We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with superb hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Batik Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Lovely hotel in which I stayed for 5 nights, after initially having planned a 2-night stay. The place was lovely and the staff extremely kind and helpful. They went out of their way to have my laundry done (for a very small fee), and were always willing to help arrange transportation etc. The room was well kept, airco worked well and there was more than enough water pressure to make the rainshower an enjoyable experience. WIFI-signal was strong and the beer cold for an affordable price. Location was good too, close to the waterfront.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper you might choose the Courtyard rooms which are not on the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstherfromTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Small, clean, stylish and wonderful staff who were so helpful. The location of the hotel near the waterfront means there are plenty of lovely little restaurants and coffee shops nearby. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a clean, modern, stylish hotel in a central location, with good size rooms, a nice bath, free wi-fi, welcome drink and very friendly staff.

We stayed for three nights recently over one of the long weekends. Whilst the experience overall was good, it felt like they'd taken their eye off the basics. We went without toilet roll for 2 days and the breakfasts were below par - the first morning, there was limited choice as the chef had not turned up; the second morning I got a cold Laksa (which I don't think is too hard to warm up, personally); the third morning, after the staff member awoke from one of the tables, we asked for an orange juice, but they didn't have any.

It could easily have just been us that were unlucky over one of the quiet weekends, but often the basics far outweigh any 'boutique-iness'!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Best place in town... And best staff also! If you go to Kuching go there!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val_LivingInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Forget the big four or five star hotels in Kuching, Sarawak, the Batik Boutique is making its mark in this beautiful city. Converted from an old shophouse building, it houses 15 rooms all individually designed with colour theme. The King suite room we stayed in is stylish, contemporary and spacious. Free wifi and also free mineral water and soft drinks in the small mini bar. The intimate ambience and informality evoke a home away from home feeling. Service is efficient and the staff is warm and friendly. The location is in the old Chinese quarters of the city bustling with shops and coffee shops, restaurants and a big hawker's centre. The city centre and beautiful waterfront are within walking distance. The small Japanese restaurant in the hotel (does not belong to the hotel) serves quite good food. The only disappointing thing is the breakfast which is quite meagre but there are lots of coffee shops nearby selling great local breakfasts of noodles, steaming buns, dim sum etc . The hotel charges very competitive common rated price for every room whatever the size or location of the rooms in the building are. The rate also includes airport transfers which is very generous for a hotel. Highly recommended for a relaxing and pleasant stay in Kuching.

Room Tip: Ask for a king suite room as it is bigger and cost the same as the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HelenOon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A fantastic boutique hotel, they happily configured a room to accommodate our family (2 adults a 5yo and a 8yo), they made us feel welcome even though we arrived 2 hrs before normal check in. A great location also, easy walk to the riverfront and right in the middle of a stack of great local restaurants, whilst still being very quiet. Also they provide a free airport transfer. On the downside no pay tv, but free to air satelite channels, also the fridge in the room would turn off when you were not in the room.

Room Tip: Worth considering room choice we had a room out the back with a balcony(courtyard room) but meant we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petermoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I really felt in love with Batik hotel, staff is fantastic and very hospitable, service is great, rooms are big and super comfortable.
In my opinion one of the best value, better than the too big 5 stars hotel and with more identity.
Do not hesitate to book and go, you'll be satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank renatooo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batik Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batik Boutique Hotel

Address: 38 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: £35 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Batik Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Batik is a lifestyle hotel set in the epicentre of Kuching's hustle and bustle. It caters to the needs of today's discerning business and leisure traveller sprinkled with a certain special touch. With its fifteen stylishly designed well-equipped rooms, unconventional hotel offerings and enthusiastic and ever-so-helpful team of hotel crew, The Batik is Kuching's first hospitality icon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Batik Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing