We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle paradise”
Review of The Kebun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuching
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kebun
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle paradise”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If your looking to kick back and immerse yourself in nature then the Kebun is the perfect place - we spent a long wknd in Borneo and loved every minute - Adrian and the Kebun family are so friendly and welcoming - we cant wait to return - Thanks a lot Adrian see you again soon! get that rice wine ready! Murray / Jas from Singapore

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murray j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Three years after our first trip to Borneo (Sarawak) we returned: we wanted to 're-do' Sarawak, and also visit Sabah. Because we so much enjoyed staying at the Kebun's longhouse last time, we wanted to come back to this special place.
We had kept in touch via facebook, and therefore knew that Adrian had made quite a few changes.

He had built a little Cabin, and we decided to stay there. It was very cute, very nice to have our own little private garden (though unfortunately we did not sit there a lot due to either rain or mozzies).

A major change compared to three years ago was the form of the catering: the first time we visited all meals were at the 'main' building, now breakfast was self-service from our own fridge (with freshly baked bread brought to our door early in the morning); lunch and dinner were also brought to our cabin (and to the other houses). This took a little getting used to, as we had rather enjoyed the communal meals.
It was also possibe to eat your warm meals in the main building, after the first day we chose that option. But all guest had their "own" table, so there was still little interaction (which we would have liked, but if you are a family with kids you probably love the option of nót eating in a group). Luckily the food was just as good as the last time, and we were regularly feasted on impromptu snacks (Durian (different types!), fried sweet potato, and, véry special: Durian soup with mung beans and sago, which I greatly enjoyed).

Another change was that we actually got to drive our own car (with navigation set with all major attractions pre-set, super!) which gives a fantastic sense of freedom. My husband did the actual driving, and it wasn't too difficult to drive on the 'wrong' (for us) side: Malaysians are relaxed drivers, and the Kebun is situated far from the city, so your first trip starts with hardly any traffic, nice way to break in.

All in all we very much enjoyed staying the Kebun again, it was a lovely place to relax after our previous jungle adventures, just sitting in the chill-out area reading a book or playing with the Very Adorable puppies. Adrian is a wonderful host, and really does his utmost best to give all his guests a wonderfull experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AldeCoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When we arrived in Kuching, we were greeted by our host Adrian who welcomed us and brought us to the Kebun, a homestay on a working organic farm just a few kilometers west of the city. Since we were hungry, Adrian first stopped at a wonderful Indian restaurant. The grounds and bungalows of the Kebun, are beautiful but, the warm and welcoming staff is what made it special. Jenet, Jenel, and Lila (with her amazing cooking) took care of all of our needs. In the mornings, the kids got to feed the animals, and play with the puppies. We visited area points of interests like the Matang Wildlife Centre, Kubah National Park, Bako National Park, Telaga Air, Kuching City, Semenggoh Wildlife Rehab Center, and kayaking in the Borneo Highlands. Driving was very easy with the help of the GPS. Jenet and Adrian recommended wonderful guides and were always a phone call away if we needed anything (like figuring out where to park in Muara Tebas). It was a great way to experience some of Sarawak’s best sights and feel more like a visitor/guest than a tourist. Overall, it was a fantastic experience and a good and comfortable way to be immersed in the jungle. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidFamiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had 6 wonderful days at the Kebun. We stayed in the 'Little Cabin' which is cosy for Two. The stay includes just everything: airport pickup, full board, a Car, a mobile, a booklet with all tourist attractions and nice and helpful personell who organize just everything during your stay. They anticipate your needs and have it solved before can speak them out. We can fully recommend it and hope to come again one time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weltenbummler1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived in Kuching with nothing but the clothes we stood in as our luggage had not come off our plane from Mumbai, feeling pretty stressed and exhausted. From the moment Adrian and his family picked us up from the airport we were amazed at how friendly and welcoming everyone at The Kebun were. We stayed in "The Little Cabin", which had everything we needed and was surprisingly comfortable for something that apparently is a converted chicken shed! You can see just from walking around the farm how hard the staff work to make the place what it is and so I must say to anyone that is looking for a luxurious, everything on hand hotel break that this may not be the place for you. Make sure you read the website fully and understand what the place is, it would be really unfair after all the hard work these guys put in to get people complaining because it's not a 4 star hotel. Adrian even went and got our luggage for us when it finally arrived and Jeanette was so helpful, getting up early to see us off when we were heading out at 6:30am, making sure we had everything we needed. Laila is an amazing cook and was so accommodating - preparing our meals to work around our schedule. If you're looking for a real adventure, an authentic stay with incredible people, amazing home cooked food, and the huge advantage of use of a car then look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfbayley91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We really enjoyed our four-day stay at the Kebun. The farm was a great starting point for our trips to the National Parks in Sarawak and the Semenggoh Nature Reserve. The old Ford was a reliable vehicle on the streets of Borneo. But also the farm itself offers a lot of nature and wildlife to explore.
We stayed at the Headman’s Longhouse which was very spacious and comfortable with its private en suite bathroom and shower, but also allowed to experience a glimpse of “real jungle feeling”.
The included dinner was nothing special, but it was definitely convenient to have a relaxed meal and cold beer at the private dining area.
Thanks a lot to Adrian, Olivia and especially to Janet for your great hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stitch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

6 fabulous nights at the Kebun with the most gracious host Adrian,Olivia ,Jeannet ,Laila ,Siti and the rest of the team.There is no other place in Malaysia that keeps in mind what a traveler truly needs like the Kebun a airport transfer,lovely functional room & toilet,great home cooked food by Siti & Laila (which I have requested dishes that I personally like) ,laundry room ,transport with GPS,living room with games and wifi in the office .
Mind you that this is a working farm with animals living on it ,if you are a light sleeper light me one may find trouble sleeping soundly and waking up earlier than expected due to the roster crowing away as well as the sounds of the huge squirrels jumping on and off the zinc roofs .Didn't have the best sleep but it's an experience being surrounded by nature and it's accompanying sounds .If you are staying in the Longhouse the toilet is outside a few steps away and if you are easily spooked by the sounds as well as the surrounding darkness ,pee before bed !
Tip:Kuching may be warm and humid but it gets chilly at night here at The Kebun due to the natural surroundings and even more so when it rains, please do bring a long warm pajamas's to sleep.
Do feed the cute animals in the morning just tell Jeannet before hand that you would love too ! It's not exclusive to kids only ;).
Would I come back ?Most definitely

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asjahstrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
14.2 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
14.3 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 54 in Kuching
710 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
994 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Village House
The Village House
#5 of 80 in Kuching
250 reviews
14.8 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 54 in Kuching
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kebun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kebun

Property: The Kebun
Address: 20 - 25 Jalan Kampungtabuan Melayu | Jalan Hidupan Liar, Kuching 93050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kebun was started 12 years ago as our plan for a retirement home in Sarawak, East Malaysia. Adrian’s Bungalow was put up after being disassembled from the movie set of The Sleeping Dictionery. Olivia’s was only put up only two years later when it was taken out of storage which was also disassembled from the same movie set. The farmstay side of the business only started in April 2010 after much encouragement from friends.The Kebun is not just accommodation, it is an experience. If you would like to get a taste for the basics of a simple lifestyle in a beautiful tropical setting, which is of fresh gardens of organic herbs & vegetables, picking your own tropical fruits, dining on fresh farm raised livestock, fishing for your own freshwater fish & simple accommodation with little impact to the environment, or even to help out with feeding all of the animals at the end of the day’s activities and again in the morning, then your are up for a unique Sarawakian adventure at The Kebun. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing