We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Batik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This has to be one of the best hotels of its class I have ever stayed in, so much so that I can't believe it hasn't won more awards...

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very professional yet friendly Alfred and Jo Lin with rice wine and chocolate fudge, given fantastic advice, and then shown to our room.

The room was spacious, beautifully decorated and equiped with both a large bath and shower. Everything was perfect, from the lighting (with the option for mood lighting) to the bath products supplied (Tanamera). For the first time ever, I can't find fault with anything. I get the impression that the hotel owner has stayed in a lot of hotels herself, worked out what guests do and don't like, and applied it to her own business.

The staff were warm and friendly, very helpful, and assisted us to do a tour to Jenkar waterfall, which we both loved.

Location was very good- literally two minutes walk to the riverfront and in a central part of town, yet quiet at night.

I'm so glad we ended up staying here. We're both looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Rooms on the city facing side appeared to be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natty_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

Great personal approach, impassioned personnel, nice rooms! We liked the Japanese restaurant a lot, sushi was delicious! We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrudyVDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Pros: excellent service, clean, good location, our room was large, nice and modern
Cons : noisy (sound of water or aircon in the hotel), can't close the curtains, the lift is in front the japanese restaurant (all the clients checked you before to go) - the wifi is weak!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiatrip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Beautiful rooms, excellent service, great location! What more can you ask for!! Will definitely come back!! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saundersy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Said correctly Batik is indeed "Classy, Chic, Cosy". Indeed after the many nights the family felt "Comfortable, Contented, Cheerful" occupying a total of 12 rooms for 3 nights. The Batik Crew was very helpful during the whole stay to accomodate to our funny and unique demands of so many of us.

The room was large with comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was beautiful and very well designed. Its location makes it extremely convenient for us to try all the local food and also place to have a good chat with a cup of good coffee. The only one thing that can improve further would be the breakfast offerings.

Thank you so much for all the great help that made the whole family's stay in Batik a wonderful and memorable one.

Elenie's family :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenietan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

thumbs up for this hotel! I will never stay elsewhere. they have friendly and helpful staffs too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnlyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a great experience staying in this hotel - absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiekvdMaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Boutique Hotel

Address: 38 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: £35 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Batik Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Batik is a lifestyle hotel set in the epicentre of Kuching's hustle and bustle. It caters to the needs of today's discerning business and leisure traveller sprinkled with a certain special touch. With its fifteen stylishly designed well-equipped rooms, unconventional hotel offerings and enthusiastic and ever-so-helpful team of hotel crew, The Batik is Kuching's first hospitality icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Batik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing