jeanette was so helpful, getting up early to see us off when we were heading out at 6:30am, making sure we had everything we needed. Laila is an amazing cook and was so accommodating - preparing our meals to work around our schedule. If you're looking for a real adventure, an authentic stay with incredible people, amazing home cooked food, and the huge advantage of use of a car then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfbayley91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
89
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We really enjoyed our four-day stay at the Kebun. The farm was a great starting point for our trips to the National Parks in Sarawak and the Semenggoh Nature Reserve. The old Ford was a reliable vehicle on the streets of Borneo. But also the farm itself offers a lot of nature and wildlife to explore.
We stayed at the Headman’s Longhouse which was very spacious and comfortable with its private en suite bathroom and shower, but also allowed to experience a glimpse of “real jungle feeling”.
The included dinner was nothing special, but it was definitely convenient to have a relaxed meal and cold beer at the private dining area.
Thanks a lot to Adrian, Olivia and especially to Janet for your great hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stitch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

6 fabulous nights at the Kebun with the most gracious host Adrian,Olivia ,Jeannet ,Laila ,Siti and the rest of the team.There is no other place in Malaysia that keeps in mind what a traveler truly needs like the Kebun a airport transfer,lovely functional room & toilet,great home cooked food by Siti & Laila (which I have requested dishes that I personally like) ,laundry room ,transport with GPS,living room with games and wifi in the office .
Mind you that this is a working farm with animals living on it ,if you are a light sleeper light me one may find trouble sleeping soundly and waking up earlier than expected due to the roster crowing away as well as the sounds of the huge squirrels jumping on and off the zinc roofs .Didn't have the best sleep but it's an experience being surrounded by nature and it's accompanying sounds .If you are staying in the Longhouse the toilet is outside a few steps away and if you are easily spooked by the sounds as well as the surrounding darkness ,pee before bed !
Tip:Kuching may be warm and humid but it gets chilly at night here at The Kebun due to the natural surroundings and even more so when it rains, please do bring a long warm pajamas's to sleep.
Do feed the cute animals in the morning just tell Jeannet before hand that you would love too ! It's not exclusive to kids only ;).
Would I come back ?Most definitely

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asjahstrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

If we had known the Kebun was going to be so awesome, we would have stayed there the entire time we were in Kuching. My husband and I stayed in Olivia's Bungalow and the villa itself was a really good size and very nicely kept. In addition to a car, GPS, and cell phone, we were given a fresh loaf of bread every night along with our dinner, and lunch was always an option if we were going to be around. The fridge was also stocked with different fruit, eggs, butter, and anything you might want for breakfast. We found a bottle of their homemade rice wine in the fridge and it was delicious! Way better than store bought varieties. You truly will not find a better deal than this anywhere else near Kuching. We also got to see the giant Rafflesia flower while we were there. Adrian, the owner told us it was blooming and that we absolutely must go see it. It was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

just spent 3 n nights at beautiful kebun. we had booked the headmans longhouse with a king and two single beds. the ensuite room with hot shower was rustic yet very comfortable. the lounge area of the longhouses are beautifully decorated with beautiful antics from ethnic groups. the owners adrian and olivia picked us up from our hotel in kuching and took us for some delicious lunch before heading to the kebun. it was about a 45 min. drive. after passing the gate you will enter a green lush paradise with very welcoming and very friendly staff! after getting out of the car there was delicious fresh lemon mint juice offered by their fab cook laila.every morning they would bake fresh bread and leave it in the kitchen for us. the fridge is full with delicious stuff, there is milk,juices,butter,eggs,sausages,cheese,fruits,kaya,peanatbutter and plenty of it!!! coffee and tea,water.....whatever you could possibly would want for breakfast!the next days we took the complimentary car to sarawak cultural village and bako nat.park. adrian,the generous and thoughtful owner,had everything prepared! a booklet full with great info. a gps with all the directions one would need and a mobile phone with important numbers. the car had aircon and several cd´s.----oh,my gosh!that car was so so so convenient and saved us so much hassle and also so much money! was very easy to drive to the places and even driving in kuching was no problem at all!!! on one occasion we lost one of the wheel caps and offered adrian to pay for it. he insisted that it was no problem at all and didnt want to charge us for it!!!! the other great thing was the food!the food is just amazing!!! the owners are so attentive that olivia even remembered what we had liked on the lunch in kuching and told her cook laila to prepare it for us! each dinner was a feast!!!!on top of it you have very charming and very generous owners who will go above and beyond to help you!!!!oh,and they love kids and let my girl feed the animals and play with their puppies!!! they have the cutes and kindes dogs ever!!!!the only regret we have is that we didnt find out about this paradise earlier and wasted three nights in kuching! i can absolutely recommend you to come directly to the kebun and do your excursions from here rather than kuching! this is the best place to be around kuching!!!! and that car is the cherry on the cake!!!!of course as generous hosts adrian and olivia gave us a lift to the airport as well! what a fantastic place with beautiful people!!!!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in headmans longhouse and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We loved our stay at The Kebun. Like they say "this is not a hotel or resort" - in reality it is a small piece of heaven! You are in the jungle so there will be bugs and weak internet connection, however, the mosquito coils work wonders and it is the perfect escape from the chaos of life.

The entire staff is *amazing*!!! I miss the daily chats with Janet. Wonderful homemade bread delivered in the morning, tasty lunches and dinners if you are onsite. The cars each have their own personality and the GPS and cell phone provided helps so much when navagating to all the wonderful destinations around Kuching...with destinations already programmed into the GPS.

My only wish is that we would have had more time at The Kebun. The land is beautiful - gardens are plentiful. Miss it there dearly and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Headhunter Lodge - wonderful large room with in room bathroom. The open air kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubavagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights at "The Kebun" I really wish we could've stayed much longer. Such a wonderful staff. With rental car included in price made exploring the local areas very easy! Staff was very accommodating and prepared excellent meals for us! Centrally located between all the major attractions in Kuching.

Room Tip: The longhouse is perfect for families with children as it has two bedrooms and its own bathroom/show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadsIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
14.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
14.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#16 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
14.9 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
13.4 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#4 of 82 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
15.1 mi away
Basaga Holiday Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kebun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kebun

Property: The Kebun
Address: 20 - 25 Jalan Kampungtabuan Melayu | Jalan Hidupan Liar, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kebun was started 12 years ago as our plan for a retirement home in Sarawak, East Malaysia. Adrian’s Bungalow was put up after being disassembled from the movie set of The Sleeping Dictionery. Olivia’s was only put up only two years later when it was taken out of storage which was also disassembled from the same movie set. The farmstay side of the business only started in April 2010 after much encouragement from friends.The Kebun is not just accommodation, it is an experience. If you would like to get a taste for the basics of a simple lifestyle in a beautiful tropical setting, which is of fresh gardens of organic herbs & vegetables, picking your own tropical fruits, dining on fresh farm raised livestock, fishing for your own freshwater fish & simple accommodation with little impact to the environment, or even to help out with feeding all of the animals at the end of the day’s activities and again in the morning, then your are up for a unique Sarawakian adventure at The Kebun. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing